We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location & friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Lower East Side

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Lower East Side to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn Lower East Side
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   136 Ludlow Street, New York City, NY 10002 (Lower East Side)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #248 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good location & friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

Second time staying at this hotel. Very convenient location to Soho, Chinatown, East Village and Katz Deli is down the street! The room is small, but this is NYC! The hotel staff very friendly and responsive. The complimentary breakfast is great and the staff very friendly. She does not rush you out right at 10 am (closing time) like other hotels. The price is right and lower than most of the other NYC hotels and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    204
    56
    16
    17
See reviews for
118
127
75
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

NYC is an expensive place to stay, but the Comfort Inn Lwr East Side offered great value for money especially for Manhattan. We found the Comfort Inn staff both responsive and caring and that while the rooms were small, they are well appointed and clean. The beds are very comfortable. There is a coffee machine in the room where you can also heat water if you like tea. The complementary breakfast was more than adequate with a good range of food including fresh bagels and pastries.

Being a small hotel in a up and coming trendy area can have its downfalls. We were lucky to have a room at the back which was very quiet. You may get some noise on the weekend in the front facing rooms from Ludlow St. The area is very safe and its location to the F line subway excellent. For fresh food the Essex St markets around the corner had a good range.

In summary I would recommend staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

I just got back from a most pleasant 3 week stay at this little hotel. What a nice surprise! My room was clean with all the necessary amenities and the bed was quite comfortable. It was a nice place to return to after a busy day. The location is very convenient with nearby restaurants, shops, convenience stores, and night life. You can reach other areas of Manhattan easily via subway (station just a couple of blocks away), via excellent bus service, or taxis. Hotel service was outstanding as the staff was friendly and always quite helpful. The Continental breakfast was generous and an added bonus to the already excellent rates. I will not hesitate to stay again at this hotel on my next trip to NYC

Room Tip: My room on a higher floor at the back of hotel was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

On a fun street with funky bars and clothing boutiques, the Comfort Lower East Side is a great pied-a-terre in Manhattan. Close to Little Italy and China Town, but also close to the Metro, it is a relatively good value for NYC. The staff were also friendly and helpful. The free continental breakfast, however, is not worth it. Grab a sandwich at Starbucks on Delancey instead.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

I don't usually write second reviews on hotels but I had to this time. Just got home after a three night stay at the Comfort Inn Lower East Side. This experience was even better than the last. This hotel is only a few years old- even the taxi drivers usually didnt know it was there. Everyone from the check in desk to the breakfast room staff to the housekeepers could not have been nicer. The rates were extremely reasonable for New York and the rooms were also reasonable for New York (not huge but there was space between the bed and the bathroom door. No bedbugs, very quiet on the non-Ludlow facing side. The breakfast was typical for Comfort Inn but the difference was that there was smiling staff to help you if you needed anything. Even at 10 am there was still plenty of food and hot coffee. Taxis were readily available in the area (I was there with my mother and mother-in-law, otherwise I would take the subway which has a station very close by). and Katz's Deli a short block and a half away (as in "Where Harry Met Sally"- I'll have what she's having- fame). Don't miss Economy Candy 2 minutes away....every candy you remember as a kid is there (Turkish Taffy, Goldenberg's peanut chews, etc). I will be back........

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing Ludlow
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

This hotel was recommended by friends who live in the Lower East Side, and based on previous hotel experiences in NYC I was not expecting much. But this Comfort Inn provided what it's name says - comfort and it was reasonably priced. My wife and I rented one room and our two teenage boys were in the room next door. The rooms were smallish compared with hotels outside the city but larger than other NYC hotels we've stayed in. But... the rooms were clean, appear to have been remodeled relatively recently, the staff was friendly and helpful. We'll be back!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

Recently got back from a week stay in NYC. Booking the hotel in July 2011 and got a very good price, $100/night. That included breakfast (coffee/tea, juice, bagels, toast, waffles, fruit, yoghurt, cereal) which is an extra plus.
The staff was very helpful and friendly and we received extra blankets and bed sheets because we felt sick. The staff also offered to run out and get medicine for us if we wanted.
The whole the staff was very service minded and took care of us. We will totally live here the next time we go to New York!
A small hotel which makes it extra calm. Short walking distance to subway, restaurants and convenience store.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Lower East Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Lower East Side

Address: 136 Ludlow Street, New York City, NY 10002
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Lower East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#154 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Lower East Side 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Comfort Inn Lower East Side reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Lower East Side Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Lower East Side, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.