We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip to East Village, NYC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Lower East Side

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Lower East Side to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Lower East Side
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   136 Ludlow Street, New York City, NY 10002 (Lower East Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #246 of 454 Hotels in New York City
Carolina Beach, NC
1 review
“Trip to East Village, NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

Again, we stayed at the Comfort Inn, Ludlow Street, NYC. We love this place! The desk crew is always, friendly, helpful and welcoming. The rooms while small (as expected in NYC), are immaculate, feel new and very efficiently laid out. The location is very convenient for the subway, East Village, China Town and the lower East side.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 6th floor facing Ludlow Street. It was nice but the activity on Ludlow in the eveni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    205
    56
    16
    17
See reviews for
120
128
75
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

Stayed here 3 nights for location. Just a quick subway ride to my son in Brooklyn. Seems to be a fairly new hotel, very clean, Front desk always pleasant and helpful with whatever we needed. Let us borrow a laptop to check-in for flights and print boarding passes. Free breakfast - usual waffles, cereal, pastries, apples, oranges, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, and beverages. Ice machine on top floor. Felt safe, even late at night. Several bars on block, so lots of people out on Friday and Saturday evening. We had a room in the back and didn't notice any noise. Room was very clean but also very small, even for NYC standards. It was fine for 2 people but with 4 I don't know where you'd put your suitcases! Yes, it's that small! Other than that we had a wonderful stay, very comfortable beds and pillows. Close to Essex and Delancey Stations. Walking distance for Katz's Deli, Whole Foods, and Blue Man Group.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

My family and I booked two rooms for two nights at this hotel. Prior to booking our hotel rooms we read the current reviews on TA. Some of them mentioned the issue of noise in the rooms facing the street, so when booking we specifically asked for room in the back of the hotel and on the highest floor possible.
Since we were travelling with young kids we also asked for adjoining room, and to make sure our request was not forgotten I called ahead a day before our arrival and was promised that we will be allocated the rooms we have asked for.
Upon getting to the hotel we found out that: (1) are rooms were on separate floors; (2) at the front of the hotel, and (3) on the 3rd floor (first floor is actually the ground floor).
Since the receptionist claimed that they were fully booked for the night we had no choice but to take the rooms that were offered to us (they managed to somehow colocate us on the same floor) and bear the consequences. And bear we did... there's a lounge/club right across the (narrow) street and throughout the night we could hear the base, the music and the noise a lot of happy partiers are making. The windows are not soundproof, so you feel as if you are right in the middle of the club. Nice if you're a 20y.o. hipster, not so nice if you want to do something so outrageous as sleep....Needless to say neither we nor our kids slept much that night (by 4:30am the party winded down, thankfully...). Next morning we explicitly asked the receptionist to move us to the rooms in the back that we originally asked for. He promised he will, as soon as people check out. Upon returning to the hotel in the afternoon we discovered that not only we weren't moved to another room, there were no rooms available as no one was supposed to check out... the former receptionist was apparently clueless and had no idea what was going on at the hotel (including which rooms were located in the front or the back of the hotel)... Once again we spent the night tossing and turning, since it was too late to move to another hotel.
The following morning we checked out, vowing not to return to this hotel, despite it's brilliant location in NYC.

Room Tip: Never settle for a room in the front of the hotel (if you want to sleep...).
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

I originally reviewed this hotel in January 2011. I stayed there numerous nights throughout 2011 and the service and value continued to be excellent. It's all about location. Sure, Hotel on Rivington and the Thompson LES are swanky boutique hotels, I've stayed in both numerous times, but if you're looking for value AND location, stay at the Comfort Inn LES. If you are in town regularly the staff will recognize you and bring their already excellent service to an even higher level. If you've got the cabbage to pay out the nose at HoR or the Thompson, do it, they're great. But if you want to save some of the money for the awesome restaurants and other attractions in this part of the city then stay here instead. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: If you can stay higher up, the better. If you can stay on the back side of the hotel, also the bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

Very friendly staff...great room! Very clean. We loved our stay and will definitely go back.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for 6 nights from 31 Dec - 6 Jan 2012. We enjoyed staying in this hotel for it's close proximity to the subway and to Chinatown and Little Italy. We got a room on the 3rd floor, facing the back of the hotel, away from the street.

There is a McDonald's, Popeyes and convenience store just a stone's throw at Delancey St. What more, Katz Deli is within walking distance too!
The rooms are clean and nicely made up daily, Wi-Fi in the room, a little fridge and complimentary breakfast daily. The breakfast spread is quite good, there's waffles that you can make on your own, bread, eggs, juices, coffee, cereals, fruits etc.
We were given a complimentary bottle of White Wine the day we checked in as it's the New Year's Eve. How nice!
Staff were all very friendly and helpful too!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the streets for a quiet night's sleep. Ludlow Street has many bars and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

I stayed 1 night at the Comfort Inn on a weekday in October 2011. My room was facing the street, and since I was on the 3rd floor and the street has quite a few bars, it was practically impossible to get any sleep before 4 am! That would only be worse during the weekend, I guess. The room was probably the smallest room I have ever seen in New York. On a positive note, the staff was really friendly . Well the worst part is, that after I received my credit card statement, I realized that the hotel had charged me upon check out, even though the room was prepaid through a website! ! So I have paid for my room twice. I have done a lot of traveling all over the world the past 15 years, and have never had that experience before now. I have since emailed the hotel but so far to no avail. So be careful when checking out.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinnny, Manager at Comfort Inn Lower East Side, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Dear Guest,
We are really very sorry for the inconvenience caused to you. You have mentioned about being charged twice. Please provide your full name and date of arrival & departure and I will make sure that charges are reversed ASAP.

Again, please accept our apologies.

Regards,
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Lower East Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Lower East Side

Address: 136 Ludlow Street, New York City, NY 10002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Lower East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#157 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Lower East Side 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn Lower East Side reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Lower East Side Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Lower East Side, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.