We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get to know a little more...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of East 73rd and York Ave Apartment

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
East 73rd and York Ave Apartment
1374 York Avenue, New York City, NY 10021 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #384 of 446 hotels in New York City
Berlin, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Get to know a little more...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

GOOD:
We couldn't expect any more comfort on posh Upper Eastside NY for such a low price. The guy at the reception was very "non chalant" but always friendly. He'd always adjust any occuring problems (and there were several) asap. The location on Upper Eastside is very secure, clean and quiet - although the appartement house wasn't sometimes quiet alike. Via Subway 6 you can reach all destinations quiet easy and Central Park and museum mile are very close by.
Our room was well equipped (A/C - thank god, two comfy beds, TV - food channel rules!) and though we didn't use the kitchen it seemed to be well equipped as well. Internet (shared by three rooms) was also a blessing. Sanitary staff came once a day for taking the garbage and I think once or twice a week for cleaning (we just saw 1 cockroach - and it was dead!). Our flat mates were almost unvisible but nice when we met each other on the corridor. They just could have take their dirty towels etc. with them when they left, since the staff doesn't seem to know, who is staying at the moment and who left already. By this there is sometimes a little accumulation of food and shampoos of former inhabitants.


BAD:
At first it was unpleasant that we couldn't lock our personal room - it seems that only the appartement doors can be locked (and the bathroom door of course) - but we got used to it, since there was a lockable cabinet in our room. We just always took our valuables with us.
When we arrived there were no fresh sheets on our bed; we just received them after asking the next morning. Kind of disgusting...
Then one day the toilet didn't flush, but they fixed it until the same evening. And one morning we didn't have warm water, but they announced it via notes in the staircase.
Sometimes the receptionist is not on his place, but then you just have to call his number - he might be out for Lunch.
The Subway is really quiet far away - about 15-20min - which can be annoying after a day of walking up and down the city or when you only want to go to bed asap. But it was ok and we used it as an extra workout to loose some calories of the "healthy" American food. ;)
Conclusion:
Since we were glad to have found such an inexpensive place to stay and despite all the little problems, I would recommend the appartment house! But maybe the Departement of Building will close it sooner or later since it is not an official hostel or hotel (there were some notes on the entrance 2 days before we left). I only want to mention it, since you want to be absolutely sure about your stay. But if you are as flexible as we were: just make sure, that your appartement has a fire escape and a smoke detector and everything should be fine while you're staying.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    6
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
2
8
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

I was a bit wary of this apartment rental because it seemed suspiciously cheap for the Upper East Side and there weren't many reviews. Man, did this place exceed my expectations!!
I went with two friends and we stayed in a private room with a full/single bunk and a full loft bed. We had a kitchenette a sofa and an armchair in the sitting area and a spacious bathroom with a tub. All for a cool $100 and change a night. There was even a huge closet in the bedroom and one in the sitting area. Unheard of for NYC!
The place looks to be newly renovated, with appliances in good shape, a new microwave, two! flatscreen TVs and a desktop computer with free internet.
The area isn't exactly the Upper East Side you see in movies or Gossip Girl, but it's completely safe and only about 6 blocks from the subway. We walked to Grant Park almost everyday.
This is an amazing little place and you should go here before the owners get enough positive feedback and bookings to raise their prices!!
Best $100 room you will find in NYC. Trust me, I've been looking.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

The price was great! We arrived around 11:30pm, and the room we originally booked was filled so we got a room with no lock. however, the people saring our common area were really nice and it didn't turn out to be a problem. There was a computer just outside the room with a full kitchen and the bathroom was pretty clean, so i couldnt have asked for more considering the price. In the room there was a single bed, and than you had to climb up a ladder to get to the double bed. There wasn't enough room to sit up in bed, so we ended up sleeping on the single bed which accomodated two people ok. The walls were bare except of a tv, but overall I would stay there again if I was on a budget.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2010

We stayed at York St apartments for over a week and did enjoy staying there but the apartments probably wouldn't suit everyone. Not a social hostel at all just a place to do your own thing. We really liked having the desktop computer and free wifi. The kitchen and two bathrooms on our floor were cleaned each day and the place never felt overcrowded.

The area seemed really safe however it was a 15 minute walk to the subway.

We recommend you ask for a room with the double bed that's not on the mezanine - as if you get at all claustraphobic you wouldn't like sleeping on the mezanine as its only a couple of feet from the roof so you can't really sit up straight. Also, there is no railing on the edge of the mezanine, so don't sleep here if you tend to roll out of bed!

Other down sides include the very thin walls (think they are actually wardrobe doors) so you can definitely hear your neighbours (and if you sleep on mezanine you can hear people on the floor above). We also did not receive good service from the hostel manager who told us we could check out in the morning at 8 but wasn't there when we tried to do so!

However, all in all we had a good stay as we don't mind noise and really just wanted and safe and clean place to crash after a day out in wonderful NYC!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to East 73rd and York Ave Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East 73rd and York Ave Apartment

Also Known As:
East 73rd And York Ave Apartment Hotel New York City
East 73rd And York Ave Apartment Hotel
Address: 1374 York Avenue, New York City, NY 10021
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown , Upper East Side
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #384 of 446 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The private bedroom style apartments are situated in a 5 story walk-up building located on York Avenue, between 73rd and 74th streets. This area is extremely desirable and sought after by young New Yorkers. The party scene and atmosphere is never-ending. Students, young adults and young professionals "hang-out" and congregate in and in front of hip and trendy bars, clubs and restaurants that are the hallmark of this area frequented by young adults. This neighborhood is recognized as one of the safest in Manhattan. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage East 73rd and York Ave Apartment, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added East 73rd and York Ave Apartment to your Saves list