We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, but let down by the restaurant staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crosby Street Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Crosby Street Hotel to your Saves list
Crosby Street Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   79 Crosby Street, New York City, NY 10012 (SoHo)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 461 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely hotel, but let down by the restaurant staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stayed here for 6 nights in May and it is a lovely, lovely hotel. Beautiful rooms, comfy beds, gorgeous and spacious bathrooms, extremely helpful and attentative concierge as well as being in a perfect location. The one let down, was the restaurant staff and the length of time it took on each occasion we went for something to eat to get our food. Staff were snooty at times, and we left feeling they cared more for the guest who weren't staying at the hotel. We stayed in a Deluxe Junior Suite and although lovely and spacious, I wouldn't call it a suite. Having said that, this hotel is a great find, and we would love to come back soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    69
    15
    8
    2
See reviews for
76
237
39
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

This is a lovely, cozy boutique hotel in the SoHo neighborhood of NYC. We come to Manhattan once a year and wouldn't stay anywhere else. The rooms are cozy without being cramped, with beautiful linens and towels and a well appointed bathroom. And the rooms are QUIET, which is saying something in Manhattan. The staff are uniformly helpful, especially Concierge Chris, who invariably goes out of his way to assist us each time we see him. The lounge is an intimate sitting area with bar service if you'd like. Our one quibble: the music in the restaurant is generally too loud and too hip for us at breakfast. However, the staff are generally willing at least to lower the volume while we are there. We recommend the hotel highly -- we will return in several weeks.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wil, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed at this gorgeous place for one week. The rooms are beautyfully designed and spacious. We chose a deluxe junior suite which offered a fantastic view of Soho.
In addition, concierge was very professional - thank you very much!

Room Tip: Deluxe junior suites --> better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, England
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

First visited 2 years ago and said we would be back. We have just returned. And we will return once more. This is possibly our favorite hotel of all time. It is amazingly well run. You are truly looked after and it just gets better and better. The food is great - the best English breakfast I have had in a long while. THE best shower anywhere and a bar that just works with really interesting bar staff - thanks Monya for making our stay so comfortable and organising the best cocktails. You must go to the bar if you are staying in the hotel, or indeed if you are not.
We love New York. We love this area. We love the hotel. You will too.
Thank you to all - we returned refreshed thanks to your care

Room Tip: Just go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Great location if you want to go out in downtown nyc and shop in soho. British decor feeling hotel that is dog friendly with great service, restaurant and bar. Small-ish rooms but nice baths and overall pleasant experience. But not cheap!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

This is one of the best New York hotels I have stayed in. Fabulous location, comfortable pillow and bed. Room and bathroom very spacious for New York standards. Decor is very edgy. Kit Kemp is so very talented. Staff very friendly and helpful. Restaurant was very good. I will definately be staying at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking Crosby street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Stunning Decor . Friendly Staff . Very Comfy beds . I was travelling solo and encountered a very rude limo driver from JFK to The Hotel , the doormen came to my aid immediately , helped with Check in and made me feel , like i was home . I have stayed there 3 times now , even tho its a bit on the Expensive side .... it's worth it .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crosby Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crosby Street Hotel

Address: 79 Crosby Street, New York City, NY 10012
Location: United States > New York > New York City > SoHo , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 461 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crosby Street Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and World Independent Hotel Promotion so you can book your Crosby Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crosby Street Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.