We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon Tea Review” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crosby Street Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Crosby Street Hotel to your Saves list
Crosby Street Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   79 Crosby Street, New York City, NY 10012 (SoHo)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea Review”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I wasn't sure what to expect as some of the trendier hotels often don't serve afternoon tea, but we were very pleasantly surprised. The room & seating is more that of a traditional dining room than typical tea rooms or you can sit outside in the garden area ,but the tables aren't ideal for tea as the waitstaff pointed out & we agreed. I wasn't crazy about the decor or ambiance, but we soon got over that as everything else was great. Beautiful china & teapots, good tea selection, good food, sugar cubes (a must for a proper tea) and very polite attentive service. I would recommend and go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    74
    16
    9
    2
See reviews for
90
267
44
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Kit Kemp is a brilliant interior designer and hotelier. Her hotel properties in London are always well situated, decorated to the finest detail and fitted out with the best furnishings - likewise for her hotel in NYC at Crosby St. Located off a quieter street in SoHo, staying at the Crosby is great for exploring downtown NYC. The hotel is in a convenient location but nicely tucked way so it is never too noisy. The bedding is so comfortable, and the bathroom well done up (water pressure is very good). This is a hotel that feels like home away from home.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The last of our 4 hotels in NYC proved to be the best, in terms of location (perfect for strolling around SoHo with lots of shops & restaurants), design, service, size of the luxury room & bathroom. The doormen double up as expert weather forecasters!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terneuzen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I stayed 4 nights with my wife in this beautiful decorated hotel. Professional staff, a warm welcome on arrival and the concierge and doormen were always willing to assist and recommend for shopping, dining and directions. Hotel was extremely clean and well appointed, a high quality of decoration and soft furnishings used. Free Wifi in the hotel, excellent breakfast. Large rooms for NYC, nice bathroom with great powerful shower. Excellent location in SoHo, great shopping possibilities. Also very nice bar for drinks with friends and/or business partners.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We just returned from our 6th stay at this awesome hotel. As usual, the staff was so welcoming and accommodating. The room decor is eclectic and totally cool. The fabrics and furnishings change from room to room which keeps it interesting for return visits. We've stayed in deluxe junior suites and luxurious one bedroom suites...all fantastic! Housekeeping is terrific and the rooms have always been spotless. We love the Crosby Bar for a tremendous selection of delicious, flavorful dishes in a cool setting. Definitely our favorite hotel in NYC!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

My husband and I spent the night at this amazing hotel when going to watch the U.S. Open. We were surprised at the attention to detail in the artwork and decor in all of the rooms. The two spacious yet comfortable conference rooms had their own color palette and feel with beautiful furniture and pieces of artwork you won't see anywhere else. There is even a movie theater/screening room where they offer specials on certain nights and weekends. We didn't get back to the hotel until after 1 am and wanted a nightcap. The library off the main lobby offered an "honor bar" even though a waiter came to take our drink order. Our hotel room which had an amazing view from a huge oversized window had a fully stocked bar and a bathroom one could only dream of- gorgeous marble walls and flooring with a flat screen TV above the tub and spacious free standing shower stall. The front desk staff were actually very nice and friendly. I was not expecting that in a boutique NY hotel. Our only bad experience was in their adjoining restaurant at breakfast. You would have thought the waiter had to pay us to be in his station. He was the epitome of NY rudeness. Not a "good morning" or "can I start you with coffee" not a smile-Nothing! And that wasn't the worst part. After we ordered our food, I had to pull him away from a conversation with another waiter to ask for my coffee--he disappeared and another staff member brought it out. We waited quite a while for just our water and OJ, but when the food did arrive, our waiter delivered it to us and never asked if we wanted any refills, how our food was-- again disappeared and never returned. Ever! We finally had to leave and another staffer came to clear our dishes and leave the bill. Unfortunately, I had to excuse myself to the ladies room and my husband handled the bill. He later told me a 15% tip was automatically included in the bill! I couldn't believe it! If I had known before we were in the cab, I would have gone straight to the manager and let him have it. Bottom line, the hotel was fabulous and well run with terrific staff--they should either separate themselves from the restaurant or have the front desk train the wait staff in the business of hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Checked in for our third or fourth visit and were told that breakfast wasn't included in the $800 rate. It always had been before but not now. The reason we got was, "We're really busy at this time of year so we don't have to offer that." Same story from the reservations manager. They seem to think that because they're busy they don't have to show any appreciation or loyalty to a returning customer. I figure we'll probably come to NYC about six or eight more times in the years ahead but we won't be staying at the Crosby. So that's somewhere around 15 or 20 room nights they're losing because they wouldn't spring for a continental breakfast. That seems to be bad business but then, it goes with the bad attitude other reviewers have mentioned.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
SoHo
The Broome
The Broome
#6 of 468 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 167 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel
Library Hotel
#4 of 468 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 3,015 reviews
Upper East Side
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#2 of 468 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#7 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,626 reviews
Hotel Giraffe
#5 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crosby Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crosby Street Hotel

Address: 79 Crosby Street, New York City, NY 10012
Location: United States > New York > New York City > SoHo , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crosby Street Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crosby Street Hotel is situated on a quiet cobbled street in the heart of New York's vibrant SoHo neighbourhood. There are 86 bedrooms and suites over 11 floors. Interior design by Kit Kemp reflects a fresh, contemporary style. There is The Crosby Bar, a private leafy garden, guest drawing room, several stylish private event and meeting rooms, a luxurious 99 seat screening room and fully equipped gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Crosby Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crosby Street Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.