We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved our stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crosby Street Hotel

Save Saved
You added Crosby Street Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Crosby Street Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   79 Crosby Street, New York City, NY 10012 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 446 hotels in New York City
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“We loved our stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We just spent six nights at this hotel.

With one exception, we loved the hotel, the staff and the location.

We've stayed uptown on many occasions and downtown as well. The vibe in Soho is just right for us.

The hotel is clean, fresh and modern. The decor is unusual---in a good way.

Breakfast was included with our room. The food was uniformly excellent.

The staff was friendly, courteous and always helpful.

The room was silent---a huge thing in New York. The bed was comfortable. The room had lots of light due to the floor-to-ceiling windows.

The only negative is that the hotel was somewhat stingy in granting us extra time on our departure. We had stayed for six nights and we asked for a relatively short extension to accomodate a late afternoon flight. We had to negotiate hard for a short extension, something I felt we should not have had to do given the length of our stay. I didn't quite believe the reasons given by the clerk who denied our request.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    309
    48
    11
    7
    1
See reviews for
58
179
27
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

The hotel is located in a top spot if you like to be in the Soho area .
i love the deco of the hotel , like all the other hotels of the Firmdale chain ( in London ) the feeling you get when you enter the place is like entering a friends home , the lobby is small and warm , the check in desk is friendly and efficient.
we booked 2 rooms - a Deluxe and a Junior Suite , both rooms were very beautiful the only differnce was in the size , the suite had some more space and was on the upper floor .
the mattress in the room is our #1 in the world - you want to stay in bed for ever , the linens are crisp cotton and the pilowes are perfect . they could do beeter with the bath amenities -the soap is so ordinary ..
the Concierge team is a pro , they have the conections but some times they are looking for the easy work .. they will send you to the restaurants which were "in " last year ( still good ) but they will not pull strings to get you in those hot places you read about now ..
the restaurant and bar - is a lively space very colorfull and with a good vibe .
the food is ok not more .
the service is immaculate , they remember your name and try to please you iwith every request.
we miss a spa badly , the gym is tiny and the equipment is not adequate , we asked for a private trainer , the price they asked for was 275 $ for 1 hour which is way too much !!
there are 2 gyms in the same street but they do not offer you to get in for free - you have to pay ...
the limo sevice through the concierge costs 50% more then you can find alone , same with theatre tickets - they will charge you double then the prices you will pay through the web.
i think that this is a very important point that as a guest you do not need to feel you are being robbed , you pay for the room ( a lot ) and you want to relax and enjoy your stay and the services the hoet can offer .
we will return again but - will watch carefully the charges.

Room Tip: we like the blue and white rooms ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed at the Crosby Street Hotel for a long weekend in December 2012. The service was excellent throughout and we loved the stylish design of the hotel. The hotel is well situated for shopping in Soho but was surprisingly quiet with no traffic noise at all. The food in the bar/ restaurant was delicious and the concierge recommended very good restaurants nearby. Overall this is my favourite of the many hotels I have visited in New York.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We chose the Crosby Street Hotel as my dog is called Cozby (but with a z) and I am so glad that we did! When I return to NYC for any future holidays I will be staying here without a doubt.

We paid a little extra and booked a room on the top floor which was worth every penny. Our room deco was stylish and very comfortable with amazing rooftop views. The bed was so big I had to climb into it but was pure luxury. The bathroom had a walk in power shower which was divine.

We ate at the hotel restaurant on the Friday night which was buzzing and had a great atmosphere, pink champagne and the crosby burger was yum! We ordered breakfast in bed on the last day, pancakes with syrup and hash browns were very good.

Being an animal lover the dog theme was great and the deco is very stylish. Hotel is in a great location and the tube is nearby as are the Soho shops.

Staff were friendly and helpful, concierge did a great job in managing to get us taxis.

The hotel is relaxed and not pretentious, there is no where else in NYC I would rather stay.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a top floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I loved my stay at the Crosby.

The location is ideal: very close to the action of Soho and Nolita, but on a quiet cobblestone side street. The subway is only a block away to take you uptown if needed.

The lobby and restaurant are both beautiful and the staff was very accommodating. Both a shaving and toothbrush kit were brought to our room in minutes upon request.

The rooms are the highlight of the hotel. Our deluxe room had a wall of gorgeous casement windows, with both a privacy shade and drapes that blocked out all light. The bathroom was beautiful and was appointed with heated towels, bathrobes and slippers.

Our only complaint was that the air conditioning was difficult to control with the wall touch-pad. Easier controls would have been helpful.

I highly recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a hotel in New York.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We have stopped in New York many times and The Crosby Street Hotel is our favourite hotel. The location is superb for shopping in SoHo. Little Italy and China Town are easily within walking distance. The hotel itself is like a home from home with fantastic decor and features. Great bar and really friendly staff. I would recommend this place for anyone looking for a well run and stylish boutique hotel. Ivor and Joanne Allchurch. Worcestershire UK

Room Tip: If you can upgrade to the luxury rooms on the
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

This is an astonishingly good hotel in terms of convenience, location, service, but above all in terms of design. it's principle would appear to be largely canine and harmonious eclecticism. Which is to say that the public spaces and rooms are peppered with fabulous, curious, beautiful and intriguing objects and paintings, many to do with dogs. Rooms are large and personal touches abound so that you almost feel you're at home..Windows, are room-sized, and you almost feel you're in an adult dolls' house (not a dog kennel). Of course you can stop people looking in!

It comes at a price, of course, but good things do, and it is worth it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crosby Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crosby Street Hotel

Address: 79 Crosby Street, New York City, NY 10012
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , SoHo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 446 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crosby Street Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Travelocity, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Crosby Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crosby Street Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.