We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and genuinely high class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crosby Street Hotel

Save Saved
You added Crosby Street Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crosby Street Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   79 Crosby Street, New York City, NY 10012 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 451 hotels in New York City
Boston Mass
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Comfortable and genuinely high class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This place is such an oasis of calm and non-ostentatious luxury in Soho. My room was peaceful and comfortable, excellent bathroom (good water pressure, heated towel rack,nice amenities)... this is New York, so nothing to be done about the garbage truck coming by early in the morning. Rooms on higher floors have beautiful cityscape views. Service is attentive. I spent an hour Sunday morning in the guests-only lounge reading the Sunday Times and feeling like a lady of luxury. The place is pricey; drinks and bar food expensive to match. I was fortunate to have been invited for a conference, and would stay here again in a minute... as long as someone else was paying!

Room Tip: High floor to get the views over the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    334
    56
    12
    7
    1
See reviews for
65
193
29
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

From the minute we arrived we loved everything about Crosby Street. The decor is brilliantly cool like all the Firmdale hotels with interesting fabrics, art and objets everywhere. It feels warm and friendly the staff are helpful, knowledgable and obliging, I'm sure the concierge could arrange dinner with Batman. Our room was beautifully furnished and very comfortable with huge windows looking on the street. The bar is a great addition to the NY scene and the restaurant quality is as good for snacks or a la carte and the lounge is terrific. SoHo is an interesting area with a great vibe, shops and restaurants all in walking distance. Well done Crosby Street, can't wait to go back

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

As a now multiple time guest of this beautiful hotel in trendy SoHo, I can truly say that this place is incredible in all aspects. From the warm and friendly front desk to the wonderful service, The Crosby is a small boutique hotel that is part of the Firmdale hotel group out of London that truly stands out! During our last visit, we arrived quite early and were immediately greeted and told that although my room was not ready, we would be upgraded since the hotel had some open rooms. A nice treat for a regular guest!! Our suitcases were secured and then we were off to explore the great surrounding areas. Visiting Balthazar, a fantastic and very popular french bistro, around the corner for a late breakfast was amazing. We then walked the great streets of SoHo (South of Houston) to just enjoy the sights and sounds of the city. We arrived back to the hotel to be rewarded with an upgrade to a spectacular suite for the evening. The suite was beyond belief and jaw-dropping....impeccable in all ways with enough room to entertain ten or twenty in luxury! Beautiful robes, high end bath materials and superb bedding are all part of the Crosby experience in all rooms! Although we have not eaten in the restaurant, we enjoyed the top-notch lively bar scene. The bar always seems to be hopping! The bartenders are quite imaginative and the atmosphere is cool!
This is a must go to hotel and one that you will not be disappointed in.

Room Tip: If you can afford the luxury, upper floor rooms are very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I looked at several hotels in this location and went with the Crosby based on the very positive reviews and it lived up to the hype!! It is a modern, fresh, somewhat funky vibe but all very well done. Our room had floor to ceiling windows that encompassed almost an entire wall with black iron mullions and casing.. beautiful. We looked down on the hotel's courtyard and it couldn't have been sexier and yet romantic at the same time. Terrific service checking in and when shown to our room, our very early check out two days later was very efficient also. It balances the allure of a new, hip hotel while still blending in with the area and not feeling cold or trying too hard. I can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostend, Belgium
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We had to change our hotel due to Sandy.
Because of his London sisters hotels, although not cheap, we gave this hotel a chance.
And yes, it is like many reviewers stated.
The reception and welcome are like you expected in a friendly way, the neigbourhood and the street are so good. The concierge was the one every hotel is looking for.
There is a room for the guests where they can zip a glass, take a snap (like a bar with sofas).
The rooms are great with floor-to-ceiling windows, decoration in style for anyone who is classic, but also for anyone who likes more the modern things.
Bathroom is clean and functional (by the way: good products).
The breakfast is a very good buffet (unfortanetely no normal bread) or there is a a-la-carte possibility.
One more thing, after one week I still remember the nice smell of the hallway.

Room Tip: backside 5th floor: OK
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I've stayed at the Crosby Street Hotel twice in the last three years, and I can't wait to come back for a third visit in May. The list of reasons for why I love this hotel are endless. To name a couple...

The location is top-notch. You're smack-dab in the middle of SoHo, on a cobblestone side street, which means you won't have to deal with as much NYC background noise. You're within walking distance to Balthazar, the MoMA design store, Bloomingdale's, Kate Spade, and all the other amazing SoHo boutiques. Want to see a show on Broadway or check out the Met? No problem - it's a $10 cab uptown to hit all those touristy spots.

I also love the British-inspired decor: modern yet classic, sophisticated yet unpretentious, feminine but not girly-girl...overall a fresh take on hotel design. Each room is unique, and its colour schemes are a breath of fresh air. This extends all the way from the lobby to the screening room to the restaurant to the tea room to the gym. These spaces are so unique - no hotel could every recreate this vibe.

Finally, it comes down to those little luxuries: Miller Harris bath products, Dean & Deluca minibar snacks, an honour-system bar, Frette bed linens, complimentary Monocle magazines etc.

If you're a couple, group of girlfriends, or a mom & daughter duo, definitely consider the Crosby. You won't regret it!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I recently stayed in this hotel with my husband. When we arrived, we were told that we had been upgraded to a top floor delux room. The room was stunning with great views over SOHO. I adored the decor because it was different from the generic decor of so many chain hotels and because it was floral and I am a bit of a girly girl. I also liked the dog themed art in the lifts!

The bathroom was lovely. There was no bath but the bathroom was a good size and the shower was one of the best I have ever been in! The towels were nice and fluffy, there were plenty of them and they were replaced very regularly. The little amenities in the bathroom were great too. There was a little hair elastic in the pouch with the shower cap, which was a great touch for ladies with long hair.

The location is fantastic for shopping and restaurants and I would definitely stay here again.

The little touches such as the relaxing pillow spray that comes with the turndown service and the box of pencils that come with a note from the manager are all really cute and make you feel welcome.

I think the service in the restaurant is one area that could improve slightly. I had porridge on the two mornings I was there. It was excellent and there was a choice of small or large oats and a choice of whether you wanted it cooked with water or milk. The first day I received brown sugar in a little dish and no fruit salad (that was meant to come with it). The next day I received the fruit but was give raw sugar. I received a blank look from the waiter when I asked for brown sugar. It came eventually but apparently it isn't a popular request, even though I received it the day before without having to ask. This is a very minor area that could be looked into in an otherwise stunning hotel experience. All other service was impecable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crosby Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crosby Street Hotel

Address: 79 Crosby Street, New York City, NY 10012
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , SoHo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 451 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crosby Street Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travelocity, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Crosby Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crosby Street Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.