We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection in every way!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crosby Street Hotel

Save Saved
You added Crosby Street Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crosby Street Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   79 Crosby Street, New York City, NY 10012 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 453 Hotels in New York City
New York
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Perfection in every way!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

As a now multiple time guest of this beautiful hotel in trendy SoHo, I can truly say that this place is incredible in all aspects. From the warm and friendly front desk to the wonderful service, The Crosby is a small boutique hotel that is part of the Firmdale hotel group out of London that truly stands out! During our last visit, we arrived quite early and were immediately greeted and told that although my room was not ready, we would be upgraded since the hotel had some open rooms. A nice treat for a regular guest!! Our suitcases were secured and then we were off to explore the great surrounding areas. Visiting Balthazar, a fantastic and very popular french bistro, around the corner for a late breakfast was amazing. We then walked the great streets of SoHo (South of Houston) to just enjoy the sights and sounds of the city. We arrived back to the hotel to be rewarded with an upgrade to a spectacular suite for the evening. The suite was beyond belief and jaw-dropping....impeccable in all ways with enough room to entertain ten or twenty in luxury! Beautiful robes, high end bath materials and superb bedding are all part of the Crosby experience in all rooms! Although we have not eaten in the restaurant, we enjoyed the top-notch lively bar scene. The bar always seems to be hopping! The bartenders are quite imaginative and the atmosphere is cool!
This is a must go to hotel and one that you will not be disappointed in.

Room Tip: If you can afford the luxury, upper floor rooms are very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    58
    12
    7
    1
See reviews for
66
202
31
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I looked at several hotels in this location and went with the Crosby based on the very positive reviews and it lived up to the hype!! It is a modern, fresh, somewhat funky vibe but all very well done. Our room had floor to ceiling windows that encompassed almost an entire wall with black iron mullions and casing.. beautiful. We looked down on the hotel's courtyard and it couldn't have been sexier and yet romantic at the same time. Terrific service checking in and when shown to our room, our very early check out two days later was very efficient also. It balances the allure of a new, hip hotel while still blending in with the area and not feeling cold or trying too hard. I can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostend, Belgium
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We had to change our hotel due to Sandy.
Because of his London sisters hotels, although not cheap, we gave this hotel a chance.
And yes, it is like many reviewers stated.
The reception and welcome are like you expected in a friendly way, the neigbourhood and the street are so good. The concierge was the one every hotel is looking for.
There is a room for the guests where they can zip a glass, take a snap (like a bar with sofas).
The rooms are great with floor-to-ceiling windows, decoration in style for anyone who is classic, but also for anyone who likes more the modern things.
Bathroom is clean and functional (by the way: good products).
The breakfast is a very good buffet (unfortanetely no normal bread) or there is a a-la-carte possibility.
One more thing, after one week I still remember the nice smell of the hallway.

Room Tip: backside 5th floor: OK
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I've stayed at the Crosby Street Hotel twice in the last three years, and I can't wait to come back for a third visit in May. The list of reasons for why I love this hotel are endless. To name a couple...

The location is top-notch. You're smack-dab in the middle of SoHo, on a cobblestone side street, which means you won't have to deal with as much NYC background noise. You're within walking distance to Balthazar, the MoMA design store, Bloomingdale's, Kate Spade, and all the other amazing SoHo boutiques. Want to see a show on Broadway or check out the Met? No problem - it's a $10 cab uptown to hit all those touristy spots.

I also love the British-inspired decor: modern yet classic, sophisticated yet unpretentious, feminine but not girly-girl...overall a fresh take on hotel design. Each room is unique, and its colour schemes are a breath of fresh air. This extends all the way from the lobby to the screening room to the restaurant to the tea room to the gym. These spaces are so unique - no hotel could every recreate this vibe.

Finally, it comes down to those little luxuries: Miller Harris bath products, Dean & Deluca minibar snacks, an honour-system bar, Frette bed linens, complimentary Monocle magazines etc.

If you're a couple, group of girlfriends, or a mom & daughter duo, definitely consider the Crosby. You won't regret it!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I recently stayed in this hotel with my husband. When we arrived, we were told that we had been upgraded to a top floor delux room. The room was stunning with great views over SOHO. I adored the decor because it was different from the generic decor of so many chain hotels and because it was floral and I am a bit of a girly girl. I also liked the dog themed art in the lifts!

The bathroom was lovely. There was no bath but the bathroom was a good size and the shower was one of the best I have ever been in! The towels were nice and fluffy, there were plenty of them and they were replaced very regularly. The little amenities in the bathroom were great too. There was a little hair elastic in the pouch with the shower cap, which was a great touch for ladies with long hair.

The location is fantastic for shopping and restaurants and I would definitely stay here again.

The little touches such as the relaxing pillow spray that comes with the turndown service and the box of pencils that come with a note from the manager are all really cute and make you feel welcome.

I think the service in the restaurant is one area that could improve slightly. I had porridge on the two mornings I was there. It was excellent and there was a choice of small or large oats and a choice of whether you wanted it cooked with water or milk. The first day I received brown sugar in a little dish and no fruit salad (that was meant to come with it). The next day I received the fruit but was give raw sugar. I received a blank look from the waiter when I asked for brown sugar. It came eventually but apparently it isn't a popular request, even though I received it the day before without having to ask. This is a very minor area that could be looked into in an otherwise stunning hotel experience. All other service was impecable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London England
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

As may be gathered from the title we stayed in the hotel before, during and even slightly after the hurricame. The decor in the hotel meets its billing and may not be to everyone taste but it fulfils the ronseal test in doing what it says on the tin. we stayed on both the 10th floor facing west and 11th floor facing east. The room on the 10th had inadequate closet facilites so we asked tobe moved, may be the booking people should not have put us in the room in the first palce but they rectified this as soon as they could. in our opinion the high rooms do provide a good view of downtown Manhattan and the view to the east is more interesting. Not all the rooms are the same size ( or have enough closet space ) so check this when making a booking. we did not make much use of the dinning facilties, when we did it was excellent and service ( dispite the 14th st sub station explosion) excellent. The bar is intergated into the dinning room, may sound odd but it works and creates a great atmosphere. We were required though not forced to relocate with the prospect of no power for several days. (4 as it turned out). The management staff were terrific, keeping both their cool and sense of humour in trying circumstances. Jakob, Freddie and Adam should all get speical mentions, as well as the guy who went to the pay phones with quarters to find hotels with rooms, ( its what hapapens when there is no power, no internet and no mobile relay stations). Vinny, the hotel driver, is out of a hollywood movie and should be treasured

Room Tip: High floors and face east
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I was travelling with my Mum who is a travel agent, so we were given the most beautiful suite I have ever seen (the lounge dining room was bigger than my one at home!). Everything about this hotel screams perfection - the decor, the art, the location, the lounge bar with 24 hour butler, the courtyard, the restaurant, the cinema with Sunday screenings. And when you walk out the door of this wonderland you are in the middle of Soho, with the best restaurants, cafes and shopping at your doorstep. What more could a girl want. One proviso, some men may be put off by some of the decor - make sure you request a room with no pink if you feel pink cushions in the room might bother you.

Room Tip: We saw a number of rooms and they all looked beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crosby Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crosby Street Hotel

Address: 79 Crosby Street, New York City, NY 10012
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , SoHo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crosby Street Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, MrandMrsSmith, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Crosby Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crosby Street Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.