We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost Perfection! I wish I could give it 4 1/2” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crosby Street Hotel

Save Saved
You added Crosby Street Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Crosby Street Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   79 Crosby Street, New York City, NY 10012 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 446 hotels in New York City
New York
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Almost Perfection! I wish I could give it 4 1/2”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

Let me begin by saying, The Crosby Hotel in NYC is a wonderful place. A phenomenal location, a beautiful and artfully decorated space with spacious and high tech rooms. The rooms are all decorated beautifully and are extremely comfortable with lush furnishings and excellent bath products. The full granite bathroom has the most amazing water pressure I have ever seen. What a great shower! The lobby and the bar are exquisite and just invite one to stay in for a drink or for breakfast. So why do I wish I could give a 4 1/2 rating. It is simply spotty service. Poor advice, on two separate occasions after asking specifically, at the concierge desk, advised us to park along the street and we were ticketed. Note: The manager was very good and offered to take care of the ticket for us. The wait staff in the restaurant are very spotty. Seemingly oblivious to us twice in the morning. We had to ask for extra coffee and then I had to get up to get the bill both days as all waitstaff seemed to vanish. On several occasions, no one greeted us and no one was at the front door. Not that we expect it but for over $600 a night one should.
There were some excellent personnel as well. The young lady with the British accent who greeted us at the front desk for check in was lovely, and the excellent young man who took our bags and commiserated with us on the parking ticket was a great and helpful person as was the manager or was it the assistant manager who took care of our problem with class.
Overall, TRY IT if you have the means. It is an excellent Hotel and with just some continued tweaking of the young personnel it will be a 6 out of 5!

Room Tip: All rooms seem excellent but we had a beautiful view on the 6th floor courtyard side. Be prepared f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    309
    48
    11
    7
    1
See reviews for
58
179
27
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

I love this hotel so much. It is really a special place: the staff, the rooms, the decor. The location is spectacular, and the vibe and sunlight in every room is truly wonderful. I love staying downtown, and was a regular at a different hotel but have switched my loyalties. I will stay there again the next time I'm in NYC, no doubt.

Room Tip: The light on both sides is great. If you don't like purple, tell the front desk. There are a few...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012 via mobile

My husband, 12 year old son, and I stayed at the Crosby Street hotel this winter for only one night. I cannot overrate how nice this hotel is. The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are not only beautifully decorated, they are also spotless. The hotel has paid a lot of attention to detail, beyond the nice bath slippers, they give you a newspaper in the morning, the turndown service provides everyone with a complimentary bottle of water, and our room was upgraded without us even asking. This hotel is well worth the price in every respect. Breakfast was delicious too.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

This magnificent boutique hotel reaches the top spot in our hearts. It is just perfect. From the warmth and professionalism of the staff to the incredibly well decorated surroundings. Just try it and fall in love with it! It is well worth the price.
Enjoy!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

Just returned from a 2 day stay at the Crosby Street Hotel, Fab hotel and Fab location. Staff were very polite and helpful. Stayed in one of the 'cheaper' rooms on the 1st floor, the rooms are very clean and the shower is to die for, loved all the Miiler Harris products, I can only imagine what the more expensive rooms are like. Loved it and will return budget allowing.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worldwide
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

Chic and fabulous splurge for your stay in NYC. Stayed for 3 nights in January. Absolutely loved the modern, yet cozy decor of this boutique hotel brought to the U.S. by its London Family (Firmdale Hotels, all with their equally outstanding signature designs) - vibrant colors and charming patterns but not over-the-top bright; large inviting upholstered sofas and chairs in the lobby living room with its honor bar; the British shower head in the ceiling-to-floor granite bathroom - which had some kind of air pressure power device which I've not seen the likes of before nor since, the hairdryer (yes, even that was different and amazing); the location - conveniently within walking distance for shopping and eating, Dean & Deluca, Ed's Lobster Bar, and Balthazar, and the subway to take you everywhere. I gave Crosby 4 stars instead of a 5 just because, unfortunately, they forgot to remind us when we checked in that an English breakfast was included in our rate. They do have amazing attention to detail in many regards, but missed that one. We didn't realize it and walked down to D&D daily for coffee and croissants, so didn't try the food at Crosby. Bar is a lively scene, experienced and friendly bartenders, and the cocktails delicious. We will return and are looking forward.

Room Tip: I don't think there could be a bad room choice. We faced the road and other side of Crosby stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011 via mobile

Had the opportunity to stay at this great property for a couple days last week. It feels brand new , the staff is extremely nice. Public areas are beautifully decorated (bar/lounge , lobby , outdoor garden , restaurant). The rooms are very clean and tastefully designed. Nice size room and large windows.
I only had breakfast in the hotel restaurant but it is very nice , staff is very attentive and food was excellent.
Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in soho area of new york , eventhough it is a bit more expensive than other options.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crosby Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crosby Street Hotel

Address: 79 Crosby Street, New York City, NY 10012
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , SoHo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 446 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crosby Street Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Travelocity, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Crosby Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crosby Street Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.