We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chambers Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Chambers Hotel to your Saves list
Chambers Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 W 56th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #132 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Paris
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Great location, nice hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

Chambers is located in an ideal Midtown spot, if you are visiting New York the location is one of the best (although Soho will be as nice). The hotel is not a run of the mill one, with nice rooms, with a clear attempt at furnishing them pleasantly. The staff is friendly and we greatly enjoyed our stay. The price is on a par with the competition, i.e. "average". Only minus, we regular rooms look toward the back, where the noise from the big airconditioning plants from the nearby buildings is positively annoying. OK, they cannot be stopped, but the windows should be better quality and better noise-insulating.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    120
    40
    17
    10
See reviews for
56
148
33
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2010

My S-I-L and I recently shared a studio double on the 4th floor for 3 nights. The room was clean, roomy, and comfortable. The rain showerhead was great, and there was plenty of hot water.

We chose this hotel because it is located only a few blocks from Carnegie Hall. It is also close to MoMA, Rockefeller Center, St. Patrick's Cathedral, the 5th Avenue shopping district, and Central Park to name a few. There are many delis and restaurants located within a block or two of the hotel as well.

The hotel staff was extremely friendly and helpful every time we asked for information or assistance. My original return flight home was cancelled due to bad weather. I had no trouble changing to a smaller room for an extra evening, and I was allowed to check out at 2 pm the following day at no extra charge.

We ate breakfast on the mezzanine level each morning. The breakfast food was delicious and served promptly. Although breakfast was a little more expensive at the hotel, the mezzanine was a quiet and relaxing place to start our day.

We would both consider staying at this hotel again. The only minor complaints we had was the room lighting was not very bright, there wasn't any area information in the room, and we could hear a lot of street noise in the early morning hours (trash and delivery trucks?) I only noticed the noise when we were in the studio double because the room faces the street. The single room on the 9th floor faced the back of another building. Although the view wasn't as nice, I did not hear any street noise in the early morning.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2010

superb service, rooms and decor... concierge made the impossible happen... decent room service... excellent turn down with bottles of water and candy... this very smart hotel is a welcome contrast to the typical snobbery found in high end hotels in manhattan. if the service remains at this level i have no doubt i'll stay again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2010

Fabulous location, fabulous hotel, fabulous room - industrial-esque twist to the rooms, bathroom made of (underfloor heated) concrete, fire pipe as a shower ........it has a cool and trendy vibe yet is most unpretentious. Highly recommended

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2009

We stayed four nights at the Chambers Hotel and had a great stay. The standard queen room was plenty of space for us, and the bathroom was modern and bright with a nice "rain" showerhead. There were plenty of bathroom amenities that were refilled on a regular basis by hosuekeeping. Rooms were kept very clean with a nice turndown service in the evening, complete with 2 chocolates and bottles of water. We did have a slight issue when they seemed to think only one person was in the room, only leaving one bottle of water for a couple of nights, and removing one of our robes, but this was resolved easily when I spoke to the staff.

Everyone on staff seemed very friendly and helpful. The lobby is comfortable and cozy and we enjoyed the second floor "Mezzanine" for drinks. Overall the hotel was very quiet. We never heard neighboring guests, but were able to hear some construction hammering in the building facing our room across the street during the week.

It would have been nice to have had some coffee making facilities in the room or have it complimentary in the hotel for guests. We ordered room service for breakfast our last morning, and it was quick to arrive and good.

The location is great for Central Park, 5th Ave. shopping, museums, and Rockefeller Center. It was sometimes difficult to get a taxi right on 56th street during rush hours, but you can always go to 5th or 6th to get one.

We would recommend this hotel for anyone considering staying in the Midtown area.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2009

I only write comments when something is really good or really bad... Chambers Hotel is exceptional! The location, chic ambiance, style and cosy feel was felt throughout. It was a pleasure to stay in the room, watch TV, get a good shower! DAMN it was the best shower I have ever experienced! Stayed in a standard room and had no problems whatsoever with its size, the free internet and the ipod charger in the room was really handy.

All I'd say is that the lights were a little dim, and dimmer switches would have been useful, but that really didn't matter.

Overall, an expensive treat place... but given its premium location and convenience as others have suggested, then its well worth it.

The ONLY negative I will say is the continental breakfast, it can't be called that. It was one coffee and a selection of high style bread. Its New York, some things need to be there, like a damn good breakfast or bottomless pastries! That might encourage more at breakfast????

Smellies, dvd player in the room, the hamper in the room, outway this however! We will definitely go there again when next in New York.

If you need a gym, they give out complimentary passes for one just up the road.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2009

The Chambers hotel is perfectly located 1 block away from the subway station, 1/2 a block away from trump tower (5th avenue). The hotel is beautiful, cozy, stylish and has the best shower head I have ever used!
The best part of it all is the service! Thank you to all of the people working in the front desk and the door. Special thanks to Leopoldo!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Chambers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chambers Hotel

Address: 15 W 56th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#78 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#95 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#118 Business Hotel in New York City
#186 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chambers Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chambers is just off Fifth Avenue on 56th Street in the heart of midtown Manhattan and steps from the most prestigious shopping area in the world, museums and Central Park, offers a seamless fusion of uptown luxury and downtown cool. With a relaxed, attentive culture of service, Chambers is one of New York’s most alluring and chic hotels. Within its 72 rooms and 5 suites you will find an oasis of calm amid the hustle and bustle of one of the most exciting cities in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Chambers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chambers Hotel New York City
Chambers New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chambers Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.