We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Works every time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chambers Hotel

Save Saved
You added Chambers Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Chambers Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 W 56th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #112 of 449 hotels in New York City
hobyan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Works every time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

I've stayed at many hotels in NY, and if I had my choice, this would be it every time (over the Mandarin Oriental). If you're touristing, the location is central. The rooms are big for NY, a rare gem. The bedding is comfy, the bathrooms are spacious. The staff are attentive and remember you. Momofuku downstairs - win. The design is urban industrial, but relaxing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChambersNewYork, General Manager at Chambers Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear hobyan,

We are delighted to have you as our guest each and every time you find yourself in New York (we’d be happy to write a permission slip to the powers that be).

Thank you for sharing your good words.

Let me know when next you’d like to stay and I’ll provide you with an insider’s list of our favorite boites.

Yours kindly,

Ansell Hawkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    180
    99
    35
    14
    9
See reviews for
42
120
25
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

This is a relatively small hotel by NY standards, however it is not cheap and some of the service expectations from a hotel charging nearly 700$ per night were not really met. The rooms are strong on design, but weak on practicality - nowhere to hang an outdoor coat after walking in the rain, as one simple example. The restaurant is very noisy and more like a refectory than a place to be comfortable and hold a conversation. To the positives, however, the staff are friendly and helpful and the location is simply excellent - close to MoMA, Central Park, Empire State, Central Station, etc. etc. Would we stay again - maybe, but not definitely!

Room Tip: choose a room as high as possible overlooking 56th Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChambersNewYork, General Manager at Chambers Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear lesjon,

Many thanks on your kind words. We are, on your suggestion, installing external jacket hooks such that one need not place a damp coat in the armoire. Too, please know you are welcome to enjoy all the fine tasty menu of Má Pêche on our quiet and peaceful mezzanine.

In all events, we do hope you will return and I invite you to contact me directly that I may assist you personally.

Yours kindly,

Ansell Hawkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Location - On 56th near the corner of 5th. Great for shopping and for running in Central Park! Easy to get uptown and downtown.
Room - The room size was decent by New York standards. I got allergies from the dust though. The bathroom was also pretty small with little space to put my bathroom kit. It had a rain shower and standard amenities - bring a toothbrush and toothpaste!
Food - room service was efficient and good. The hotel restaurant is Ma Peche (part of the Momofuku group) and you could also order some dishes from them for room service.
Staff - very friendly concierge and doormen
Gym - no gym but they have an arrangement with the NY Racket Club
Internet - complimentary

The best part about the hotel was the location location location!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChambersNewYork, General Manager at Chambers Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Angypsy,

Thank you for letting us know your thoughts on Chambers, we are very appreciative. I am very sorry for your dust allergy and please know we have always many a toothbrush and paste at our Front Desk for just such occasions.

Again, many thanks for your thoughts.

Yours kindly,

Ansell Hawkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Was in NYC to perform at Carnegie Hall as well as a small family reunion. The atmosphere created by the extraordinarily friendly staff set the tone for a memorable stay. We booked 3 rooms for our family, and our location requests were met, with one of our party receiving an upgrade! The hotel is warm, quiet, and inviting and the decor is sort of industrial chic. The public spaces were cozy and inviting, with art pieces displayed. We gathered by the large fireplace in the lobby several times, and the 2nd floor contained several seating arrangements for sitting and lounging and/or visiting. Loved the powerful rainshower bath and larger than expected room size. The bed was very comfy, and we had every amenity we needed. We especially liked the larger sized toiletries and comfy robes. Our rooms were very quiet, even the street-facing room on 56th street. The only things I didn't like were the oddly poorly constructed wardrobe which served as a closet. The doors were rough and didn't operate smoothly, and I couldn't get the room as cool as I would've liked, although every place we went in NYC seemed overheated. The convenient location 2 blocks east of Carnegie Hall's stage entrance was a huge plus, and it's close to fabulous shopping as well as Central Park. We grabbed a quick breakfast bite at the hotel's Milk Bar as well as an after theater bite at Ma Peche, and the staff were all equally friendly and helpful as the hotel staff. The clientele seemed to be a mix of well-mannered, quiet, younger professional people. The concierge/greeter/all around helpful guy was just outstanding! Can't say enough good things about this property, and highly recommend it if you're planning a stay in midtown Manhatten.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChambersNewYork, General Manager at Chambers Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Nancy A,

First and foremost, congratulations on your performing at Carnegie; we are delighted for you. Too, we are very pleased you and your family enjoyed Chambers.
Well mannered is one of the finest compliments we think may be paid and we thank you for it, on behalf all our guests. Perhaps it has something to do with the warm, quiet and inviting-ness of our lobby and rooms.

Please let me know when next you are performing at Carnegie or Lincoln Center or Town Hall or, or ... I would be delighted to assist you.

Once again, many thanks on sharing your views.

Yours,

Ansell Hawkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Great service and best location for shopping madison /fifth avenue - close to Moma ad MET Opera - Fab staff that make you feel home & we love the ART all over the hotel ! The Duplexe suite with terrace with view is a must to come back to. momofuku serves nice worldclass food so you dont have to leave the hotel

Room Tip: Duplex suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChambersNewYork, General Manager at Chambers Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Commahotel,

In a city surrounded with art and restaurants and great places to visit, we are very happy you chose Chambers and hope you will return often and in good health.

Enjoy a fine Scandinavian holiday.

Yours kindly,

Ansell Hawkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington,DC
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

My mom reserved rooms here for a family trip to NYC. The Chambers is located on 56th, between 5th and 6th Avenues. 56th is a fairly quiet, one-way street.

Upon arrival, we found out that we'd been upgraded to a king deluxe room. Nice start. The staff were very helpful and welcoming, immediately offering me water.

Though the hotel is a small, boutique property, and the building is quite narrow, the lobby is appointed with several comfortable lounge areas, which proved ideal spots for my family to visit. I particularly liked the warm gas fire.

Our room was large for NYC, and very clean, with lots of unexpected touches that really set it apart from chain hotels.

Highlights:
- The concierge was fabulous and helped us figure out a couple of family activities. Really, really helpful and kind.
-.Nice linens, with duvet covers (no skeezy blankets), luxe towels and robes
- Industrial design throughout, including a concrete-floored, open, glass shower and a concrete vanity
- Large, 3-oz. shampoo and conditioner
- Unique offerings on standard items; in lieu of a mini-bar, there is a carefully curated (and I mean that - not using silly jargon) collection of snacks and items; there is a bulletin board with post cards and info; even the clock is a retro wood number
-Location near Carnegie Hall and shops
-Large window view. Though we were facing the street, we didn't hear any traffic noise and slept well.

I would absolutely recommend the Chambers to a friend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChambersNewYork, General Manager at Chambers Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear DCmetrodogmom,

We are very pleased you had a fine time at Chambers, in New York and with your family.

Thank you for recommending Chambers to your friends; we like keeping it close.

Please let us know when you are next up the coast and feel free bringing the pooch. We've got treats!

Yours kindly,

Ansell Hawkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed at Chambers Hotel between the 11th and 18th October, 2013.
As an architect, I appreciated the stylish interior design. It is elegant and slightly quirky, which is a pleasant change from the usual generic and faceless hotels found elsewhere.
The location is perfect. It’s close to the subway, adjacent 5th Avenue and only a few blocks from Central Park.
The staff, particularly Richard, are incredibly friendly and attentive. We expressed our interest in seeing a Broadway show and within 5 minutes they had obtained 2 quotes for tickets. The service we received was first class.
Our room was a rear facing queen room on the 14th floor. This room afforded a view of the buildings on 57th Street, which provided a quintessential New York skyline, including the archetypal conical water tanks.
Unfortunately, the building opposite was served by a plantroom that emitted a continuous low hum. While it didn’t create an issue for us, it may for others. Notwithstanding this, the room was very quiet.
I would definitely recommend this hotel and look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChambersNewYork, General Manager at Chambers Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Mr. H.

We are very pleased indeed you like perfect.

We are very pleased indeed you shared your opinion.

We will be very pleased indeed welcoming you back anytime you find yourself this side of the sea.

Yours kindly,

Ansell Hawkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chambers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chambers Hotel

Address: 15 W 56th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#75 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#90 Business Hotel in New York City
#98 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#134 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chambers Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chambers is just off Fifth Avenue on 56th Street in the heart of midtown Manhattan and steps from the most prestigious shopping area in the world, museums and Central Park, offers a seamless fusion of uptown luxury and downtown cool. With a relaxed, attentive culture of service, Chambers is one of New York’s most alluring and chic hotels. Within its 72 rooms and 5 suites you will find an oasis of calm amid the hustle and bustle of one of the most exciting cities in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Jetsetter, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Chambers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chambers Hotel New York City
Chambers New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chambers Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.