We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chambers Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Chambers Hotel to your Saves list
Chambers Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 W 56th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #125 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed at Chambers Hotel between the 11th and 18th October, 2013.
As an architect, I appreciated the stylish interior design. It is elegant and slightly quirky, which is a pleasant change from the usual generic and faceless hotels found elsewhere.
The location is perfect. It’s close to the subway, adjacent 5th Avenue and only a few blocks from Central Park.
The staff, particularly Richard, are incredibly friendly and attentive. We expressed our interest in seeing a Broadway show and within 5 minutes they had obtained 2 quotes for tickets. The service we received was first class.
Our room was a rear facing queen room on the 14th floor. This room afforded a view of the buildings on 57th Street, which provided a quintessential New York skyline, including the archetypal conical water tanks.
Unfortunately, the building opposite was served by a plantroom that emitted a continuous low hum. While it didn’t create an issue for us, it may for others. Notwithstanding this, the room was very quiet.
I would definitely recommend this hotel and look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChambersNewYork, General Manager at Chambers Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Mr. H.

We are very pleased indeed you like perfect.

We are very pleased indeed you shared your opinion.

We will be very pleased indeed welcoming you back anytime you find yourself this side of the sea.

Yours kindly,

Ansell Hawkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    111
    36
    17
    10
See reviews for
53
131
32
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

A very well located gem with excellent staff who knew who we were whenever we returned during the day or night. Also we were given some very good restaurant recommendations to compliment our plans over a long weekend. Our room was of a good size given NY hotel restraints and well appointed. Cool but not uncomfortable or trendy for the sake of it! Watch out for the current demolition and building works across the street! During weekdays those works went on late and started early. Could be disruptive for those in a low floor street facing room.

Room Tip: The higher the better to be insulated from street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChambersNewYork, General Manager at Chambers Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Stevie,

Many thanks on your kind words and for sharing them, both are greatly appreciated.
We are happy to report the deconstruction is complete and the last of the rubble has been cleared; New York constantly renewing itself.

Just a note of curiosity: what could we do better to earn those fine and lovely 5 stars? We'd love to know.

In all events, thank you again and we hope to see you soon.

Yours kindly,

Ansell Hawkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Doormen seem to remember me whenever I return to this hotel. Great location, quick walk to subway stations or Central Park. Rooms are small but very cool. If you want to stay at a hip hotel and avoid the "tourist" feel, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChambersNewYork, General Manager at Chambers Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you kindly, Mr. W.

We are very appreciative of your taking the time to share your pleasure in having Chambers be your home in New York.

We like our little spot in midtown and are grateful you do, too.

Thank you again,

Ansell Hawkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights in June. Overall experience is perfect. Great location as it's just in the heart of NY city, with small stores selling your daily needs just across the road. Walking distance to famous US brands and department stores. Easy to get a cab in the morning. Comfortable lobby with friendly staff to welcome you. Rooms are not too big but it's clean and quiet. The comfort comes from everything you encountered; The lift, the door, the carpet, bed sheets, towels... everything is in good condition that you won't worry about the stay. And the famous fusion restaurant "momofuku" is just downstairs. Foods are really great, suggest to make reservation advanced to avoid waiting time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChambersNewYork, General Manager at Chambers Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Ms.M.,

We couldn’t have said it better ourselves, so thank you.

It is a true pleasure every time we step into Chambers and to spend our days surrounded by art, fine fabrics, beautiful design and, most of all, astoundingly fine people.

Thank you for the recognition, it is hugely appreciated

It is a long way from Hong Kong to New York, but please feel free contacting me if I may assist with your or a comrades reservation

Yours kindly,.

Ansell Hawkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Immediately upon our arrival, we were greeted with warmth and utmost efficiency. This continued throughout our 3 night stay. We were 2 of a group of 7, who have known each other for more than sixty years. The entire staff is fabulous, but sticking out in my mind are Robert, Kevin, and Ty. They were extremely attentive. and anticipated our every need. They give us incentive to want to return. The hotel's location was perfect for our needs.

Room Tip: All the rooms I saw were very similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChambersNewYork, General Manager at Chambers Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Ms.M.,

We are delighted you have had such a fine time at Chambers. It is always a delight receiving kind words and please be assured I will circulate your comments to our entire staff. They are, after all, the ones who make it happen.

How terrific to enjoy the company of friends. You can’t get new old friends

We would love to have you with us anytime. Please be free to contact me directly and I will be pleased to handle your reservation personally.

Once again, thank you for your kind words.

Ansell Hawkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We made our reservation with a gift card thru Jetsetter and all was confirmed in order and the room paid in full when we stayed Aug 2013! We had a great time until we just discovered that the hotel also charged the room fee onto our American Express - getting double payment! I called - the return call I was promised didn't happen! I had to call back and the hotel person gave me a run around which turns out the issue wasn't mine so I shouldn't have been charged and after some "discussion" she finally relented and credited my card. REALLY! So good memories of a fun NYC visit flushed because Chambers personnel don't know how to process paperwork and don't apparently care about customer service in the end. :(

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChambersNewYork, General Manager at Chambers Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Mr. Limagal,
Once again, please accept my apologies for our clerical error. Too, we apologize the process exceeded your expectations.
Yours kindly,
Ansell Hawkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

When business takes me to midtown Manhattan, the first place I check the availability of is the Chambers. Small, convenient, discreet and charming, the Chambers always satisfies. I can afford the super-luxury hotels in the neighborhood, but keep coming back to Chambers.

Room Tip: The balcony suite on the sixth floor is a winner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChambersNewYork, General Manager at Chambers Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Mr. P,
Many thanks on the public expression of pleasure. We are always happy to have you around and about.
See you soon.
Yours kindly,
Ansell Hawkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chambers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chambers Hotel

Address: 15 W 56th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#83 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#86 Business Hotel in New York City
#181 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chambers Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chambers is just off Fifth Avenue on 56th Street in the heart of midtown Manhattan and steps from the most prestigious shopping area in the world, museums and Central Park, offers a seamless fusion of uptown luxury and downtown cool. With a relaxed, attentive culture of service, Chambers is one of New York’s most alluring and chic hotels. Within its 72 rooms and 5 suites you will find an oasis of calm amid the hustle and bustle of one of the most exciting cities in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo, MrandMrsSmith, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Chambers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chambers Hotel New York City
Chambers New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chambers Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.