We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Base for Midtown NYC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chambers Hotel

Save Saved
You added Chambers Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Chambers Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 W 56th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #96 of 452 hotels in New York City
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent Base for Midtown NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We booked two nights after reading good reviews on TripAdvisor. Our over-riding impression was the quality of staff during the stay - epitomised by two genuinely friendly and entertaining Concierges, Ty and Robert, who made it clear for the moment we walked through the door that they were there to make our time in New York City as productive and memorable as it could be. The room was clean and, for the area, good value. We would echo others' comments about the quality of the shower - a welcome bit of TLC after a full-on day out. No real frills to speak of in terms of food but no worries when there's such a massive selection on the doorstep - from breakfast to dinner and beyond. Concierge recommendations were checked out online (on the QT) before committing and all found to be top-notch.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChambersNewYork, General Manager at Chambers Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Edwardb638,
Thank you for your very enthusiastic review, we appreciate it immensely. We, too, are very glad you found yourselves so very well cared for; that is of the utmost importance in our minds. Please be certain I will pass along your kind words to Ty and Robert, and all others of our fantastic staff who make it all happen so seamlessly.
Be sure in letting me know when you are next in New York and I will be delighted assisting you with your reservations and about town.
Kindly,
Ansell Hawkins
General Manager
Chambers Hotel
15 west 56th Street
New York, NY 10019
212 204 7710
ahawkins@chambershotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    193
    98
    36
    14
    9
See reviews for
46
123
27
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I've been staying at Chambers on my NYC business trips for quite a few years. A while ago it went through a bad spot when the bar/restaurant closed but now that Milk and Ma Peche have opened up it seems to have re-found it's zeitgeist. Tucked away in midtown with subtle signage it's a retreat from 5th Av. The rooms are dark but well appointed, beds comfy and service excellent. But there are two major stand outs:

1) free wifi. Why on earth don't all hotels do this now? It makes a travellers life so much easier and the those few extra $$$ aren't worth it.
2) the showers. I've seen many hotels boast of their waterfall showers but these guys have nailed it. The best shower I've had. So much water you dare not turn it onto full power for fear of drowning standing up. Love it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChambersNewYork, General Manager at Chambers Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear MattFenby Taylor,
Thank you for returning to Chambers. It was surely difficult not having a restaurant but we, too, are thrilled with having the Momofuku folks around and about. They certainly know their way around the kitchen.
Thank you for sharing your opinions with us and TripAdvisor; we greatly appreciate it. Even from the insider’s view I cannot understand the WiFi charge thing. It simply is how we live know.
I would be pleased to assist with your bookings for all your future visits.
Ansell Hawkins
General Manager
Chambers Hotel
15 west 56th Street
New York, NY 10019
212 204 7710
ahawkins@chambershotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

When I don't travel myself, I am the person choosing the hotels my colleagues will stay in and here is an interesting comment to share:
Chambers hotel is excellent.
Very well placed, great rooms, staff etc.
Plus there is a gym that we get complimentary use of just one block away.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChambersNewYork, General Manager at Chambers Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Alexandra M,
We would love having you as your guest so that you may firsthand experience Chambers. Just let us know when.
We certainly would be happy to assist with placing all your travelers in New York. Please only contact Ms. Mara Robin or myself to make arrangements.
Enjoy spring in Monte Carlo; I have very fond memories of the hills coming alive.
Ansell Hawkins
General Manager
Chambers Hotel
15 west 56th Street
New York, NY 10019
212 204 7710
ahawkins@chambershotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I spent 5 nights alone in NYC and I wanted to stay in a central hotel. .. And I found the place!
Chambers is in a great area, you can go out and feel all the noise of the city but returning back you are in a cozy, quiet room. Great atmosphere in the room, the staff friendly. Every day when I was returning back in the room I was under the impression that my mom was somewhere around and tied it up. I found the place to stay each time I am visiting NYC.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChambersNewYork, Manager at Chambers Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Raisa K,
Thank you for taking your time in letting us and TripAdvisor know how much you enjoyed Chambers. IN fact, our Executive Housekeeper is a bit of a mother to all of us here… and we are as happy as punch about it.
New York and Greece are certainly a good distance from one another, but we do hope to have you visit regularly. Let me know and we’ll ensure you are well cared for and know the latest of the latest from our concierges.
Until soon, travel safely,
Ansell Hawkins
General Manager
Chambers Hotel
15 west 56th Street
New York, NY 10019
212 204 7710
ahawkins@chambershotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

They have by far the friendliest staff in New York. great door men, lovely ladies at reception. Because hotel is small, everyone recognises you already on day 2. Location is awsome. I am looking forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChambersNewYork, General Manager at Chambers Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Peter S,

We couldn't be more pleased you found Chambers and want to return. We’ll be happy to welcome you again and again and again. Indeed, I will be delighted to handle your booking personally.

Until soon, travel safely,

Ansell Hawkins

General Manager
Chambers Hotel
15 west 56th Street
New York, NY 10019
212 204 7710
ahawkins@chambershotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, MI
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Loved the size, ambience, and comfortable rooms. The staff was very welcoming and helpful. The room was very quiet and the mezzanine level library offered a nice place to chill with a glass of wine. Great location! I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChambersNewYork, General Manager at Chambers Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Ginger759,

It is terrific to read how much you enjoyed your visit and we are very appreciative of your sharing with TripAdvisor.

Do let me know when you are returning and I'll give you a few of my favorite spots around the neighborhood.

Travel safely,

Ansell Hawkins

General Manager
Chambers Hotel
15 west 56th Street
New York, NY 10019

212 204 7710

ahawkins@chambershotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I'm torn as I write this. On one hand, I like the modern flare to the hotel. The lobby, though small, is homey and the staff are friendly. The rooms, however, leave me puzzled. The bathroom has no counter space for even a toothbrush, no hook to hang my travel bag, and none of the little things to make the space usable. That said, the bathroom was modern and pretty. Great showerhead. But, I wanted a door on the toilet room (concrete floors bounce noise), no water to leak out of the shower, a place to put my toiletries, and a hook for my robe. The bed is comfy (purple was a strange color for the comforter) and I like the art...but still, there are things missing to make the rooms more usable. Outlets on both sides of the bed would be nice - I want to charge my phone on my side, not his.

Not a bad place to stay. But not great.

Tip: no room service here so be prepared.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChambersNewYork, General Manager at Chambers Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Wfleet,

We are very sorry you were not thoroughly taken with Chambers and I must admit to some puzzlement: Momofuku Má Pêche provides their full menu beginning at 6:30 AM with breakfast straight through dinner, all our bathrooms have myriad hooks, we have not got purple duvets (though there is a stripe of purple on the sheet border) and we have an entire strip of outlets at the desk.

Perhaps, given you are on the fence, you will contact me directly for your next reservation and I will be delighted to meet you and find a room that exceeds your expectations.

In all events, thank you for taking your time in letting is us know your thoughts and experiences, it is very much appreciated. We very much want you to not just like but love our hotel.

Yours,

Ansell Hawkins

General Manager
Chambers Hotel
15 west 56th Street
New York, NY 10019

212 204 7710

ahawkins@chambershotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chambers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chambers Hotel

Address: 15 W 56th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#79 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#87 Business Hotel in New York City
#102 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chambers Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chambers is just off Fifth Avenue on 56th Street in the heart of midtown Manhattan and steps from the most prestigious shopping area in the world, museums and Central Park, offers a seamless fusion of uptown luxury and downtown cool. With a relaxed, attentive culture of service, Chambers is one of New York’s most alluring and chic hotels. Within its 72 rooms and 5 suites you will find an oasis of calm amid the hustle and bustle of one of the most exciting cities in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, MrandMrsSmith, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Chambers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chambers Hotel New York City
Chambers New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chambers Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.