We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be better..” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chambers Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Chambers Hotel to your Saves list
Chambers Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 W 56th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #130 of 454 Hotels in New York City
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Should be better..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Great location on 56th street gives some seclusion from the bustle outside. A good selection of Asian restaurants nearby on 56th. Front of house staff are warm and welcoming. Although i would return here, I do feel there's considerable room for improvement. The rooms are well designed but feel a little tired and could do with a refurb. Beds are comfortable. The overall ambience (relaxed and 'cool') works and the first floor lounge is extremely pleasant and good for reading and meetings.

I think the restaurant is far from comfortable and the food mediocre. There's limited selection and over priced. It feels like they ran out of budget with the sail cloth interior - cold and uninspired. Some of the (restaurant) staff are too cool for school and busy reading or doing other things (their day jobs perhaps..) which doesn't bother me too much but isn't quite in line with the price range of the place.

I had a frustrating experience asking to use the gym/fitness centre which is a couple of blocks away (not ideal). I was given a pass - had to ask for directions and then arrived only to find it was closed - had to wait 20mins in minus temperature for the doors to open! Surely someone might have thought...?

I had a good 4 night stay overall, but I suggest this hotel could be run better (it feels inconsistent) with more attention to detail and visitors. For a relatively small hotel (which I like) it feel like they should be able to provide a more personal and genuine experience, rather than rely on platitudes and cliches that you might expect at a larger chain hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChambersNewYork, General Manager at Chambers Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear McConnon,

First and foremost, I am very sorry indeed we were off our game on your visit to our selected gym. It is very annoying indeed when one is amped to get out those ya-ya's and it becomes...hurry and wait. Please accept our apologies.

I have brought your views of Ma Peche to their management team, as they are a separate entity. I would very much like to be able to have them contact you directly.

We, too, would love to have you back and demonstrate we are game on. To that end, I invite you to book with me directly and I will be delighted to handle your reservation.

Many thanks for taking your time and letting us know your observations, it is hugely appreciated.

Yours kindly,

Ansell Hawkins


General Manager
Chambers Hotel
15 west 56th Street
New York, NY 10019

212 204 7710

ahawkiins@chambershotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    110
    36
    17
    10
See reviews for
51
129
31
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I stayed couple of times in Chambers, its quiet nice, clean, simple and different. I guess the rooms need to be renovated soon, they are on the edge now. The location of this hotel is great its on 56th and the 5th ave, very good for people visiting NY for shopping! Although might not go there again. A bit overpriced

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChambersNewYork, General Manager at Chambers Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear SAZ040,

Thank you for taking your time in letting us know your thoughts.
We would like to have you as our guest every time you are in New York and I will be delighted to handle your reservation personally. To that end please contact me directly when next your travels bring you to our fair city.

Yours kindly,

Ansell Hawkins

General Manager
Chambers Hotel
15 west 56th Street
New York, NY 10019

212 204 7710

ahawkins@chambershotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Just stayed at this hotel for one night. Hotel was fine but there was only luke warm water so had a nice cool shower. When I mentioned this on checkout, I was told I should have mentioned this earlier (difficult from the shower !) and nobody else had this problem. Made me feel like I was asking for a rebate. An apology would have sufficed.
We had our office Christmas party at this hotel in 2011 and were thinking of doing the same this year but this has left a bad taste.
Seemed like a nice hotel so it's a pity that it could not the basics right.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChambersNewYork, General Manager at Chambers Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear UVIRXRAY,

I am sorry and apologize for your not having felt understood. Of course, the first words from any of our terrific staff should have been, " I am very sorry."
Knowing everyone as I do, I can surely imagine they were deeply chagrined to hear of your having not had the perfect experience we all strive to provide and their intent was only to hope being able to make your shower a glorious cavalcade of hot water, for which Chambers is renowned.

In all events, we certainly hope you will consider once again having your Winter Holidays with us and please feel free to contact me directly with any further comments or concerns you may have.

Once again, I am very sorry indeed you left Chambers feeling anything less than stellar.

Yours kindly,

Ansell Hawkins
General Manager
Chambers Hotel
15 west 56th Street
New York, NY 10019

212 204 7710

ahawkins@chambershotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is fantastic if you are wanting a helpful buzzy concierge, comfy room and amazing shower with good products!!!

The best thing for us (20 something couple with friends also staying in New York) was the staff. They reserved us tables at gorgeous reataurants and helped with bar recommendations. As this was our first trip to New York, we found that extremely helpful.

People have commented on the dark hallways, not a problem for us. From the lift to room is about 5 m! Even if it was pitch black you could find your room. It wasnt though, and we thought it added to the cool ambience of the hotel. Standard room was a good size considering how much time you spend in it and furnishings were good quality and room was clean.

Token for free drink at the bar next door was a nice touch. We went on our second day to use it (there was no limit to which drink you could order).

Overall a good choice of hotel for a trip to New York. All the big stores around the corner and central park practically on the doorstep. Oh, and quality meats (a restaurant the hotel recommended-yum!) is 5 mins walk!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ChambersNewYork, General Manager at Chambers Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear little-wrigglers,

We are thrilled you found Chambers to your liking and very pleased you utilized our fine concierges.

Thank you for your all around kind words; I will certainly share them with our entire staff. They will very much appreciate the recognition and we very much appreciate your sharing your good times with TripAdvisor.

Please let me know if I am able to be of any assistance in booking your next trip to New York and Chambers.

Yours kindly,

General Manager
Chambers Hotel
15 west 56th Street
New York, NY 10019

212 204 7710

ahawkins@chambershotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brookline, Massachusetts, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Hip but not pretentious, three blocks from MoMA and FAO Schwartz, Playstations in the stylish spacious rooms, fantastic dining and drinks at Ma Peche. (check out the Little Kings & corn whiskey happy hour). And competitively priced. We've stayed several times, and are welcomed like returning family.

Room Tip: Fitness center at nearby NY Fitness Club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChambersNewYork, General Manager at Chambers Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Hello Anthony F.

We are always delighted to have you with us.

Thanks for the shout out.

Ansell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Friendly , attentive staff , great rooms and a wonderful location . This really is a marvellous hotel for a visit to New York . A great restaurant too and a real feel for the city . The restaurant has an interesting and exciting menu -a real metropolitan feel to the place. The bar was every European feels a New York bar should be . So close to the theatres , Central Park and the museums . A great find . I would certainly go back and recommend the hotel to anyone looking for a real experience of the city and hope that it won't be too long before we're back again .

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChambersNewYork, General Manager at Chambers Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Michael R.

We are delighted you found Chambers; we love New York and are indeed very lucky to be placed smack in its center, with all Central Park as our back yard.

Please do come again and feel free to contact me directly that I may assist you with reservations and general man about town sort of things.

Thank you again for your kind words and taking the time to share them with Trip Advisor.

Yours kindly,

Ansell Hawkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slc
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Somehow this hotel manages to feel hopelessly hip and utterly friendly at the same time. Our room was lovely, quiet and dark when we needed that (we were allowed to check in early after arriving on the red-eye. ) Amazing shower. The staff was helpful and personable, and the location perfect. I hope the prices stay in my budget-I'd love to stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChambersNewYork, General Manager at Chambers Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Jennifer C,

Many thanks on your kind words and thank you, too, for sharing them.
Oh, those red-eyes!
We would love to have you again and again and again...., please let me know and I will be happy to assist you with all your arrangements.
Thank you again,

Ansell Hawkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chambers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chambers Hotel

Address: 15 W 56th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#88 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#95 Business Hotel in New York City
#170 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chambers Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chambers is just off Fifth Avenue on 56th Street in the heart of midtown Manhattan and steps from the most prestigious shopping area in the world, museums and Central Park, offers a seamless fusion of uptown luxury and downtown cool. With a relaxed, attentive culture of service, Chambers is one of New York’s most alluring and chic hotels. Within its 72 rooms and 5 suites you will find an oasis of calm amid the hustle and bustle of one of the most exciting cities in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Otel, Agoda, MrandMrsSmith, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Chambers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chambers Hotel New York City
Chambers New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chambers Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.