We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chambers Hotel

Save Saved
You added Chambers Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Chambers Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 W 56th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #111 of 449 hotels in New York City
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

If you are looking for a hotel in mid-town I would highly recommend the Chambers. The location off 5th Avenue is amazing. The doormen were great and the check-in was easy. They use real door keys which was a fun change from the plastic cards. The hotel is small with only about 10 rooms per floor. The hallway on my floor was painted in colorful sayings which was another edgy twist you do not see in many hotels. The rooms are simple but very nicely done and definitely more hip than me. The two level lobby was very comfortable and nicely decorated. The first level was great for hanging with friends before heading out to dinner and the second level worked for a small business meeting the next morning. There was a small restaurant/bar off the lobby but we went out for meals/drinks. If I was traveling with children I would probably stay at a larger hotel with more amenities but for singles or couples on a short trip to the city, the Chambers is perfect.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    180
    99
    35
    14
    9
See reviews for
42
120
25
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Just stayed at Chambers for a long weekend with my wife and friends who had their own room. The staff are a great asset to this hotel and the guys on the door are super friendly. Free drink on arrival was taken a couple of days in to our stay and was extended to champagne, cocktails or what ever your fancy. Nice touch and served by great friendly bar staff.
Room size is adequate for a major city hotel, and as other reviews have stated, the shower is excellent. The location inbetween 5th & 6th avenues on 56th is perfect. We were lucky to be there for "black friday" shopping after thanksgiving and the short walk to 5th Avenue made for a pleasurable first evening in NYC.
I would definately be re-booking for next year!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChambersNewYork, General Manager at Chambers Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Phil,
Thank you for your enthusiastic review; it is greatly appreciated. We are always delighted to show our guests what a great and friendly city New York is and to help give it a manageable handle.
Please let us know when you plan to return, you are surely welcome to contact me directly, and we will take fine care of you once again.
Kindly,
Ansell Hawkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed here for a week on our first visit to the Big Apple.

LOCATION:
The hotel is perfectly located on 56th Street between 5th and 6th Avenue and is walking distance from Central Park, the Rockefeller Centre and most of the well known shoppings stores in Manhattan. In addition, there are plenty of places to eat within a two block radius, and a few supermarkets and pharmacies thrown in for good measure. The 57th Street station (F line mtero) is about three minutes walk from the front door of the hotel and opens up the whole of Manhattan, Brooklyn and beyond if you are happy travelling by metro (which we did a lot and found very convenient and cheap).

THE ROOM:
The hotel itself is very hip. We had a corner room on a higher floor and found the room to be of a very good size. Our room was a Deluxe Queen and so had a shower but no bath. The shower is one of the best I have had anywhere in the world. Hot and very powerful,but does have a tendency to flood the bathroom as the sheer volume of water coming out of the shower overwhelms the hole draining it in the floor. Strangely we found no shower gel in the shower which we though was a bit odd. The bed and mattress are very comfortable and we had good nights sleep throughout our stay. We stayed in a few nights and found plenty to watch on the cable TV. There are lots of small quaint features in the room which make this feel more like an apartment than a hotel. For a start the doors are opened with normal metal door keys, and there is no keycard slot when you walk in to the room to activate all the electrics. The light fittings and power points are all very retro and allude to the history of this building. The desk and chair are very functional if you want to get some work done. This is aided by the complimentary WiFi which we used a lot. The views of Manhattan and the Rockefeller complex from our room was absolutely amazing, day and night, and really made us feel we were right in the thick of things.

SERVICE:
The front of desk staff are very friendly and competent, and special mention must go to Kevin who managed to secure us some tickets for Skyfall which we watched at the AMC Lincoln Centre on our last night. Thank you Kevin. The rest of the staff were equally good and our every request was tended to promptly and efficiently. We didn't use housekeeping much, but did find on one occassion that when we had left early morning and returned late afternoon the room had still not been cleaned.

FOOD:
We didn't eat at Ma Peche, the in house restaurant located on the ground and basement floors, but it seemed to be very busy most nights. I did venture down to the milkbar on the ground floor one morning. The food here is very rich and heavy, but will keep you going all day. It's mainly milkshakes and cakes/pies.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay at Chambers and felt that it was fairly good value for money for this part of Manhattan. If I had to come back to this part of New York again, then I would most defintely consider staying here again. If you are coming to New York for the first time then I would say this is a perfect location and a great hotel to consider.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChambersNewYork, General Manager at Chambers Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear im76,

Yours is a wonderfully thoughtful and straight forward review and we are very grateful for you choosing to share it with all.

I am very pleased you found Chambers and you took one of my favorite rooms; I love the corner views and can sit in the easy chair and look out at New York for hours.

Our showers are fine, too and I am certain you would enjoy our deep Japanese soaking tubs on your next visit, which we hope will be soon (we’ll have a gel soap waiting for you).

Please do let me know when next you plan a trip to New York and we can ensure you are where you want to be.

Yours kindly,

Ansell Hawkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Lots positive to report about 'Chambers' - superb location, spacious, stylish rooms and extraordinarily helpful and friendly staff. However, it falls down in a few areas. Bathrooms without plugs in the sinks (so wasteful), ill-fitting shower doors which lead to flood alerts, dilatory room-cleaning (twice we left our room mid-morning and returned late afternoon to find house-keeping hadn't visited), and a very odd, short room service menu. For the prices charged it really needs to do better.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChambersNewYork, General Manager at Chambers Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Ctephen,

Thank you kindly for all of your insight. It is so important for us to not only pat ourselves on the back for praise received, but to also address any grievances. This helps us provide the ultimate level of service.

As we know your preferences we hope to make your next stay at Chambers a great one. We have noted your profile so the water pressure will be adjusted in your room and housekeeping visits will be tailored to your specific needs. I am also happy to announce that our room service menu has grown since your last stay.

Please do contact me directly when visiting NYC. I will take care of your reservation personally.

Kindly,

Ansell Hawkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Just stayed for the second time at the Chambers Hotel in NYC. It is a boutique hotel without the attitude. The staff are wonderful. The rooms are quite spacious for New York. And I love the Red Flower bath products. Almost worth the cost of the room. Finally, you can't beat the location. It is close to everything - 5th Avenue, Times Square and subways to downtown.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChambersNewYork, General Manager at Chambers Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Bostonkeb

Thank you for returning to Chambers and for sharing your experience. Perhaps on your 3rd visit we can share our backyard with you, all 843 acres of it. There is the skating rink, Tavern on the Green is being redone, carriage rides (which sound ridiculous, but are really quite charming) or a snowy walk in the gloaming as the lights come up on the city.

I’ll let Yael of Red Flower know how much you like her products and give you directions to her store, so please let me know when next you plan a visit to New York and Chambers.

I’ll surely, too, let all the folks who make it happen know that you appreciate them.

Kindly,

Ansell Hawkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This is a very nice boutique hotel of ~65 rooms in a fabulous mid-town location a few steps off 5th Avenue -- the corner at 56th St where Harry Winston sits -- that kind of fabulous. There are no facilities outside the room and lobby and lounge but that's better than it sounds. They are connected to a small restaurant that provides room service, and all the food is unusual and well-done. The rooms have as claimed "a downtown vibe". Mine was relatively large, comfortable, quirky/fun, with a big bathroom, robes, nice bed, etc. Wifi is free. And the staff is quite outgoing, well-trained and attentive. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChambersNewYork, General Manager at Chambers Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Lyricskipper,

We are delighted you found us. Please come back soon and let me know. I’ll be certain to book you on different floors so that you will be able to see all the hall way installations

In the meantime, keep Maine in good hands.

Kindly,

Ansell Hawkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We loved this hotel. The location was great, the staff was friendly, and the best part for us was that the windows in our room opened. We loved coming back to the room for an afternoon rest with the windows open, hearing the sounds of NYC below. I would skip the hotel breakfast, though, as we were unimpressed and found it overpriced. Oh, and if you're health conscious, beware--Momofuko Milk Bar is attached to the hotel. Let's just say crack pie lives up to its name. The plus side is we brought treats home as souvenirs for family and they loved it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChambersNewYork, General Manager at Chambers Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear WDtravel

Thank you. I share your pleasure in napping to the sounds of the city and I like that when the windows are closed it all goes away.

We all agree on crack pie, too.

Just let us know when you want to stop in for your next fix.

I am happy to pass along your kind words to our terrific staff.

Yours kindly,

Ansell Hawkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chambers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chambers Hotel

Address: 15 W 56th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#74 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#89 Business Hotel in New York City
#98 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#134 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chambers Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chambers is just off Fifth Avenue on 56th Street in the heart of midtown Manhattan and steps from the most prestigious shopping area in the world, museums and Central Park, offers a seamless fusion of uptown luxury and downtown cool. With a relaxed, attentive culture of service, Chambers is one of New York’s most alluring and chic hotels. Within its 72 rooms and 5 suites you will find an oasis of calm amid the hustle and bustle of one of the most exciting cities in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Jetsetter, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Otel and Venere so you can book your Chambers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chambers Hotel New York City
Chambers New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chambers Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.