We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Across from the Americana Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 38th Street Coffee Shop Restaurant

38th Street Coffee Shop Restaurant
32 West 38th Street, New York City, NY
Improve this listing
Ranked #7,852 of 11,765 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: American, Greek
Restaurant details
taoal
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Across from the Americana Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Found this nice diner while looking for a fan for our room, vowed to come to breakfast the next morning, we did and were not disappointed at all, great service and quality food, the bread was amazing with flavor and texture, the male attended to evey need we had, even to turn of the tv that was stuck with a bad signal. He turned it off fast!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    5
    3
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ocean Grove, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“No... Just no”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

Went here for dinner and would never return.
We were the only people in the diner and no one came in the whole time we were there.
Service was horrible he wrote our order on a iPhone. When I asked for a milkshake he came me half a cup full of whipped cream and the rest milkshake. He never asked me if I wanted cream then chose to drink the remaining milkshake himself at the counter.
He has blaring hardcore metal music on the tv.
We ordered the Philly cheese steak which was dry and not tasty at all. I had the fried chicken burger with colslaw. Well it had no coleslaw at all.
Food was rubbish and overpriced for what u get . Service was poor. Would never return.
I'm honestly scard I will get food positioning after it

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mass.
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Standard deli”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We had a very reasonable breakfast. The food was very good and plentiful. Not a fancy place but the food was good and the price was excellent.

Highly recommend!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Clean & quiet, but that's it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

You figure you cannot go wrong with a place that serves breakfast all day, but you can. While the place is very clean and quiet, both our meals were cold when served.

The place was not crowded, because we were there at an off time. While waiting for our food, we saw a family walk out/not order food.

If you are looking for a fast snack or breakfast, I would try the food court at the Manhattan Mall or Penn Station, money better spent and lots of choices.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Little gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Found this diner hidden away after recommended by a new yorker. Food great at a good price and also very clean. Lots of choice from the healthy to not so healthy. Would thoroughly recommend.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 38th Street Coffee Shop Restaurant also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to 38th Street Coffee Shop Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 38th Street Coffee Shop Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.