We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sumptuous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flatiron Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Flatiron Hotel to your Saves list
Flatiron Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 West 26th Street, New York City, NY 10010   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #238 of 456 Hotels in New York City
1 review
“Sumptuous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

My business was cut short here on this trip and the worst part about it was having to leave this hotel. First of all the staff are all brilliant. Naturally chivalrous without being sickly and will bend over backwards and sideways to make you feel comfortable. Crystal, the manager and Director of Operations runs a tight ship and sets a brilliant example, she's superb. The receptionists are wonderful making you feel at home on arrival too. All the rooms are differently designed and are different shapes and sizes and all the beds are too, but are incredibly comfy. There's just such a lovely vibe about the place and it's such a super location, close to mid-town for business yet not far from downtown which is more my area. Its got music and different artists performing every night but if I didn't want that, it was unheard where I was on 10th floor. I would say it is more suited to maturer young people. It is stylish in design and you can see it's been carefully thought out. They behave like they are operating as a 5 star big chain hotel, yet in fact it's got a unique boutique feel. Loved it, dying to go back.

Room Tip: If you don't want to hear the music it might be best to try to get a room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    161
    67
    26
    22
See reviews for
91
116
20
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

We loved this hotel! The staff went out of their way to make us welcome. The room was contemporary, clean and charming. We loved the gadgets and it was quiet and comfortable. Very reasonable price for terrific location. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

The NoMad area is up and coming and close to many subway lines. If you book here, get a room on a higher floor - as others have suggested. The bar area has theme nights Monday through Saturday, and the room windows won't protect you from the noise. The common areas were not clean. A good sweep and mop of the elevators would have gone a long way. The pillows and bed accessories smelled and needed to be replaced. Toothpaste on the bathroom door. The bed was sloppily made with laundered but stained sheets. The shower was tiny and needed a scrub down - the grouting was black.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrystalCorrea, Director of Operations at Flatiron Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for choosing the Flatiron Hotel for your recent accommodations in New York. My sincerest apologies that the hotel failed to meet your expectations. We appreciate your feedback and will use the criticism to enhance our future guest experiences. If you wish to return to the hotel and give us a chance to change your opinion please reach out to me personally and I will ensure that your stay is enjoyable.

Sincerely,

Crystal Correa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

I got a great deal on the room for a girls weekend in NYC. The hotel is very nice, well located and the staff were so helpful and service-oriented (HI ANTONIO!). The room decor was really pretty with many cool gadgets in the rooms, like auto open curtains and a tv screen in the bathroom mirror! The beds were amazing, the most comfortable I've ever slept on! The rug in our room was kind of dirty, but everything else was great.

I would stay here again, with one warning: the rooms with two beds are on the third floor, which is directly above the night club/disco. They go until 2 a.m. on weekends. They did bring us earplugs, but you may want to get a room on a higher floor. Also, the restaurant is not open on weekends, which is no problem with so many great places nearby.

Room Tip: Don't book the third floor unless you can sleep with a groovy beat going until all hours - midni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrystalCorrea, Director of Operations at Flatiron Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Idp409,

Thank you for choosing the Flatiron Hotel for your recent trip to NYC. I am pleased that you enjoyed the features of the hotel in which we take great pride. Our staff strives to create a memorable guest experience and I am glad that it was achieved for yourself and friends. If you decide to return, please contact us with any special requests and we will be more than happy to accommodate you. We hope to welcome you back to the Flatiron Hotel again soon.

Sincerely,

Crystal Correa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

On our girls trip to New York, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Flat Iron Hotel. Staff were friendly, particularly the doormen. They were alway helpful in giving advice, had a good sense of humour and welcomed us with a smile in returning to the hotel each day. The reception and bar area are quite unique with the large fish tank and modern design. The only thing I would say was that the design and colour scheme of the rooms didn't seem to quite seem to fit with that of the public areas of the hotel. This, however, is just a comment and didn't impact on any part of our stay. We had everything we needed and liked the area and facilities around the hotel as well. We would recommend this to others looking for somewhere to stay in this district.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

Room was small but clean and new. Hotel is conveniently located to everything yet area feels very neighborhoody. The lobby and lounge was very nice. The staff was wonderful - went above and beyond. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

The Flatiron Hotel is in a great location and excellent value for money. The staff are particularly helpful and the bed is extremely comfortable. This will now be my hotel of choice in lower Manhattan.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Flatiron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flatiron Hotel

Address: 9 West 26th Street, New York City, NY 10010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #238 of 456 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Flatiron Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Flatiron Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flatiron Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.