We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Flatiron Hotel

Save Saved
You added Flatiron Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Flatiron Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 West 26th Street, New York City, NY 10010   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #223 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Orlando, Florida, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Honestly, the hotel has "charm" but the owner does not know how to run a hotel. There is live music every night (which -cool-) but they fail to tell you at check in that the band plays until 2am in the morning. My husband and I were on the 4th floor right in front of the elevator, and it was bad enough we could here the band through the floor, but then every time the elevator opened, it felt like we were sitting right in "the living room". We complained about the noise and they offered to change our room but would be unable to move us until the following day because they were "booked to capacity". The next night we met Toshi -the owner- and instead of acting like a professional he was galavanting around the lounge with his dog in one hand and a martini in the other. We were appalled by this behavior. We completely understood why the lounge was so loud at that point - because the man just wants to party!! Needless to say we will not be returning to the flatiron hotel. The whole idea of the place disgusts me. There is no consideration for the guest. And you can see it in the employees faces, they want to help but they CAN'T HEAR YOU!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    160
    63
    22
    22
See reviews for
89
113
20
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Powell Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Our night at the Flatiron Hotel in August 2013 was awesome! We lucked into a last minute reservation there and ended up paying a fraction of the regularly advertised price. We didn't know what to expect. From the beautiful two story fish tank and opulent nightclub just off the lobby to the elegent room upstairs, this place was fun! Yes, you could hear the band in the nightclub until the wee hours of the evening and yes, you could hear the rumble of the subway beneath the building. But as someone who hates quiet, this was the place to be. My husband and adult son loved the t.v. in the bathroom mirror and the big screen t.v. in the room. Fun features included a doorbell in each room, a jacuzzi tub and automatic drapes. We loved having a drink in the nightclub and listening to the band. However, beware, there is a $40 minimum in the club and it is assessed in later hours when the club is full. I would not recommend this hotel to families with children under the age of 21 as the real attractions are things that can really only be appreciated by adults. The hotel is pet friendly. Actually, there is a dog that serves as mascot for the hotel and it is often on site.

Room Tip: No swimming pool. Not good for kids. Avoid this hotel if you like peace and quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Great location for hotel Flatiron in new York, 3 blocks from mack's, 6 blocks from soho

great hotel with the nicest staff, highly recommended for stay in ny

rooms are small but very comfortable, lots of amenities especially TV in mirror in bathroom

Room Tip: Ask for rooms as high up as possible as during weekend lobby is a club with live band can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The Flatiron positions itself as a boutique hotel. We stayed in a queen room on the 10th floor which was comfortable but compact. Although we stayed six nights, we didn't really see or hear from any of the staff. The front-of-house was pretty absent. The website made a big deal of the rooftop terrace and bar with views of the Empire State Building, so it was a bit of a disappointment to find that was not open to guests, only private hire.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This hotel is ideally situated if you want to visit NY city. Our room was on the 10th floor and it was great, really big and comfortable. The staff is friendly. We would certainly consider going there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schweiz
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

My fiance and I (29 and 30 years old) stayed at the flatiron hotel in August 2013. We stayed for 4 nights. Our rooms were on the 10th floor.
The rooms were very clean and the beds very compfortable. The staff were friendly. We had no complaints.
I give this hotel 5 points because for a 4 star hotel in New york I found that the rooms were big enough, it was very clean, and the whole "experience" was nice. Furthermore, since we booked via hotwire.com, the prices were also great.
The area we stayed at was quite central, without being overflowed with tourists right in front of the hotel (as in comparison to hotel right at times square).
There is also a roof top bar about 3 minutes away from the hotel which was amazing.

Room Tip: there is a band that plays every night until midnight. since our room was on 10th floor we did not h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This is not a Hotel, It's a Night club disguised as a Hotel. We stayed there four nights in August and were put on the fourth floor. The music from the restaurant is so loud at night that you'll never get a good nights sleep. They brought us the last pair of earplugs left at the front desk but to no avail it was still noisy. We were finally moved to the sixth floor. The band that night must of been even louder because again we had another sleepless night. The employees were very apologetic but there is no way to resolve this situation because the hotel lobby isn't big enough to be separated from the restaurant and the rocking music. I have no idea why tripadvisor gave this place great reviews, it was our families worst nightmare!!!

Room Tip: I can't imagine there is a quiet room anywhere in the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Flatiron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flatiron Hotel

Address: 9 West 26th Street, New York City, NY 10010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #223 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Flatiron Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Flatiron Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flatiron Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;