We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideally situated” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flatiron Hotel

Save Saved
You added Flatiron Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Flatiron Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 West 26th Street, New York City, NY 10010   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #226 of 452 hotels in New York City
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Ideally situated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This hotel is ideally situated if you want to visit NY city. Our room was on the 10th floor and it was great, really big and comfortable. The staff is friendly. We would certainly consider going there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    192
    158
    63
    21
    22
See reviews for
89
111
19
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Schweiz
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

My fiance and I (29 and 30 years old) stayed at the flatiron hotel in August 2013. We stayed for 4 nights. Our rooms were on the 10th floor.
The rooms were very clean and the beds very compfortable. The staff were friendly. We had no complaints.
I give this hotel 5 points because for a 4 star hotel in New york I found that the rooms were big enough, it was very clean, and the whole "experience" was nice. Furthermore, since we booked via hotwire.com, the prices were also great.
The area we stayed at was quite central, without being overflowed with tourists right in front of the hotel (as in comparison to hotel right at times square).
There is also a roof top bar about 3 minutes away from the hotel which was amazing.

Room Tip: there is a band that plays every night until midnight. since our room was on 10th floor we did not h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This is not a Hotel, It's a Night club disguised as a Hotel. We stayed there four nights in August and were put on the fourth floor. The music from the restaurant is so loud at night that you'll never get a good nights sleep. They brought us the last pair of earplugs left at the front desk but to no avail it was still noisy. We were finally moved to the sixth floor. The band that night must of been even louder because again we had another sleepless night. The employees were very apologetic but there is no way to resolve this situation because the hotel lobby isn't big enough to be separated from the restaurant and the rocking music. I have no idea why tripadvisor gave this place great reviews, it was our families worst nightmare!!!

Room Tip: I can't imagine there is a quiet room anywhere in the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We found an excellent deal for Flatiron Hotel and for being very central, the price was fantastic. Nothing standout or special as far as character and atmosphere but comfortable and was what we needed for our last night in the city.
Room and bathroom was spacious, interesting that there was a tv in the mirror of the bathroom. Excellent location next to the NRW train, super easy access to Soho and East Village.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Room was comfortable, though small, with lots of gizmos and gadgets. They included a TV in the bathroom mirror, a deluxe shower with shower heads coming at you from all angles (learning curve here), electronic maid service sign, and electric curtains.
Location in Chelsea District is great. A brand new full grocery store with reasonable prices is within a block. Subways aren't too far away. Within walking distance of Penn Station.
The two annoying negatives: no ice machine, so ice has to be ordered from the front desk & delivered to your room. I hate tipping for something like that. Also, it can all take way too much time. I tried for a half hour to get through to the front desk & finally gave up. The next time I approached the front desk in person & ice was delivered about a half hour later - way slow. Second negative: maid did not replenish the in-room coffee. Unfortunately, I didn't notice this until the next morning at 5am when I got up to catch the train. Very sad :-(
They have a nice bar off the lobby with live music & dancing if you're interested in that sort of thing - I used to be in younger days.
My wife & I really like this hotel. We've stayed here twice & will stay here again, but they're a little short of perfect on the small but important things.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great location, reasonable rates. The rooms are on the small side, but they are clean and comfortable. Friendly staff. We spent a long weekend visiting family in the neighborhood and this hotel was perfect. Close to Flatiron Building and Madison Square Park.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise from street and nightclub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

1. Hotel is located in a good area for restaurants and accessing the rest of the City.
2. Do not stay on the 3rd floor unless you want to hear the band all night
3. Hotel is in need of remodel, the rooms and public spaces are looking a bit tired.
4. Bed was comfortable and linens were good.
5. Alas hotels are now figuring out people hate paying for wifi and the Flatiron wifi is inclusive in your rate.
6. If the rate was below $200 I would stay here again, otherwise it is not worth the $

Room Tip: Don't stay on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Flatiron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flatiron Hotel

Address: 9 West 26th Street, New York City, NY 10010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #226 of 452 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Flatiron Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Flatiron Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flatiron Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.