We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Flatiron Hotel

Save Saved
You added Flatiron Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Flatiron Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 West 26th Street, New York City, NY 10010   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #215 of 446 hotels in New York City
Santa Monica, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great for the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We found an excellent deal for Flatiron Hotel and for being very central, the price was fantastic. Nothing standout or special as far as character and atmosphere but comfortable and was what we needed for our last night in the city.
Room and bathroom was spacious, interesting that there was a tv in the mirror of the bathroom. Excellent location next to the NRW train, super easy access to Soho and East Village.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    170
    141
    59
    19
    19
See reviews for
81
104
19
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Room was comfortable, though small, with lots of gizmos and gadgets. They included a TV in the bathroom mirror, a deluxe shower with shower heads coming at you from all angles (learning curve here), electronic maid service sign, and electric curtains.
Location in Chelsea District is great. A brand new full grocery store with reasonable prices is within a block. Subways aren't too far away. Within walking distance of Penn Station.
The two annoying negatives: no ice machine, so ice has to be ordered from the front desk & delivered to your room. I hate tipping for something like that. Also, it can all take way too much time. I tried for a half hour to get through to the front desk & finally gave up. The next time I approached the front desk in person & ice was delivered about a half hour later - way slow. Second negative: maid did not replenish the in-room coffee. Unfortunately, I didn't notice this until the next morning at 5am when I got up to catch the train. Very sad :-(
They have a nice bar off the lobby with live music & dancing if you're interested in that sort of thing - I used to be in younger days.
My wife & I really like this hotel. We've stayed here twice & will stay here again, but they're a little short of perfect on the small but important things.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great location, reasonable rates. The rooms are on the small side, but they are clean and comfortable. Friendly staff. We spent a long weekend visiting family in the neighborhood and this hotel was perfect. Close to Flatiron Building and Madison Square Park.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise from street and nightclub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

1. Hotel is located in a good area for restaurants and accessing the rest of the City.
2. Do not stay on the 3rd floor unless you want to hear the band all night
3. Hotel is in need of remodel, the rooms and public spaces are looking a bit tired.
4. Bed was comfortable and linens were good.
5. Alas hotels are now figuring out people hate paying for wifi and the Flatiron wifi is inclusive in your rate.
6. If the rate was below $200 I would stay here again, otherwise it is not worth the $

Room Tip: Don't stay on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Our family of 4 spent the weekend in NYC and had a greatbexperience staying at the Flatiron. Staff were helpful and friendly, room was perfect as we're the views. Will be back for sure. Within walking distance of Eataly food gormat shop and Madison Park close by for the children to play in. There are a couple typical diners around for breakfast as well so location is good

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

This was a wonderful hotel! What a great location and excellent staff and service. We enjoyed the downstairs bar and entertainment. We didn't find it noisy at all! Loved our room and would definitely choose the flatiron hotel again!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

This is an awesome hotel located just off Broadway. The rooms are incredible and super tech savy. When you walk in you are graced by oversized windows that allow a bright and luxurious room. Some other features include Wifi, an LCD TV, and an iPod charger/dock. This hotel has by far one of the coolest bathroom's I have ever been in...it has amenities like Swiss rainfall showers or Jacuzzi bathtubs and televisions in the bathroom mirror! How awesome is that!

I also highly recommend Toshi's Livingroom for meals. The food is really great with a great variety of cocktails and entertainment. Live music starts as early as 6 pm every night. I suggest this hotel for anyone looking for a fun time in New York City!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Flatiron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flatiron Hotel

Address: 9 West 26th Street, New York City, NY 10010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #215 of 446 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Flatiron Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Amex, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Flatiron Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flatiron Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.