We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good NYC Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flatiron Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Flatiron Hotel to your Saves list
Flatiron Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 West 26th Street, New York City, NY 10010   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #262 of 455 Hotels in New York City
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good NYC Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great location, reasonable rates. The rooms are on the small side, but they are clean and comfortable. Friendly staff. We spent a long weekend visiting family in the neighborhood and this hotel was perfect. Close to Flatiron Building and Madison Square Park.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise from street and nightclub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    166
    69
    29
    24
See reviews for
92
118
21
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

1. Hotel is located in a good area for restaurants and accessing the rest of the City.
2. Do not stay on the 3rd floor unless you want to hear the band all night
3. Hotel is in need of remodel, the rooms and public spaces are looking a bit tired.
4. Bed was comfortable and linens were good.
5. Alas hotels are now figuring out people hate paying for wifi and the Flatiron wifi is inclusive in your rate.
6. If the rate was below $200 I would stay here again, otherwise it is not worth the $

Room Tip: Don't stay on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Our family of 4 spent the weekend in NYC and had a greatbexperience staying at the Flatiron. Staff were helpful and friendly, room was perfect as we're the views. Will be back for sure. Within walking distance of Eataly food gormat shop and Madison Park close by for the children to play in. There are a couple typical diners around for breakfast as well so location is good

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

This was a wonderful hotel! What a great location and excellent staff and service. We enjoyed the downstairs bar and entertainment. We didn't find it noisy at all! Loved our room and would definitely choose the flatiron hotel again!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

This is an awesome hotel located just off Broadway. The rooms are incredible and super tech savy. When you walk in you are graced by oversized windows that allow a bright and luxurious room. Some other features include Wifi, an LCD TV, and an iPod charger/dock. This hotel has by far one of the coolest bathroom's I have ever been in...it has amenities like Swiss rainfall showers or Jacuzzi bathtubs and televisions in the bathroom mirror! How awesome is that!

I also highly recommend Toshi's Livingroom for meals. The food is really great with a great variety of cocktails and entertainment. Live music starts as early as 6 pm every night. I suggest this hotel for anyone looking for a fun time in New York City!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I liked this hotel, it was clean, brilliantly located and had wonderfully friendly staff. The décor was very good and the beds fantastically comfy. The owner Toshi has a concept of this hotel which is that it should be a centre of creativity in the area. However, this leads to bands playing every night which to be honest just got annoying, its all well and good a couple of nights a week but c'mon six! Also the bar did not open until 5pm which is not really brilliant after you've hoofed it around in 100 degree heat all day! The bar menu is severely limited. All in all the experience was pleasant but for what we paid we should not have to ask for a high level room and should not be made to feel that the lobby was basically out of bounds if we didn't want to be deafened. Its a good job there are three nice bars within easy walking distance.

Also, Mr Flatiron Hotel, please do not advertise so heavily around the rooftop terrace that isn't open to "normal" residents like us, only the fancy in crowd who get invited to parties. Its a good job trip advisor had pre-warned us or I would have been annoyed about that after the website does not really mention that fact, but does cover itself in lovely pictures of rooftop terraces.

In essence, if Toshi wants to run a hip music bar he should, but this is a hotel!

Room Tip: Specifically request a high level room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

I wanted to like this hotel-the location is great, the rooms are big by NY standards. But I arrived very early with 2 kids, left my bags, and was told I'd be called when a room was ready. No call. Finally we came back to the hotel around 6:30 pm and they put us in a room on the 3rd floor, directly above the band in the club Toshi's, downstairs. When you sit on the bed you can feel the pulse of the music below. Said they didn't have any other rooms, but that the music would stop at 2:30 am. Receptionist asked if we were going out? I looked at my kids and then looked back at her. All she said was "there's nothing I can do." It's REALLY not fair to put little kids in this room.
Also, the TV didn't work (although someone came to fix it), I had to climb on the toilet to fix the drapes so that kids weren't using the toilet with all of Broadway watching, there's free wifi but it is truly impossible to get a connection, and the bathtub drain won't hold water. The windows are lovely, looking out onto Broadway, that's one positive and it's pretty clean. But the noise level is truly outrageous. They have no business renting this room as a place for a people to sleep (and they know it).

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Flatiron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flatiron Hotel

Address: 9 West 26th Street, New York City, NY 10010
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #262 of 455 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Flatiron Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Flatiron Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flatiron Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.