We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flatiron Hotel was a wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flatiron Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Flatiron Hotel to your Saves list
Flatiron Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 West 26th Street, New York City, NY 10010   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #260 of 455 Hotels in New York City
Providence RI
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Flatiron Hotel was a wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed at the Flatiron on July 6, 2013. The room was clean and coooool(thankfully because there was a heatwave that weekend) The staff was friendly and helpful. Reginald at the frontdesk
and Joe the doorman were exceptional people. Would stay there again. It was a great experience.

Room Tip: Get a room above the 3rd floor if its a Saturday, they have live bands in the lounge on the lobby fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    166
    69
    29
    24
See reviews for
92
118
21
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
China
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

The Flatiron is a jewel in Chelsea. The rooms were spacious, by Manhattan standards, uniquely designed and clean. We were on the 5th floor and not at all disrupted by the club in the lobby. Which by the way, was a cool venue, fun bands and a great entertainment at your doorstep, if you so choose. The staff was super friendly. We were able to get into our room at noon, upon check-in. The bellhop was great at getting us taxis when needed. There is a Starbucks directly across the street. The Eataly (fantastic fresh/market food) was 2 blocks away. A must stop!! The shower was amazing with 8 jets. Also a tv in the mirror in the bathroom. Not your ordinary room...which is a good thing!!

Room Tip: Do ask for a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

I liked the area of town a lot. The hotel employees couldn't have been nicer. Stayed in room 806. The room has a lot of positives: the bed, windows (three large ones), bathroom with tv in mirror, cool "power" drapes. I guess the employees were the thing I liked the best. They were nice and helpful. Negatives; no restaurant, and the lobby kind of was non existent. Overall, a good experience and I'd go there again.

Room Tip: My room was on the 8th floor and it worked for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a family room at the hotel. Very comfortable and great facilities, including free wifi. Very friendly and helpful staff too. Only downside was the noisy a/c unit in our room. No room service, but the 'grub hub' online delivery service recommended by the front desk was a good alternative.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Flatiron Hotel for our first visit to NYC, and it was snazzy enough to make me feel like the Country Mouse visiting the City Mouse.

"Gee wiz, Country Honey! They've got TVs in them thar mirrors. Press this button and the curtains 'll open over yonder. And have you ever seen eight showerheads in yer life?"

I do declare.

The room was small (I hear that's typical in the city) but very well-appointed and immaculately clean. It had the feel of a boutique hotel, with a spiral staircase winding around a cool two-story fish tank in the lobby.

The ground floor turns into a club on weekend nights, so be prepared for booming music on the lower floors. We couldn't hear it from our fifth-floor room on a Friday night.

It was a good location for seeing all the touristy sites in New York. It's very close to the Flatiron Building, that Mecca for photography nerds who want to make black-and-white posters of city architecture. It's convenient to several subway lines ... but honestly, where can you go in Manhattan that isn't?

We felt safe in the neighborhood after midnight, which is a testament to either Manhattan's safety or the naivety of us Country Mice.

I liked the hotel and would recommend it to anyone wanting to gawk at their city cousins.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor on the weekends, unless you like sleeping to the sounds of booming club music fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Updated rooms, not huge, but average for the city. Band was great in the lobby but one in our party could hear the music playing til very late. We were on the 8th. Tv in mirror was great. Clean rooms with a great staff. Devin helped us with everything we could ask for and more. Kids loved the fish tank.

Room Tip: Corner suite provided great views of park and Empire State Building. There is no pool or kids activi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here between 3-8 of July. We had a great stay! The staff was friendly and serviceminded. The room was clean and spacious (broadway classic room).

The location was great! Right on Brodway, relatively close to Times Square and shopping. Just a few blocks from the amazing High line and a few blocks away from Empire state building. With a Subway station just around the corner made it easy to go anywhere.

Real restaurants though we found it hard to find. Several starbucks ans 7-elevens close by. But if you fancy a burger I'll recommend you to go to the Shake shack in madison square park. Lovely place!

When it comes yo noise you can hear the traffic outside pretty well (we lived on the 9th floor) but it didn't bother us that much. I got more bothered of the noisy air conditioner which turned on every 10-15 minutes :/ woke me up several times every night.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Flatiron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flatiron Hotel

Address: 9 West 26th Street, New York City, NY 10010
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #260 of 455 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Flatiron Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Flatiron Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flatiron Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.