We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flatiron Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Flatiron Hotel to your Saves list
Flatiron Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 West 26th Street, New York City, NY 10010   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #263 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Location, location, location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Updated rooms, not huge, but average for the city. Band was great in the lobby but one in our party could hear the music playing til very late. We were on the 8th. Tv in mirror was great. Clean rooms with a great staff. Devin helped us with everything we could ask for and more. Kids loved the fish tank.

Room Tip: Corner suite provided great views of park and Empire State Building. There is no pool or kids activi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    166
    69
    30
    24
See reviews for
93
118
21
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here between 3-8 of July. We had a great stay! The staff was friendly and serviceminded. The room was clean and spacious (broadway classic room).

The location was great! Right on Brodway, relatively close to Times Square and shopping. Just a few blocks from the amazing High line and a few blocks away from Empire state building. With a Subway station just around the corner made it easy to go anywhere.

Real restaurants though we found it hard to find. Several starbucks ans 7-elevens close by. But if you fancy a burger I'll recommend you to go to the Shake shack in madison square park. Lovely place!

When it comes yo noise you can hear the traffic outside pretty well (we lived on the 9th floor) but it didn't bother us that much. I got more bothered of the noisy air conditioner which turned on every 10-15 minutes :/ woke me up several times every night.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Not without a few hitches but, the staff the front desk did there best to make our stay enjoyable. Every staff member we encountered was incredibly friendly and professional, but Samantha and Joe really stood out. Rooms are clean and beds comfortable. As others have mentioned there is live music in the lobby and it is loud, my family stayed on the 5th and 6th floors and no one heard a thing from their rooms (so don't let that deter you). Location is great, easy access to several subway lines and lots of great shops and restaurants within blocks, including Eataly. If you get in and want an easy no wait dinner--Hill Country Fried Chicken a block away is amazing!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The hotel seemed to be recently refurbished and to a high standard throughout with very friendly and helpful staff who were attentive when we checked in and throughout our 2 night stay.

THe room was well appointed with comfy beds, wifi, iPod docks, flat screen TV etc with a very modern shower room albeit with slightly disappointing water pressure but then we were on floor 7.

As noted on other reviews, the bar area is extremely loud with live music (good quality music though) playing throughout the evening and nights when we were staying which was a weekend. We'd read the reviews before booking a requested a high floor to avoid the noise in the room itself and we had absolutely no problems at all.

All in all, although New York in general is a complete ripoff for hotels, the Flatiron provided us with a good value stay (relative to the surrounding areas) in a modern, sleek hotel which had a great atmosphere, especially in the evenings and nights and we would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Okay...first the good. In fact, the great. The location of this hotel is excellent, right off of Broadway and Fifth Avenue and across the street from a lovely park and even better was every single person we met there. The staff went out of their way to be helpful and friendly and made us feel very comfortable and welcome. Beyond the staff, New York City opened its arms to us...or at least it felt that way. Across the street from the hotel is "My Place Deli" and the people there were absolutely amazing...so helpful, friendly and even stayed open late the night we got in (horrible weather, cancelled flights) to make us sandwiches.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone in their 20's, 30's and maybe even 40's...I am 57 and my husband is 65 and we and not old fogeys...but we do like our peace when we get back to home base on trips. I had read the comments about noise and requested a room away from it all. The staff placed us in room 905 which was great...we could not hear the band at all up there. But you should be forewarned...the lobby where you walk into the hotel is actually part of the bar with a very lively, live (and loud) band right there. When we first got in (around midnight on a Thursday, having left our Tucson home at 5am that morning) we had to shout to be heard over the music there in the lobby. Again, the people were so nice and helpful, it wasn't a huge problem but it was a bit jarring and unexpected.

The idea of a band Monday through Saturday nights appealed to us, we just didn't think it would be right in the entrance and part of the lobby. Also, from the pictures on the website, I was very excited to sit up on the rooftop and have dinner and drinks but turns out the rooftop is only for private parties. Again, the staff were so nice and willing to take the time to show it to us, but we couldn't actually relax up there. There is a rooftop bar just a block or two away on 5th Avenue though so all was not lost. The room was very small (we got the queen size) but well appointed and the t.v. embedded ghost-like in the bathroom mirror is an interesting novelty.

This is really a fantastic property, just a little on the high energy side for us but we highly recommend it if you are not put off by the entry bar.

Room Tip: The corner rooms looked a bit bigger...ours was really a tight fit. Make the staff aware that you wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Our stay at the Flatiron was wonderful! The staff was very courteous and accommodating, especially Samantha and Devin! Room was very clean and comfortable. Loved the tempur-pedic mattress!
Location is close to lots of restaurants and bars, including the Shake Shack and the 40/40 Club. Shopping just a few block south on 5th Ave.
The bar connected to the lobby has live music most nights and a very lively crowd! We stayed on the 9th floor, so noise wasn't a major issue for us. You can hear the rumbling of the subway, but you are going to get that most anywhere in the city and it's part of the NYC experience!
Overall, great trip and will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I came into town for a long weekend with my wife and we couldn't picked a better place. The locations is excellent for New York, plenty of places to go with in walking distance and the subway stations are only a few blocks away. The service at the hotel is excellent, Devon and Sam was very helpful and provided great assistance. I can truly say that this place is a untouched gem!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Flatiron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flatiron Hotel

Address: 9 West 26th Street, New York City, NY 10010
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #263 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Flatiron Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Flatiron Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flatiron Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.