We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at Flatiron” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flatiron Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Flatiron Hotel to your Saves list
Flatiron Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 West 26th Street, New York City, NY 10010   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #261 of 459 Hotels in New York City
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great stay at Flatiron”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed one recent Friday night at The Flatiron and would recommend this hotel to others and would stay there again ourselves. The location is great on 26th Street, just off of Fifth - a short walk to Eataly, Madison Park w/Shake Shack, Flatiron Building, Union Square Farmer's Market and walk down Fifth to Greenwich Village, Soho, etc. The front desk staff were friendly and made a point of saying hello and "Welcome back" when we returned from being out. Having stayed in many hotels - this level of friendliness stood out. The lobby shares its space with a lounge that has singers/bands at night - so one returns to a very loud performance and nightclub atmosphere going on..at least on the Friday night we were there! So - not sure if that's everyone's cup of tea. That wouldn't be our first choice to have in a hotel lobby...would be nice if it were a little more separated from the lobby - or if the volume of the microphone wasn't as ear-splitting (!) But our room was great - large enough w/king size bed, great bathroom (small, yes...but well designed with dark grey marble, seamless glass shower doors and fabulous multi-jet shower)..flatscreen tv in room and tv inset into bathroom mirror, large floor to ceiling window serves as one wall of the room overlooking 26th Street w/automatic curtains...we were happy to be on the 6th floor and at the far end (away from 5th Ave) for a quieter sleep. Definitely ask to be in a room far above from the performance area of the lobby. The fan in the room served somewhat as white noise, so we didn't wake up to hear trucks/ street noise in the middle of the night. Rooms felt new/clean/tastefully decorated. Surprisingly reasonable price for a hotel in a great location with comfortable room that felt fresh/clean/modern with very comfortable bed/bedding too. A great find.

Room Tip: Suggest a higher floor and at end of hall away from Fifth Ave for quieter sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lance H, General Manager at Flatiron Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear HKA111,

Thank you for sharing your experiences at our hotel. We appreciate your feedback. Our guest’s reviews are a good barometer for what we are doing well, where we need to devote our attention and for giving others who are considering staying with us a preview of their visit. Thank you for your kinds words about the staff. At the Flatiron, we have a great team and they have great leaders who understand the importance of treating you like a guest in their own home. I appreciate your acknowledgement. Our housekeeping team works very hard and your comments about the cleanliness will be encouraging.

Thank you for outlining our great location; I could not have summed it up better! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards,

Lance Herman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    166
    69
    30
    24
See reviews for
93
118
21
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
rosaritobeach
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This was a great hotel.

Location: only 2 blocks from Gramercy Square. Hence the name, as the Flatiron building is on the square. It was great to check out Mario Batali's italian market and cluster of mini restaurants, named Eatery. Eatery is also located on Gramercy square. (I will give a separate, more detailed review on this.) If you are a walker, and just have an overnight bag, you can walk from Penn Station. If you need a cab, it was only about $10. Long Island Railroad to/ from Penn Station is the most direct, straight forward way to transfer from airport to city.

Room itself: Tasteful, and well selected details. According to my friend, who is an actress and goes to the city often, the rooms are more spacious than other downtown locations. She invited me to join her on this trek, and we had two beds in the room. Since I did not take care of making the reservations, etc..... cannot really speak to other comments about one bed not being available.

Bathroom: The bathroom was uber cool. The shower had a set up that had 4 shower heads that came out of the side, and then another giant sunflower shower head. And the mirror in the bathroom had a TV built into it. It was really cool. And the towels were thick and soft.

Service: We had some hours after check out before we left for the airport. The hotel was gracious and stored our bags. The cost was $1 per bag to store. When the time came, they helped us get our bags loaded into a taxi and off we went.

Overall, I very much enjoyed this hotel's room, the service of the staff, and the location.

Room Tip: we stayed on the 26th street side. and i like it because i could look out and see the action of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lance H, General Manager at Flatiron Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear rosaritobeach,

Thank you for sharing your experiences at our hotel. Many hotels in New York have a great location, well-appointed rooms, service-centric staff and a good value. We feel the Flatiron is one of only a handful that can boost all four! Your experiences echo many others and it is gratify to read.

Best regards,

Lance Herman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south africa
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Stayed at the Flatiron on a deal from priceline. The rate was very good and the hotel is quite vibey in a lovely area. The room was tiny, but i guess most NYC rooms are. The bed is pretty small too but very very comfy. The hotel is quite new and has nice modern features like tv screen in the bathroom mirror, free wifi throughout the hotel, rain shower and electric curtains ect.
The staff are all very friendly and helpful and always offer to assist you when they see you in the lobby.
My main complaint was cleaning staff. The room was pretty clean however it was only cleaned late afternoon and the passages were vacuumed at 5pm in the afternoon. So forget about afternoon naps!

Room Tip: The bar in the hotel can be very noisy so request a room higher up
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lance H, General Manager at Flatiron Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear leighdermick,

Thank you for sharing your recent stay experiences. We're glad you found the bed comfortable and the room amenities enjoyable. Because of the shape of our building, there are variations in room size. Sorry you had a smaller one.

While I am glad you found the housekeeping team did a good job, I know the timing can be tricky. When you return, let us know your plans. We are happy to clean around your schedule!

Best regards,

Lance Herman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We got this hotel from Hotwire. We were a little surprised when we learned the bed would be a full-size mattress and not something bigger, but that's what you get when you gamble on a boutique hotel. Other reviews have complained about noise, but we were on the 5th floor and weren't really bothered by it much--you hear some car honks and the underground subway, but hey, it's the big city. The automated curtains were cool; there was a receiver tucked away in the room's desk so you could play music in surround sound; a closet unit to hang clothes in next to the fluffy bathrobes; expensive snacks, if you so choose; iron and ironing board; iHome clock; hairdryer; coffee pot; TV in the small shower room (no tub); another TV mounted above the desk, and an extra chair to sit in by the bed. The bed size ended up being not a problem after all. The shower had many water heads on it, so that was really cool. They do not have rollaways because the rooms are small, so if you have more than 2 people or have adult family members or friends of the opposite sex, be sure to see if they have a two bed option before booking. I would not hesitate to stay in this hotel again, as it's location was really convenient to a lot of touristy things to do around Broadway and Times Square. The subway is nearby, so it's easy to hop on and off of it if you get tired of walking so much. The staff was very friendly and accommodating.

Room Tip: There is a variety of live entertainment almost every night, so ask for a room on a higher floor if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lance H, General Manager at Flatiron Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear urchie10,

Thank you for your recent review of your stay here. Your descriptions were very comprehensive, thank you. Our rainwater showers are very popular. With a larger shower head above and six (6) jets facing you, we get many positive comments. In addition to the room you stayed in, we have larger rooms featuring king sized beds. Our corner suite has two queen sized, a rarity in boutique hotels.

Look forward to seeing you here again soon.

Best regards,

Lance Herman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

The hotel was in a brilliant location about 30 minutes from times square. Our room was cleaned every day. The bar is loud at night but where we stayed on the 8th floor we could not hear a thing. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lance H, General Manager at Flatiron Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear hellomateyboy,

Thank you for your recent review of your stay here. Others have commented about the cleanliness and I appreciate it. Our housekeeping team is very dedicated and it is nice to see them recognized. Yes, Times Square is very close, just 16 blocks (3/4 of a mile).

Look forward to seeing you here again soon.

Best regards,

Lance Herman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We had a girls weekend in NYC and stayed at The Flatiron Hotel for two nights in the corner 'suite' / room. The decor is nice, modern and happy colors. The automated curtains didn't work so well, but we got a kick out of it when they opened and closed on their own. Our room faced B'way and 26th and we were on the 8th floor, although we heard the subway pretty clearly every time it went by! Reminds you that you are in NYC. I asked for a upper room after reading about the noise level of the restaurant / lounge in the lobby. Since we were there over Labor Day weekend the lounge was dead so I can't comment on the noise. The staff was friendly and helpful as much as NYC staff usually are when not staying at the Ritz! For the price, location and comfortable rooms it gets a solid thumbs up.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lance H, General Manager at Flatiron Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear CharStan,

Thank you for your recent review of your stay here. I was glad to read you enjoyed your stay but it seems there were a few hiccups along the way. Our apologies about the curtains. Occasionally the signal from one remote bleeds in to another. Our maintenance team is researching addressing. A “solid thumbs up” is high praise and we hope to see you on your next visit to the area.

Best regards,

Lance Herman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My daughter and i were pleasantly surprised at how nice this new hotel in New York City was. It is located on the corner of 26th and Broadway, which use to be a very sketchy area, but is now in transformation. The rooms are nicely decorated, and the bathroom has all of the updated amenities, such as a tv in the mirror, and multiple choices for your shower. There is a restaurant which has a small menu, but everything that we had was excellent! They have a happy hour with a good wine for $5.00, and entertainment starting at 6:00. I have never stayed anywhere in N.Y. which offered all of this, plus a staff that is extremely nice and helpful!!! Hope you enjoy your stray as much as we did!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher level room since the music continues until 1:00 am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lance H, General Manager at Flatiron Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear latitude2222,

Thank you for your recent review of your stay here. It sounds like we exceeded your expectations. This neighborhood is going through a terrific change right now. Two blocks south is Mario Bataly’s Eataly, an epicurean tourist attraction. One block east is Madison Square Park and Danny Meyer’s Shack Shake. To the west is the High Line Park in the Sky and Chelsea Piers. A few blocks northeast is the Empire State Building and to the northwest is Madison Square Garden. This is the place to be.

Very glad to read you enjoyed toshi’s Living Room in our lobby. It is a differentiator for our hotel. Thank you also for your kind words about the staff. They are our greatest asset.

Best regards,

Lance Herman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Flatiron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flatiron Hotel

Address: 9 West 26th Street, New York City, NY 10010
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #261 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Flatiron Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Flatiron Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flatiron Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.