We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Meatballs & Pizza” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Motorino

Motorino
349 E 12th St, New York City, NY 10009 (East Village)
(212) 777-2644
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #328 of 11,776 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: East Village
NYC
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Meatballs & Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Great LES resturant. Sampled the meatballs for the appetizer & they were very good. Shared the Cremini Mushroom pie (6 slices), which was delicious. The pizza had a well proportioned amount of toppings and the crust was light with a nice crunch. They have a good selection of beer, wine, & old school beverages. The service was on point throughout the entire meal. Get here early, it does get crowded quickly!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    33
    10
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Ate there while the Rachel Rae crew was filming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

When we arrived at Motorino, a film crew from Rachel Rae was there because this is her favorite pizzaria in NYC. We started with their appetizer of the day - baby Brussels sprouts wrapped in pancetta and sautéed with caramelized onions. Just amazing. I don't know how you make onions that sweet. We had the sopraceta pie and added sausage. Mozzarella was fresh and delicious, as was sauce - only complaint was that it was very soupy. Maybe they were distracted by the film crew. The crust was wonderfully bubbly and crispy. It was fun hearing the manager talking up their fresh ingredients for the camera crew.

2 individual pizzas, 1 appetizer, 1 wine, 1 root beer - $62 plus tip. Tiny restaurant; friendly, laid-back staff. I would come back! The camera crew liked it as well - they were making multiple restaurant stops but chose this one for dinner.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Napolitan pizza at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The best pizza I have ever had in America. Great crust, great sauce and mozzarella. Very small Restaurant, no atmosphere, but nice people.
My wife is still upset because the waitress took away her plate, when she had one more bite left.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Loved these Pizzas!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My daughter discovered this gem on our recent visit to NYC from Australia.
Pizzas were superb we were not disappointed.
Recommend the Margerita pizza, if you get at lunch time you also get a salad. Which was delicious.
Fantastic value for money and great service.
Look forward to visiting you again next visit.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel-Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent ingredients good pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

Nice place, very accommodate, nice service.
Amazing raw ingredients but some how the pizza was only good and not wow. It was really soft without any crispy parts. Maybe that how it should be, but I didn't like it too much.
The green salad was great.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Motorino also viewed

 

Been to Motorino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motorino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.