We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem in NYC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luke's Lobster

Luke's Lobster
93 E 7th St, Frnt A, New York City, NY 10009-5730 (East Village)
212-387-8487
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #133 of 12,022 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: East Village
Woking, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem in NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Just off the main drag in an innocuous part of Manhattan is the oasis of Luke's Lobster Shack. Tiny, with only a handful of bar stools for "eating in", one suspects it does a roaring trade in "take out". It was a small but mouthwatering menu, so we went for the Noah's Ark...a trio of lobster, shrimp & crab rolls. Simply served, with pickles, chips and sodas, this was one of the highlights of our week-long gastronomic experience in NYC! Simplicity itself but expertly done... Superb!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    93
    24
    12
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“i love lobsters and this sandwich is the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

i dont know what they put in the lobster, perhaps spice and mayonnaise, but it tasted so good i spent $15 on a sandwich. me? i am not a sandwich person. i also got a 2nd one a few days later, within the short timeframe i was there.
i went to the food court at Palace Hotel and was surprised to find such great quality sandwich for $15 (for palace hotel? it's cheap) but the price is the same as on Amsterdam Ave which they had little traffic but the sandwich was just as if it was made by the same chef.
i somewhat wish i had tried their shrimp or crab sandwiches but for the little time i had, i wanted to go for the best.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“So much LObSTeR!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The roll was jammed packed with lobster, lightly seasoned w butter and spice. The roll, lightly buttered and toasted added just the right contrast but was not overwhelmed w a buttery mayonnaise sauce that is usually used to fill the space of the lack of lobster. But no, this roll had so much lobster, it was falling out. I will be coming again to Luke's on my next visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Ohio
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“YUM”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Went to the Luke's located at the Plaza Dining Hall, which is a gorgeous location. There are lots of yummy looking food there, but I am SO happy we went with Luke's. My hubby loves shellfish so we split the Noah's Arc-2 half rolls of the lobster, crab, and shrimp 2 bag of chips, 2 drinks, and 2 pickles. Each bite and roll was better than the last. The only negative part of the whole meal was the Ginger soda! We were expecting more of a ginger ale flavor and it tasted like pure ginger root! A little too spicy for either of us. If you go to the Plaza location, eating in the park is the only logical place to enjoy! AND YOU WILL ENJOY!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Luke's is the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Luke's lobster roll is simply a must-do in NYC. Unless you are a snob from Maine who lived on the boat, you will be surprised to find such quality in a walk-up counter. This place does it right. Quality, fresh lobster. Check. Fresh roll with high quality fresh garlic and bread. Check. Pleasant employees. Check. To those who don't like Lobster or who don't know good Lobster when they eat it, don't waste your money. You really won't know what you've got, and it ain't cheap. Leave it for those who understand good Lobster.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luke's Lobster also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Luke's Lobster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luke's Lobster, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.