We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Decor, Average+ Food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Qi

Qi
31 W 14th street, New York City, NY 10011 (Flatiron District)
2129299917
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #820 of 11,751 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Flatiron District
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Decor, Average+ Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My friend and I stopped for dinner at Qi mainly because of the amazing looks of the restaurant:
the dark lights, many chandeliers and "candles" create good atmosphere.
In addition the menu seem to contain many dishes and a lot of them seem very nice.

The service was fast though we did need to ask for menus and catch a waiter in order to place our order.
The green curry was a big, tasty dish which i enjoyed. My friend also liked her Tom Yum soup with side dish of sticky rice.
The sangria we ordered (carafe) was filled with ice for more then 50% of it's content which was very disappointing.
Prices are reasonable.

So far, so good. The big downside of the restaurant appeared to be the setting actually:
the low lights are too dark when you try to read a menu or eat, and it looks like there was no acoustic planning done at all - the noise level is super high - and that is the major downside of the restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    43
    13
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lunch in NYC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Lovely meal. Just landed 3.30pm in our neighborhood near 42nd. Yummy food great service and blingy decor. Nice surprise.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great fusion Thai food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I have been here a few times, and every single time the food has been great. The service is good and the decor is very interesting. Its fairly reasonable and the quality of ingredients is good. The food is very flavourful and delicious. It has some interesting dishes on the menu, like the pancakes, which weren't my favourite but are good for a change.

Probably one of the better Thai place I have been to in NYC, its almost reminds me of busaba eathai in London, which I absolutely love.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good Thai Food, Interesting Decor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We had a very good Thai dinner at Qi, located on 14th Street in Manhattan, right in the middle of lots of hotels and attractions. The interior is (dimly) lit with chandeliers and candles, and it makes for quite a stunning appearance. The food was excellent, and the menu was more extensive than I have encountered at many Thai restaurants. I had a delicious chicken curry with pumpkin, and my husband ordered one of their many fresh fish specials.

We were there on Valentine's Day evening, and yet the service was quick and efficient. I would highly recommend Qi as an affordable restaurant with delicious food.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“FanTHAIstic!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Starting with the interior- the restaurant is beautifully decorated. The tables are a little too close to each other, but that is the only complain I have. Martini list is very creative. I tried three different kinds ( as I dined there three times during my short trip to NYC), and all of them were delicious. My favourite was the lychee one. The menu there is various and the prices are pretty reasonable too. Also, they have really good lunch deals.
Strongly recommend to try their massaman and green curries. Really good.
Service is a little hectic though.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Qi also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Qi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Qi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.