We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Private Family Tour of New York City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Family In New York

Family In New York
244 Fifth Avenue, R289, New York City, NY 10001 (Manhattan)
+1 212-726-1015
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #66 of 809 Activities in New York City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Family in New York provides private sightseeing tours of New York City. Every tour itinerary is custom and personalized to meet the wants, needs and desires of our guests. We operate on our guests schedule and at their pace. In addition to our typical tours, we conduct tours for mobility impaired guests. We also conduct evening lights and skyline tours; sports tours; layover tours where we meet our guests at the hotel, airport, cruise terminal, train or bus station, load their luggage in our vehicle, tour them around New York City and then return them to their point of origin or another location. We have been in business for over nine years and continue to grow every year.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
New Smyrna Beach, FL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Private Family Tour of New York City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Tour was easily arranged and handled via EMails and Phone contact. Scott's Family Tours communicated well and helped map a day to visit all the sights that the 6 of us wanted to experience. Erica led us on a 9 hour journey of walking and Subways that let us appreciate a lot of the City in a short time. We had a great lunch in China Town and relaxed when ever needed to keep the group on pace to meet the itinerary. With Erica's knowledge of the City if proved to be a great day and a tremendous Value for the Money. Would use Scott;s Company again if there, and ready to explore more extensively in other areas of New York City.....

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    299
    16
    3
    2
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“"The best way to tour NYC"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We just returned from our trip to NYC and had a great family vacation!

We were researching different NYC tour options when we came across Family in NY. It was the only option we found that sends a personal tour guide right to your hotel, stays with you for the entire tour, and teaches you how to navigate NYC public transportation.

Family in NY was exceptional! And, the price was very reasonable, especially compared to the per person bus tour prices.

When Scott picked us up at the airport in a meticulously clean and comfortable vehicle, he put the Manhattan map on the center console for all to see, and the tour began even before we arrived at our hotel. We asked all of the questions we wanted to know before starting our stay in NYC.

The next morning, tour guide Tammy arrived and we enjoyed a great breakfast at a local diner while we planned our 9-hour tour. Tammy was incredibly knowledgeable and very, very likeable. We even modified the tour as we went along, based upon our energy level or our interest in something we happened upon.

After our tour with Tammy, we had no trouble finding our way around the city. We went everywhere on foot or on public transportation.

We also went to Spiderman mid-week, using the tickets purchased by Family in NY. We’ve never had such great tickets. They knew how to get lower prices for exceptional tickets.

At the end of our stay, Scott picked us up at the hotel to take us to the airport and to make sure everything went well on our trip.

What a service! To say it was phenomenal is an understatement.

If you’re considering Family in NY, do it now. Family in NY delivers exceptional service because the owner is deeply involved in every tour. This means that their schedule fills up quickly.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Worth every penny”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

It is a private tour, your party only, same price regardless of how many people in your party; $300 for 5hr, $400 9hrs. You can customize where or what you want to see. They tell you up front it is all on foot and subway. There were six of us and we booked a 5 hour tour for $300. Our tour guide, Rob, showed us almost half an hour early and went overtime by almost 2 hours. He showed us must see sites, historical sites, new sites; told us about big deal facts and little deal facts and stories. The real value for us was learning insider (local New Yorkers) know hows; our time in NYC would not have been as complete and a more choppy if it were not for his personal tips and recommendations.

It was pouring the day of our scheduled tour & I could barely see anything more than 2 feet in front of me but Rob's great personality and knowledge made the experience worth while. Rob gave us rain ponchos and we stayed fairly dry. When you are on a tour, your time and experience is largely at the mercy of the tour guide. We got really lucky having Rob. He is such a great person and we had so much fun with him. It really was like getting a tour from a family member or a good friend. He did not want to accept our $50 gratuity but we made him keep it.

I have had other tours in NYC, including the double decker tour bus ride and a private shopping tour. I highly recommend this one as it was worth every penny for us.

You can check out their website if you want FamilyInNY.com, private tour.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Way to see a Great City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

6 of us were all treated to a great day , being guided around by the wonderful Dina, seeing and hearing about so many sites , but without the usual constant referring to maps to see where we were and where we were going next ( like our following day!) .Would thoroughly recommend Family in New York tours and particularly Dina , well worth the money ........we never thought we would get our 3 children ( all over 20) plus fiance to do a 9 hour walking tour , but they loved it and the time flew by

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoover, Alabama
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Great Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

My daughter and I recently came to the city for her birthday and spent a Saturday touring with Donna. She was waiting for us in the hotel lobby when we came down. We had a great day and learned so much. We could never have done this on our own. Without Donna, we would have been walking around thinking, "isn't that nice". With her knowledge, we learned so much about the history of the city and its various sections. Scott was so helpful and even suggested a great place for dinner the night before our tour that was not full of tourists like us! After a day with Donna, we were comfortable getting around the city for the rest of our trip. This was definitely worth the money and we will use them again when we take the rest of our family.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Family In New York also viewed

 

Been to Family In New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Family In New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.