We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HeliNY - AVOID! BEWARE! Terrible Service - A Rip Off” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Helicopter Flight Services - Helicopter Tours

Helicopter Flight Services - Helicopter Tours
Pier 6, East River, Downtown Manhattan Heliport, New York City, NY 10004 (Manhattan)
+1 212-355-0801
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: TOURS: See New York City from a different perspective. Our 4 helicopter sightseeing tours, one of which is combined with a boat cruise, provide you with a bird's eye view of Manhattan and the surrounding area in comfort and style. Our helicopters are equipped with heat and air conditioning as well as a Bose stereo system to help you relax and enjoy the ride. Marvel at the splendid architecture of the Chrysler Building, the Empire State Building, and more as you travel down the Hudson River to the New York Harbor and the Intrepid Sea Air Space Museum. See the George Washington and Verrazano bridge that keep Manhattan connected. Reflect on New York's historic landmarks including the Statue of Liberty, Ellis Island, Greenwich Village, South Street Seaport and the 120 year old Brooklyn Bridge. Baseball fans can even cheer for the Yankees above the stadium! CHARTERS: Whether you are taking a quick trip to the airport or heading to the Hamptons for the weekend, a helicopter charter offers a quick, easy, and comfortable alternative for travel in and out of the metro area. A helicopter charter is faster than a car service and able to travel farther into New York City than an airplane. Airport Transfers by helicopter can significantly reduce your travel time to and from New York City airports. Driving between Manhattan and airport areas could take more than an hour in unpredictable and aggravating traffic. Airport Transfers by helicopter typically take less than 10 minutes, giving you more time in the day for everything else. Airport Transfers are available between Manhattan and the Kennedy, LaGuardia, Newark, and Teterboro Airport as well as between the airports. Complimentary ground transportation is provided between the airline terminal and the helicopter landing area to get you to your destination quickly.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Stroller parking, Lockers / storage
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“HeliNY - AVOID! BEWARE! Terrible Service - A Rip Off”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

Don't use HeliNY - Very poor service and they cancel at late notice because THEY have overbooked even though they have confirmed your booking of a week previous. Just like a 'conveyor belt' service without politeness or consideration, despite the expense. They ruined a special, anniversary gift to my wife. No commentary on the flight apart from only pointing out Ground Zero and the Statue of Liberty! For the most part of the flight, the pilot talked with his colleague. Very poor service indeed and so disappointing. Never been treated so badly and we paid so much. AVOID HeliNY at all costs or you will regret it!

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    770
    119
    17
    17
    11
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
newyork10011
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Totally amazing and wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

We live in NYC and have never taken a helicopter tour, so decided to do one to celebrate a special occasion. It totally exceeded both of our expectations! The views are just unbeatable... the 18 minute trip covered a pretty wide swath, starting down by the south street seaport and flying by the statue of liberty and over governor's island and to verrazano bridge, and then up the west side to see midtown and central park. Service was fine, everything was right on time, the helicopter itself was new and quite comfortable, with good windows and seating. It's pricey, so not something you can do every day, but definitely recommended.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boras, Sweden
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An amazing experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

Helpful groundcrew, a great pilot, clear weather and breathtaking views made this an experience of a lifetime! The helicopters hade big windows which made the flight even better.

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Go to another one!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

Our flight was for 5.30 and you had to arrive by 5 so we arrived earlier just in case at 4.30. As soon as we got there, we were strapped with this yellow pouch which I'm assuming was safety pouch even though nobody explained how to use it. We were pushed to hurry up to make the next flight even though ours wasn't until an hour from there. They don't tell you that you cannot bring a purse on the plane with you and then make you leave it in a locker that they then charge you for. No safety plans were explained and we were treated like cattle. The pilot was very nice and the tour was lovely but the customer service and communication is very poor.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathleenWiig, General Manager at Helicopter Flight Services - Helicopter Tours, responded to this review, June 5, 2011
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Even though we had an earlier opening for you when you arrived at the heliport you absolutely should have either watched our safety video or been verbally briefed by our ramp agents.

We are adding to our website that bags are not allowed and that lockers are available for $2.00 should you require them.

We have addressed these issues with our staff and appreciate you taking the time to let us know about the issues that you had.

Most importantly we are very pleased that you enjoyed your flight and should you have any other concerns that you wish to discuss with me please call me at (212) 355-0801.

Kind regards,

Kathleen Wiig
General Manager
Helicopter Flight Services
212.355.0801
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
104 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“If you do one thing in NYC, then do this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

Not sure if we should or not, we ended up going on the helicopter. The ground staff is very helpful and friendly and the pilot is full of knowledge about the city, which he is happy to share in a way that the flight just becomes even more exciting. To fly over the Statue of Liberty and along the Manhattan Skyline is breathtaking. The price for the flight is actually not bad at all when you consider that in 15 minutes you get to see it all (and for most of us from a complete new perspective).
Every penny was worth it and I'd do it again any time!

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Helicopter Flight Services - Helicopter Tours also viewed

 

Been to Helicopter Flight Services - Helicopter Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Helicopter Flight Services - Helicopter Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.