We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HeliNY - AVOID! BEWARE! Terrible Service - A Rip Off” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Helicopter Flight Services Helicopter Tours

Helicopter Flight Services Helicopter Tours
Downtown Manhattan Heliport Pier 6 and the East River, New York City, NY 10004 (Financial District)
212 355 0801
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #71 of 796 Activities in New York City
Useful Information: Stroller parking, Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Stroller parking, Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“HeliNY - AVOID! BEWARE! Terrible Service - A Rip Off”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

Don't use HeliNY - Very poor service and they cancel at late notice because THEY have overbooked even though they have confirmed your booking of a week previous. Just like a 'conveyor belt' service without politeness or consideration, despite the expense. They ruined a special, anniversary gift to my wife. No commentary on the flight apart from only pointing out Ground Zero and the Statue of Liberty! For the most part of the flight, the pilot talked with his colleague. Very poor service indeed and so disappointing. Never been treated so badly and we paid so much. AVOID HeliNY at all costs or you will regret it!

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    554
    88
    12
    13
    9
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
newyork10011
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Totally amazing and wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

We live in NYC and have never taken a helicopter tour, so decided to do one to celebrate a special occasion. It totally exceeded both of our expectations! The views are just unbeatable... the 18 minute trip covered a pretty wide swath, starting down by the south street seaport and flying by the statue of liberty and over governor's island and to verrazano bridge, and then up the west side to see midtown and central park. Service was fine, everything was right on time, the helicopter itself was new and quite comfortable, with good windows and seating. It's pricey, so not something you can do every day, but definitely recommended.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boras, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An amazing experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

Helpful groundcrew, a great pilot, clear weather and breathtaking views made this an experience of a lifetime! The helicopters hade big windows which made the flight even better.

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
2 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Go to another one!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

Our flight was for 5.30 and you had to arrive by 5 so we arrived earlier just in case at 4.30. As soon as we got there, we were strapped with this yellow pouch which I'm assuming was safety pouch even though nobody explained how to use it. We were pushed to hurry up to make the next flight even though ours wasn't until an hour from there. They don't tell you that you cannot bring a purse on the plane with you and then make you leave it in a locker that they then charge you for. No safety plans were explained and we were treated like cattle. The pilot was very nice and the tour was lovely but the customer service and communication is very poor.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathleenWiig, General Manager at Helicopter Flight Services Helicopter Tours, responded to this review, June 5, 2011
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Even though we had an earlier opening for you when you arrived at the heliport you absolutely should have either watched our safety video or been verbally briefed by our ramp agents.

We are adding to our website that bags are not allowed and that lockers are available for $2.00 should you require them.

We have addressed these issues with our staff and appreciate you taking the time to let us know about the issues that you had.

Most importantly we are very pleased that you enjoyed your flight and should you have any other concerns that you wish to discuss with me please call me at (212) 355-0801.

Kind regards,

Kathleen Wiig
General Manager
Helicopter Flight Services
212.355.0801
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“If you do one thing in NYC, then do this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

Not sure if we should or not, we ended up going on the helicopter. The ground staff is very helpful and friendly and the pilot is full of knowledge about the city, which he is happy to share in a way that the flight just becomes even more exciting. To fly over the Statue of Liberty and along the Manhattan Skyline is breathtaking. The price for the flight is actually not bad at all when you consider that in 15 minutes you get to see it all (and for most of us from a complete new perspective).
Every penny was worth it and I'd do it again any time!

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Helicopter Flight Services Helicopter Tours also viewed

 

Been to Helicopter Flight Services Helicopter Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Helicopter Flight Services Helicopter Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.