We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Sienna

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added La Sienna to your Saves list
La Sienna
West 123rd Street, New York City, NY   |  
Hotel amenities
Dusseldorf, Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This place is beautiful, it´s perfekt to stay in new york city. harlem is a great place and close by you find the subway. it´s just 7min downtown. if you like you can also walk to new york downtown. it´s around 1h through the central park.
the rooms are clean, very warm atmosphere and helpfull staff.
if I come back, this is my choice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    31
    9
    0
    4
See reviews for
4
57
16
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at La Siena for a week and we had a great time.The owners were very friendly. The bedroom/ sittingrom, bathroom and kitchen were very clean and cosy, the bed was good. After a long and tiring day downtown ,we were glad to be
back in our quiet street,away from the noise and the crowd.The metro station and busstops are nearby, and Central park is a ten minutes walk away.We certainly will come back to La Siena again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

It was great to stay here for our trip in New York!
Great place for a great price!
The owners are very nice and helpful! I have read in some comments that there are too many rules... The only rules we received was to keep the front door closed and... have fun! :)
If we get the chance to go back in New-York, we will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Le studio du rez de chaussée est équipé d'une kitchenette et est très spacieux! Parfait pour un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was a very good place to stay in NYC. In terms of price, it by far beats the pricey hotels closer to Times Square.

Yes the hotel is located in the middle of Harlem but at no time did we feel threatened. People were all very nice and actually spoke to you and asked where you were from when waiting at the Subway. In fact we found staying in Harlem amazing. Got the 'real feel' of a typical NYC Neighbourhood. We were wondering down the street one morning and the 5 boroughs bike ride was on, in celebration of this, there was gospel music playing outside one of the churches. It was amazing.

Back to the accomodation. Rooms are clean, and the building is old but it is one of those charming Brownstone properties typical of the NYC area so it was cool to check one out.

The hosts, Manny and Yvette, have very different approaches to how they treat their customers. Yvette is lovely and had a very warm welcoming attitude, however we did not see much of her unfortunately. Manny whilst indeed helpful in terms of directions and where things are comes across as gruff and at times dictatorial in terms of rules about the house. Though I do understand that it is his house, he has opened it up as a guest house. For example, our room downstairs had no toaster and it was early in the morning, I did not want to bother Manny so I popped upstairs to use the upstairs toaster. Manny saw me in there and asked why I was there and that I was not allowed to use the upstairs Kitchen as we had our own. I had to explain that we had no toaster which at first he said we did, we just had to look but upon proving this to him (by showing him), he apologised and when we got home that evening, we had one.

Please, do not let my review of the hosts turn you off, the location, transport to 42nd St (direct 15 min subway trip) and relative inexpensiveness when compared to many other NYC properties far outweigh the hosts at times gruff attitude. Overall I would definitely recommend this to travellers who are looking for a good location in NYC but wanting to spend all their money on other things in NYC other than accommodation.

Room Tip: Try and book the double room on the first floor. This room has it's own bathroom and Kitchenette
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hainburg an der Donau, Austria
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

this was the worst place we stayed in..ever! I can't believe so many people were happy with staying here..I just cannot explain it. At around 100USD, this was the most expensive room we ever stayed in, yet the worst one! I was thinking whether I should write a bad review because we found one of the owners (the lady) really nice and helpful..but unfortunately that does not make the place any nicer. And it would not be fair for other travellers not to let them know what is expecting them..

Where to start..well the rooms everything is very old, rooms are small, very cold and the worst thing was the terrible smell. Everything smelt in a strange unpleasant way. Although there was nothing really dirty, it looks as if it was, the furniture, floors, bed sheets, the walls, the kitchen, the bathroom and everything is too old, worn out and simply looks ugly. We definately don't need luxury and did not expect any, but we just fell extremely uncomfortable here.

Another really bad thing was the heating..We felt cold all the time we were inside, and that's nothing pleasant when it's cold outside too. The did put the heating on but only at certain times, when it became extremely hot but then the temperture dropped again quickly and it got pretty cold again.

One of the owner (the man) was extremely arrogant and treated us in a very rude way, but we were told it was due to an operation, so perhaps we just had bad luck and he is nicer at other times.

There were also a couple of other small things that annoyed us - old mattresses that made my back hurt all the time, the heating making noise everytime it worked (for example around 11-12 pm and beginning around 6am), strange shower head which is too high and makes it almost impossible to have a shower without getting your hair wet every time, as well as extremely thin walls- you can hear your neighbours all the time as if they were in the same room.. All of this just made our stay even less pleasant (though on the whole our trip in NY was excellent..except for the accommodation:)

To sum up - I would definitely not recommend staying in this place to anyone, anytime...even if it were for free.. Stay here only if you want to freeze most of the time and if you don't mind sleeping in a terrible smell.. Otherwise, there are many better options that are so much better at the same or even lower price!!! stay away from here!!!

Room Tip: how to choose a good room? go anywhere else than here:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gingerbread241, Owner at La Sienna, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Sorry for the late response but it took me a while to see who this person was. First of all this is not a hotel or hostel nor should it be compared to that. The room he stayed in had a shared kitchen and bathroom which we do not charge $100 per day. He was so comfortable here that we saw him greet someone, invited them in, showed them around and bypassed us and put them in one of the rooms as if he was an employee here. Once it was brought to his attention that it was not his place to address anyone and that job is for us to do, he became angry and criticized everything. The towels, the sheets, everything bothered him. The roo is too hot, too cold. The shower wets his hair. Really? We tried everything but he was not happy so we asked if he wanted to leave but he said "No". The mattress is 1 year old. The furnishing is called antique not old. This is a brownstone with antique moldings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

Americans are often warm and welcoming hosts in contrast to their British counterparts.

But not in La Sienna. It is a jarring cliche to compare a hotel with Torquay's finest, Fawlty Towers, but forgive me if I pursue it here.

There was more than a touch of Basil Fawlty about the owner of this place. Although he said he was happy to help, in reality his manner was anything but. The whole place is plastered with rules - don't slam the door, switch off the light, don't smoke, don't slam the door.

When I left for the last time I took great delight in clattering the door before marching off triumphantly down the street.

One day, the owner changed the Internet password and didn't think to tell his guests. We were in a top floor room and the wifi barely worked at all in there even when we were permitted access.

However, that aside, La Sienna was a charming place to stay. The room was spacious with a table and seating area. It was nicely decorated and the communal kitchen was an excellent, although seemingly underused, facility.

The property was immaculately clean throughout. Even though it is not centrally located, it was impressively quick and easy to get into Time Square.

The property is in Harlem, and it certainly would not have felt safe walking back there alone late at night. That said, we had no serious problems.

So there we are - a clean and impressive guesthouse with a grumpy host.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gingerbread241, Owner at La Sienna, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
We are not a HOTEL or a HOSTEL nor should we be compared to any. This is not a social scene. We have rules posted that are just common courtesy. Don't slam the door, turn off the lights, leave the kitchen as found so the next person using it will be allowed the same courtesy. Be respectful of others. I really don't see anything wrong with that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurieton
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My Husband & I have just spent a week at La Sienna, in the Studio Apartment which was very comfortable, which met all our needs, lovely cosy bed & so nice to come back to at the end of the day after sightseeing. We were able to leave our belongings including our passports in our room, without being concerned about losing them, due to the excellent security , on arrival we were met by Manny who gave us great information, he is always around if you need him. Yvette was so kind & helpful & we enjoyed our chats with her about New York. We found getting DownTown very easy on the Subway & we got a 7 day pass which wa

Room Tip: Studio apartment on the ground floor, very quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Sienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sienna

Address: West 123rd Street, New York City, NY
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 185 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is not a Hotel or Hostel. This is a rental unit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your La Sienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Sienna Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Sienna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.