We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge Thumbs Up” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Capital Grille, Time-Life Building

The Capital Grille, Time-Life Building
120 West 51st St., New York City, NY 10020
212-246-0154
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #141 of 11,748 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $20 - $80
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Description: Within the hallowed walls of the Time-Life Building, and surrounded by some of the city’s most heralded attractions from Broadway to Radio City Music Hall, the imminent arrival of The Capital Grille is creating quite a stir of its own. Especially anticipated are our legendary dry-aged steaks, fresh seafood offerings, and a widely heralded collection of over 7,000 bottles of wine. All presented with unparalleled service in an atmosphere of relaxed elegance that serves as a respite to the frenetic pace of the streets outside.
Smiths Falls, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Huge Thumbs Up”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

We ate here on our first ever trip to NYC over Labour Day weekend largely on the reviews of TripAdvisor (it was the #1 rated restaurant in the city at the time). The food was exceptional and because we were there during restaurant week also quite affordable ($35 per person for appetizer, entree and dessert). The fillets we ordered were both cooked to perfection but what really made this a great overall experience was the service. Our waiter Jon was pleasant, friendly, polite and knowledgable. Even at full menu prices this restaurant is well worth a visit. Thank you Trip Advisor!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    361
    137
    52
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
AYR
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“exceptional special occasion dining.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Fantastic! The Capital Grille team went that extra mile to ensure my wife’s "special birthday" was amazing. The excellent food, brilliant service (from our waiter Guillermo) and great ambiance made this meal truly exceptional and memorable dining experience.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Exeeded our highest expectations!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

My husband & I went here to celebrate our 1st Anniversary. We were attending a musical later that night & lots of time inbetween. When our waiter found out this information, he encouraged us to relax & sip our wine. They also provided us with free glasses of champagne in honor of our anniversary. The service was phenominal!
Food was simply outstanding. I ordered Crab Stuffed Shrimp-- cooked perfectly, & the flavor was spot on. My husband ordered Fillet & Butter Poached Lobster. His steak melted in your mouth-- could have used a butter knife to cut it. The lobster was savory. We shared a side of Asparagus- SO GOOD. John, our waitor gave us an amazing piece of espresso chocolate cake for dessert on the house. Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Olive, New Jersey
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal and service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

My wife and I celebrated our 12th wedding anniversary dinner at the Capital Grille. The service was the best I have experienced in years. They made us feel special. The food was spectacular. I had a lobster bisque soup which had more lobster meat in it than when I normally would get in a full lobster meal. My wife had the Caesar salad which was magnificent. We had the filet mignon with mashed potatoes a la carte. The flavors coming from each bite of the filet are an experience you must have. A truly memorable meal at a classy restaurant in New York City.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful restaurant, Best service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

From your reviews and your #1 rating of the best restaurant in NYC, we chose The Capital Grille in New York City. We were so pleased with the restaurant, food and service. The manager Michael Enright gave us the best personal service imaginable. When he found out that we were going to a Broadway show that night, he asked if we needed directions how to get there. We told him we thought we could find it, but he said I will right down the directions and get them to you. After he found out that we were from NE, he said he had a waiter who was asked to take pictures at Warren Buffet's daughter or a family member's wedding. He even brought him over and introduced him to us. He made us feel like we were the most important guest in the restaurant. They also had a great Pre-Theater menu that we had found on their website for a 4 course meal for $39. We definitely would go back again and we would recommend it to everyone.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Capital Grille, Time-Life Building also viewed

 

Been to The Capital Grille, Time-Life Building? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Capital Grille, Time-Life Building, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.