We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harlem Renaissance House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Harlem Renaissance House B&B
Save
You added Harlem Renaissance House B&B to your Saves list
237 W 139th St, New York City, NY 10030 (Harlem)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 95 New York City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Spectacular Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

What a lovely place. Stayed there for three days, hated to leave. My room was beautiful, decorated with Rick's impressive artwork. Bed was comfortable, private bathroom brilliant white and spotless. Rick is an excellent host, expansive knowledge of the city, very gracious and accommodating. Breakfast was simple but delicious. Five minute walk to the subway. Quiet street--incredibly quiet for New York--on Strivers Row. Always felt very safe. Definitely going back.

Room Tip: There are only three rooms and all three are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    21
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
104
11
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The house is warm, comfortable, stylish and full of stories and memories - just like host Rick Patrick.
We'll definitely be staying there again if we're ever lucky enough to visit NYC a second time.
Make My Cake's Red Velvet cake down the road on Adam Clayton Powell has got to be the best cake in the world.

Room Tip: Fourth floor room has a great view and is a good workout to get to the top.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

My wife, I, our two sons and their girlfriends stayed here for two nights, having booked on the great TripAdvisor recommendations. It certainly lived up to it's reputation. The Owner, Rick, is a great host and character, very welcoming and full of advice and recommendations on what to do and see whilst in New York. His recommendation on Yatenga restaurant in Harlem and the Shrine Supper Club, with a new live music act every hour, was particularly good. I wish we had more time to follow up on his other recommendations, such as the local gospel choir on Wednesday evenings. The House is 5 minutes walk to the subway, which with the fast train gets you into downtown New York in 15 minutes. The House in a nice quiet and is tastefully and comfortably decorated. Rick's breakfasts are great [Danish pastries, fruit, juice, tea/coffee] and he's a terrific host - I couldn't believe he got up at 0430 to say goodbye as we sadly made our way to JFK!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarragona, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We are just landing back from our NYC trip. We spend four days at this B&B, we did enjoy a lot. We learn from Ric, and we share good moments with him. Nice speaking sessions.

The room is awesome, huge, peaceful and nice bed. So, what else could you ask for after a busy day in the big apple.

All surrounded by the Harlem charm.

Fully recommendable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We just came back from our trip to NYC where we stayed 6 nights at this lovely b&b. We booked because of the great reviews. And what can I say.
Everything has been said and its all true. We loved the place!! The area made our stay even more special. The house is in a beautifull street and is very tranquil. There are great restaurants in nearby and there is always live music somewhere.
We spend our days doing the tourist things downtown but spend our nights in Harlem. We had 2 great nights at Londell, which is just down the road. Live music and nice chats with the people there. Although a bit expensive we had good meal in Red Rooster and enjoyed a good band with all older musicians. Lots of fun.
In the B&B we had the room on the 4th floor. Nice room, ensuite bathroom with bathtub. The room was at the front but you do not hear at thing at night.
Breakfast is healthy with fresh fruit. Rick, the host, knows a lot, tells you the local things and rules. That makes your stay special and personal. You really experience the city in a different way. Rick is very helpfull. I fell and needed a doctor. Rick arranged it easily for us. If you need any advice ask him. Nothing is too much. He makes a call or gets his laptop to check for you. He is also entertaining and fun to talk to. It was also nice to have a chat a breakfast with the other guests.

The metro is very nearby but the cabservic is also very good and handy. Iin the area its a bit different than the yellow cab but again Rick told us how to use them.
We went to see a baseball match of the Yankees. Great experience and the Yankee stadium is a 20 minute walk from the B&B.
If you might think its too far out, our Harlem unsafe. Do not doubt and enjoy this area and lovely B&B. Have a lot of fun!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamplona, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

What can I say that hasn't been said already? We stayed a week at Easter and were so glad we did. In such a lively exciting and tiring city as New York it is wonderful to start and finish your day in somewhere that feels like a home away from home. Rick is a charming, friendly and knowledgeable host who makes you feel at ease straight away. His advice can save you from wasting your time and is based on firsthand experience. The house is an oasis of tranquility, the rooms spacious and the beds comfortable. It was a pleasure to start the day with a fresh fruit breakfast,chatting with Rick and fellow guests about the previous day and planning the next. The neighbourhood is quiet and friendly. The nearby restaurants were good value and we ate the best meals of our holiday in them. Trust the reviews that have already been posted and hope that you are fortunate enough to be able to reserve a few nights in this wonderful B&B.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Wow!! Where do i start? We are so glad we chose to stay in Harlem at this wonderful B&B. The house itself is stunning and exceptionally clean. Rooms are ample in size and the large en-suite with walk in shower was a delight. Rick, the owner, is a fantastic host with nothing being too much trouble. Rick serves up a delightful continental breakfast and joins you at the table for morning conversation. We enjoyed hearing Ricks stories and he gave us some excellent tips and ideas.The subway is only 5mins away which takes you anywhere in New York. We purchased the recommended Metro Card so had unlimited travel, it was great. Harlem itself is a safe place and the locals are friendly and helpful. We often returned late at night and never felt in danger at all. All in all we would definately return to stay with Rick we had a fantastic trip!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harlem Renaissance House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harlem Renaissance House B&B

Address: 237 W 139th St, New York City, NY 10030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Harlem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Private Luxury Bed and Breakfast, in the heart of the Historic Landmark District "Striver's Row." Extremely, large comfortable rooms, with wifi, a/c & cable tv. Full private baths, families welcome. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Harlem Renaissance House Hotel New York City
Harlem Renaissance House Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harlem Renaissance House B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.