We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Breslin

The Breslin
20 West 29th St, New York City, NY 10001 (Manhattan)
212-679-1939
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,562 of 11,776 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: American, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Manhattan
England
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I had breakfast here, and it was everything I needed. A friend has since told me their lamb burgers are incredible (but, hey, not ideal for breakfast, so I guess I'll just have to try it next time I visit!)
Food, drinks, staff, all fab!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    137
    63
    19
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
abrit74
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“MUST TRY THE LAMB BURGERS!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We had an excellent lunch at the Breslin. It was a great meal and reasonable prices for New York. We enjoyed the atmosphere and the food was excellent. We did have to wait over 30 minutes for a table and the lobby in the hotel had absolutely zero seating while you waited so that part was less than ideal. But overall we felt the wait was worth it for the quality of the meal. We had been told the lamb burgers were the best we would ever eat and I must agree. They were awesome!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
831 reviews 831 reviews
349 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
450 helpful votes 450 helpful votes
“Ate myself silly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I forget the American serving sizes and of course ordered too much as the food just looked great. But I paid for it afterwards with a stomach ache. Be careful if you are not used to the large US servicing sizes that you order what you can eat.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
livingston
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Seriously!?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Greeted by a hostess that had about as much personality as roadkill.
Was with a small group. Told they didnt open up dining room until 6pm (it was a Sunday) and that they would come get us at the bar. Fine . Had a drink, and at 6pm went back to to BrainDead Betty who said it would be a few minutes (she had already filled up most of the seating even though we were told we were first on the list). 20 minutes later, we were seated.
Saw the waitress twice during the hour and 45 minutes it took to get our food. Got more out of the food runner (ketchup, drink refill, napkin, check)
The rib eye steak ($120) was certainly not nearly enough for 3, which is what the waitress had said.
Pretty atmosphere, mediocre $22 burger, could have had a tremendous piece of steak in Luger's for what Breslin charges for the nugget sized rib eye.
Service was the worst. Portions were stupid, and quality par, nothing special.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Colorful and fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

If you want to have burger with a nice decor flair, this is a great place. The design is really cool and the food is very good. The open space kitchen makes it even more interesting. They have somewhat married 1920s style and architecture to post-modern mood and great music. The crowd is a mix of locals and visitors to the city and the food is delicious although expensive. It is worth visiting the restaurant to experience it and the Ace Hotel where it is located. I had a sumptuous burger with cumin feta and a tasty spinach salad.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Breslin also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to The Breslin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Breslin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.