We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel that lived up to previous reviews” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Distrikt Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Distrikt Hotel to your Saves list
Distrikt Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
BOOK NOW! UP TO 15% OFF
Ranked #18 of 454 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Jersey, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel that lived up to previous reviews”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This is a great hotel that we selected having read other reviews on Trip Advisor and we did not regret our decision once!

From the initial booking it was clear that this hotel is focused on customer sevice and ensuring that your stay will be a good one. Travelling with our two adult sons and mindful of the small number of rooms on each floor (just 5) we asked that our two rooms be as close together as possible - we were told best efforts would be made and when we checked in, we found out that our request had been remembered and both rooms were on the same floor. A good start.

We had Grand View rooms and they were perfect with plenty of drawer space and hanging areas. Super air conditioning (which was needed with average temps in the mid 30 degrees C), a very comfortable and large bed, quality TV with multiple channels, an easy to use but very secure safe, an ironing board, iron and coffee machine ensured that the room was well equiped. Our room had excellent sound proofing, room to room, but you could hear some corridor noise (although with only four other rooms on a foor this was minimal and simply individuals getting out of a lift and briefly talking before they accessed their own rooms).

I had read that some felt the power from the showers not to be too good but we found it to be more than adequate on the 25th floor. The bathroom was very well equippd with quality toiletries.

More than anything though the thing that set this hotel apart was the personal touches and the staff. They were extremely personable and had a true desire to assist. Little touches like the brownies on arrival, drinks in reception, the chocolates and weather forecast at night made you feel like you were a very honoured guest and that you were staying in a family orientated establishment - an oasis within one of the busiest cities in the world.

There was some buidling work adjacent the hotel but this did not affect our stay nor did it disturb us within our room.

I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel indeed, I would wonder why anyone would want to go anywhere ele!

Room Tip: We were on 25th floor and it was very quiet with good views. NYC is a busy and noisy city so my sugg...
See more room tips
Green Features: A living wall in reception is a pretty big green statement for starters but it was clear that throughout the hotel there is an evironmentally-friendly attitude
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,378
    770
    123
    16
    5
See reviews for
589
1,662
150
222
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (693)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This was a really nice experience and the staff was also really great. The rooms are a good size and have what you need. It's also really great that they have happy hour once in a while (it might've been every night but I don't remember!). Generally really satisfied with the hotel and recommend it for a weekend trip to NYC or the like!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The Distrikt is all that it promises - great staff, quiet rooms and hallways, close to Times Square. We appreciated all of it except we would rather not be so close to Times Square during our next visit where we had to wade through the crowds to go east or north. Also the hotel faces the side of the port authority building. On the plus, It's close to many transportation options, the theaters, the Javits center and the Highline.

Room Tip: Final note, we took the least expensive room - quite small for two and there literally wasn't a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Pros
Location - Close to Times Square, bus station, metro and Penn Railway station
Very friendly staff
Fairly New hotel With fresh rooms
Tasty and delicious breakfast
Great beds
For the first time - Excellent WiFi

Cons
None

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed here for a long weekend and loved it. The rooms were a good size for New York and the hotel is very modern. Our room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Free WiFi was nice to have at the hotel. The hotel is a very close walk to major attractions, including Times Square and major subway lines. There were also nice little touches that made our stay more pleasant: free brownies upon arrival, free lemonade/infused water daily, free snacks in the evening. They even had a car service that they use to get you to the airport for a reasonable price ($50 from the hotel to LGA). We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Very friendly staff. In a great location, just near Times Square but also just far enough away to feel like you are in the neighborhood. Had a good little bar which served great snacks, Also served great breakfast. definitely recommend

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I used to think hotels are not important, you only go there to sleep during your travels. However, as I'm getting wiser, I realize going 'home' after a busy day is actually as important as anything else on a trip. This hotel is able to get you away from the hustle and bustle of crazy busy NYC. It's surprisingly quiet, extremely clean, modern and feels secure. It's in a great location, only 5 minutes away from subway/train. I will return when in NYC.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Distrikt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distrikt Hotel

Address: 342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 454 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Distrikt Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A one of a kind, upscale boutique hotel, located in the heart of Midtown West, Times Square area on 40th Street between 8th and 9th Avenues. The Distrikt Hotel towers 32 stories tall with unobstructed views of the cityscape and Hudson River. Offers a unique experience with the concept of staying in one of ten neighborhoods of Manhattan within the hotel. The sleek lobby space features a 14 ft. green living wall representing Central Park and the check-in area welcomes guests to a hand carved wall of wood, detailing the streets of Manhattan. Airport grade 6/8 inch windows keep the sounds of Broadway where they belong. Additional complimentary amenities include: With dedication to detail with impeccable service, cutting edge technology, comfortable yet luxurious guestrooms, 4* amenities, and fresh cuisine with locally grown ingredients. Each of the 155 guestrooms are designed for the comfort and needs of the guest to include relaxing Simmons Beauty Rest mattresses, decadent Frette bed and bath linen, 37" LG flatscreen television, business desk with ergonomic chair, Ecru New York soaps and amenities, and wireless internet in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Distrikt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Distrikt Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.