We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Magnificent Seven went for their 60th Birthdays” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Distrikt Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Distrikt Hotel to your Saves list
Distrikt Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Up to 20% off!
Ranked #18 of 457 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Magnificent Seven went for their 60th Birthdays”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Perfect Location the staff were amazing and so helpful. Seven of us went to celebrate our 60th Birthdays this year all school friends. Rooms were smaller than anticipated but it didnt bother us as so much to see and do.

Room Tip: The Higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,467
    797
    126
    16
    5
See reviews for
607
1,716
156
224
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (726)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Like the title says; this is a great hotel if you're happy staying in this particular area. It's located on 40th street between 8th and 8th avenues. It has a parole office and an adult shop on the same street. To be honest, 8th and 9th avenues either side of the street aren't great. That being said, we didn't feel intimidated and the hotel itself was great. We were on the 26th floor with a view of the empire state to the left and the Hudson to the right. The rooms are a good size (for NYC) well furnished and spotlessly clean. The room did not have a bath but did have a good sized very powerful shower. Staff are friendly and helpful without being "in your face". This hotel would have been given 5 out of 5 but for the location.

Room Tip: Higher the better IMO
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Great location and excellent staff however. Rooms are poky and dark, and not enough storage for suitcases we kept falling over them. Wait ages for lift we used stairs more than lift despite being on 10th floor.
It was a great location - and the staff in General were very helpful. Probably be a good place to stay for one night

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Hotel was great for our NYC trip, 2-3 minute walk from subway station, 5-10 minute walk from time square.

The beds were amazingly comfortable, after a long day of walking round NYC and doing tourist stuff it was so nice to get into a comfortable bed,

Staff were very friendly and helpful and the rooms were very clean. I would stay in this hotel if I came to New York again.

I gave it 4 stars, I took one star off because our room key stopped working for our room door and we had to go to the reception each day to get it reprogrammed, and also my mam had tea and toast one morning and was charged for a continental breakfast of $11 which I think is pricey

Room Tip: Views out the window are not great but the rooms are comfortable and for NYC they are quiet too
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

For my third NYC staycation I had mixed feelings about Distrikt. But the room rate was competitive and it was only one night, so how bad could it be? Well, the good ratings are spot on—this is a terrific place to stay. Even though it's directly behind Port Authority, on one Manhattan's grittier-looking streets, the hotel itself is very nice. As many reviewers have noted, the staff are truly welcoming and the sleek premises are stylishly decorated and well appointed. We weren't able to get a high floor, but 601 was surprisingly quiet and pleasant, even though it didn't offer a view. We both liked the room's neutral decor and many small touches: a personalized welcome note, a gratis brownie, LATHER bath products, luxurious bed linens, Keurig coffeemaker, individual climate controls. The room wasn't huge but it was efficiently organized so we didn't feel cramped. Plus, the marvelous king bed was so wonderful! I never wanted to get out of it and slept very well. The only negatives were the fact that there was only one desk chair in the room (no seating area), and an orange my husband chose at breakfast was fibrous and dry. But the rest of our breakfast was fine and everything else about our stay was just great. I would definitely recommend this hotel for its warm service, central location near tons of great restaurants (check out the new Gotham West Market food hall on Eleventh and 44th), comfort, and relatively good value.

Room Tip: The rooms numbered 01 are a bit larger and further from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheadle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

Myself, my husband and two children (age 4 and 1) have just returned from a 5 night stay here. In NYC you don't tend to spend much time in your hotel, but the time we did spend here was excellent. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful, the hotel felt very safe, the breakfast was delicious and the room was brilliant. We had a deluxe double (2 double beds) and there was plenty of room to have a travel cot added plus space for the children to play.
Two blocks from Times Square, around a 30 minute walk to Central Park and lots of places to eat in the vicinity.
If we return to nyc we will definitely stay here again!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurst, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

This was a first time trip to NYC with my daughter. The hotel exceeded our expectations - the staff is so friendly and helpful. They taught us to use the subway and recommended places to eat. We had a king room that I understand is large by NY standards. It was extremely comfortable, clean and safe. The location of the hotel is ideal especially for a first trip. We always felt safe and you are close to all the activity of Times Square and can easily get to other parts of the city as well, but when you are ready to wind down for the night, Distrikt is relaxed and quiet. The turn-down service with chocolates and a weather forecast is such a delightful treat at the end of the day. I would strongly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting New York.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Distrikt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distrikt Hotel

Address: 342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 457 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Distrikt Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A one of a kind, upscale boutique hotel, located in the heart of Midtown West, Times Square area on 40th Street between 8th and 9th Avenues. The Distrikt Hotel towers 32 stories tall with unobstructed views of the cityscape and Hudson River. Offers a unique experience with the concept of staying in one of ten neighborhoods of Manhattan within the hotel. The sleek lobby space features a 14 ft. Green living wall representing Central Park and the check-in area welcomes guests to a hand carved wall of wood, detailing the streets of Manhattan. Airport grade 6/8 inch windows keep the sounds of Broadway where they belong. Additional complimentary amenities include: With dedication to detail with impeccable service, cutting edge technology, comfortable yet luxurious guestrooms, 4* amenities, and fresh cuisine with locally grown ingredients. Each of the 155 guestrooms are designed for the comfort and needs of the guest to include relaxing Simmons Beauty Rest mattresses, decadent Frette bed and bath linen, 37" LG flatscreen television, business desk with ergonomic chair, LATHER soaps and amenities, and wireless internet in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Distrikt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Distrikt Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.