We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Distrikt Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Distrikt Hotel to your Saves list
Distrikt Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic hotel!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for four nights in April and what a fantastic experience it was.
From the time we stepped into the lobby and we're met by great staff who booked us in for our stay and the young man who took our bags up to our AMAZING room! With a fantastic view over the Hudson River and Times Square.
The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was very clean.
The hotel is in the most perfect location for a tourist holiday - within walking distance of a number of different locations but if a taxi is what you require a member of staff is only too happy to get one for you.
Overall, this hotel was perfect and if return to New York we would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Definitely worth an upgrade for an up obstructed view of the Hudson River and Times Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,857 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,750
    930
    151
    18
    8
See reviews for
703
1,950
173
248
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (824)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Uk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

I would recommend this hotel to anyone going to New York. It exceeded our expectations & made our trip even more special. It's in a great location, very clean & the staff are amazing, they cannot do enough for you. I am so impressed. I even had a Birthday card & cake left in my room as they knew my trip was a Birthday celebration. I would not hesitate to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Your recommendation means everything to us, thank you so very much for taking the time to share on TripAdvisor. We do hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Brilliant hotel fantastic location for times square and fith avenue

my partner and I stayed here for 4 nights end of april and have to say cannot complain about the hotel staff are so friendly and always say hello when they see you rooms were lovely and clean and very spacious shower was fab too!!!

We used the green tour buses to get about it was $44 each for 3 days and was so worth it u could hop on and off and was a great way to see new york and stop was just 5 mins walk from hitel on times square .

Room Tip: If you want a good view upgrade to a room with view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
We appreciate you staying at Distrikt and for sharing your experience! We love the hop on/off buses and thank you for the recommendation to other guests. We hope to welcome you back to Distrikt in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Just came back after spending four nights at this hotel in Newyork , it is a two minutes walk onto time square , the staff were amazing ,our room was on the 18 th floor , a very large room with a big bathroom , lots of tea and coffee and chocolates were left at night and a daily weather report for the following day also ,beds were so comfy , defiantly stay here again

Room Tip: For a good view of the Hudson River 18 th floor or above
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here during our break away for my fiancee's 30th birthday. When we arrived at the Distrikt we were instantly greeted by Jonathan who took our bags and helped us check-in. All of the staff that we met during our stay were friendly and polite (even maintenance!), and couldn't do enough for us. Nothing was ever too much trouble. The room itself was great, with all the amenities as described and spacious, considering room space in New York is very limited. We plan to come back to New York for my 30th birthday and will only be looking to stay at the Distrikt!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

I spent four nights at the Distrikt Hotel. I was on the 8th Floor with a room facing the back.
The room was of a good size and the bed was very comfortable. The room and bathroom were very clean. The staff were friendly and always greeted me when leaving or returning to the hotel after being out for the day.The coffee/tea making machine was great and very much appreciated. The location was perfect for my needs. Easy to walk to a lot of sights Broadway, Times Square etc. and for shopping. I got the airport bus for $16.00 to the Port Authority and walked less than five minutes to the hotel with a suit case and golf clubs. If I return to New York I would definately book this hotel again

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

In previous visits to New York the hotel rooms I have stayed in have been small, shabby and expensive. My visit to the Distrikt hotel was a revelation; very friendly and efficient reception staff, large new room with modern bathroom including large walk in shower, complimentary brownie, chocolates on the pillow, free wifi, and a free breakfast voucher. The bed was comfortable, there was a large flat screen TV and the breakfast was good. All the staff in the hotel were friendly, efficient and enthusiastic. I can't recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#24 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 357 reviews
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#31 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,976 reviews
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#22 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#7 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,625 reviews
Midtown
Cassa Hotel Times Square
Cassa Hotel Times Square
#53 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 338 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#23 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distrikt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distrikt Hotel

Address: 342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Distrikt Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A one of a kind, upscale boutique hotel, located in the heart of Midtown West, Times Square area on 40th Street between 8th and 9th Avenues. The Distrikt Hotel towers 32 stories tall with unobstructed views of the cityscape and Hudson River. Offers a unique experience with the concept of staying in one of ten neighborhoods of Manhattan within the hotel. The sleek lobby space features a 14 ft. Green living wall representing Central Park and the check-in area welcomes guests to a hand carved wall of wood, detailing the streets of Manhattan. Airport grade 6/8 inch windows keep the sounds of Broadway where they belong. Additional complimentary amenities include: With dedication to detail with impeccable service, cutting edge technology, comfortable yet luxurious guestrooms and 4* amenities. Fresh cuisine with locally grown ingredients offered in the bistro as well as complimentary hors d'oeuvres in the bar for Happy Hour. Each of the 155 guestrooms are designed for the comfort and needs of the guest to include relaxing Simmons Beauty Rest mattresses, decadent Frette bed and bath linen, 37" LG flatscreen television, business desk with ergonomic chair, LATHER soaps and amenities, and wireless internet in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Otel, Priceline, getaroom.com, Choice Hotels and Hotels.com so you can book your Distrikt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Distrikt Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.