We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Distrikt Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Distrikt Hotel to your Saves list
Distrikt Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% OFF YOUR NEXT STAY
Ranked #22 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

I recently stayed at the Distrikt Hotel. It is a wonderful starting point for a visit to NYC. The staff is wonderful and always a smile.
The location is great! Just 2-3 blocks from Time Square. There are a few strip clubs and porn shops near the hotel, but that is part of any big city. I was with my sister and niece. I was fine with them walking past these stores alone.
The rooms are small, but well appointed and very nicely remodeled. The rooms are very clean. The beds were very comfortable, actually one of the best I have slept on.
Iced Tea offered in the lobby was a nice touch.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for choosing Distrikt and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,790 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,710
    906
    149
    17
    8
See reviews for
682
1,917
170
245
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (815)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lanark, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

A fantastic location, right next to a subway station, Times Square and Macy's! (A 5-10 minute walk.) The staff were super and couldn't do enough to help us, even after we had checked out. Our room was beautiful, the bed amazingly comfortable and a shower to die for! Being on the same street as Port Authority had some real upsides! If you are prepared to walk then everything is reachable (we even walked to the New York water taxi!) if not, hop in a taxi, or even cheaper then the subway. Our room was cleaned to a high standard every day and we were treated to gorgeous cake for a special birthday. It's the little details that count and Distrikt has them by the bucket load! Don't hesitate to book!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
We certainly hope you were able to sleep while you were with us! Thanks so much for taking the time to review your experience at Distrikt, we are so very glad you chose us for such a special visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fulham, London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Having been fortunate enough to stay at some of the best (read priciest) hotels in NYC, and settled into a routine by always staying at one of the Grand Dames, we were wondering how foolish it was to be always spending >$1000 a night, and what can a more modest budget get us. We would pick 3 hotels under $500 and see how the experience compares. At the Distrikt, for $300 a night, we got the best service of any hotel after travelling to this fair city for 20 years. It was like staying at an old friend's place. The rooms are perfectly good for the price. But the two things I appreciated the most 1) I turn up sheepishly having made the wrong reservation. I needed two beds but knew they were fully booked and that our room was too small for a roll out. I mentioned this, and the girl at reception very pleasantly went off to see what she could do, which was a complimentary room upgrade, with two big beds and the loveliest views... 2) Much later that night, I went down to reception for directions to a cafe for a nice cup of tea, and the person I spoke to told me my options but then offers "..but I can make you a cup of tea" - Really? "...but that is *so* thoughtful I say, can you charge it to my room. "...OH don't worry, no charge". It was like he was my friend and we wandered off to make tea, chatted a while and he made the perfect cup. I almost don't want to relate this anecdote incase everyone who comes here expects free tea. I think he saw the crazed "I need tea" look and figured it was the merciful thing to do. It was such a small thing, but was emblematic of the entire stay. In the frenetic pace of the city, where ultimately everything is a transaction, here we found that most elusive of things: genuine, old-fashioned hospitality. The staff here are all exceptional, I thank them and I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
If a review could define why I practically run to work every morning, then yours does exactly that. I cannot thank you enough for recognizing the team's indefatigable service and the culture that we hope everyone experiences at Distrikt. We thank you for entrusting your stay with us and for promising to return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Boutique hotel 2 short blocks from Times Square, it is right across from the Port Authority Terminal where you can get buses and the subway plus alot of dinning choices. The size of the rooms are standard NYC size, small but comfortable, the bedding and decor is fantastic, modern and the beds are extremely comfortable. Welcome treat and the nightly turn down service are the extras I don't expect, but add immensely to the experience Distrikt Hotel provides.
This is the 2nd time I have stayed here and wouldn't change my accommodation choice for New York at all.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
We thank you for returning to us and for your lovely review of Distrikt. We couldn't ask for more than your promise to return again, and are immensely grateful for it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We loved this hotel. My 13 year old daughter said the staff felt like friends - they seemed genuinely interested in guests as individuals. The location was perfect and the hotel itself was first class. Definitely hope to return.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Your daughter's words are the epitome of what we strive for at Distrikt. Thank you so much for sharing with the TripAdvisor community and allow us to hope for your return as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Distrikt as part of our honeymoon and we cannot speak highly enough of the hotel and the staff. Everything was just fantastic. The hotel is lovely and the location is fab! So close to many of the must see sights of NYC. Our room was spacious and immaculately clean. We had a grand view king room and could see the bright lights of Times Square from our room but yet the room was nice and quiet. The staff were so helpful and friendly and always stopped to great us when we were leaving the hotel or returning. They delivered a lovely cake and card to our room congratulating us on our honeymoon which was a lovely touch. They also organised I our transfer to the airport when we were leaving which was great! All in all we had a fantastic stay and cannot wait to return..hopefully in the not too distant future!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
We are always thrilled to celebrate with our guests, and honeymooners are understandably extra special. Thank you for allowing us to be part of your very special memories and do come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Just arrived home after a 5 night stay at the Distrikt hotel with my family. What an amazing experience for our first visit to NYC. We were on the 30th floor which gave us a superb view of the city. The room was very quiet and so clean and comfortable. The staff were all so fabulous from providing cake for birthdays and making phone calls on our behalf for our airport transfers. Nothing was too much trouble and we were greeted with smiles from everyone. Hugo and Manny deserve a special mention!! The hotel is in a wonderful location, we walked everywhere apart from ground zero and the subway for this was just around the corner. We couldn't have asked for more and would definitely return to the Distrikt hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
We not only thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor, but also for the personal recognition of those team members who stood out in their service...they will be delighted!
We truly appreciate your recommendation and look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#16 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 334 reviews
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#28 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,894 reviews
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#19 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#8 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,557 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#13 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,663 reviews
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distrikt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distrikt Hotel

Address: 342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Distrikt Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A one of a kind, upscale boutique hotel, located in the heart of Midtown West, Times Square area on 40th Street between 8th and 9th Avenues. The Distrikt Hotel towers 32 stories tall with unobstructed views of the cityscape and Hudson River. Offers a unique experience with the concept of staying in one of ten neighborhoods of Manhattan within the hotel. The sleek lobby space features a 14 ft. Green living wall representing Central Park and the check-in area welcomes guests to a hand carved wall of wood, detailing the streets of Manhattan. Airport grade 6/8 inch windows keep the sounds of Broadway where they belong. Additional complimentary amenities include: With dedication to detail with impeccable service, cutting edge technology, comfortable yet luxurious guestrooms and 4* amenities. Fresh cuisine with locally grown ingredients offered in the bistro as well as complimentary hors d'oeuvres in the bar for Happy Hour. Each of the 155 guestrooms are designed for the comfort and needs of the guest to include relaxing Simmons Beauty Rest mattresses, decadent Frette bed and bath linen, 37" LG flatscreen television, business desk with ergonomic chair, LATHER soaps and amenities, and wireless internet in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Choice Hotels, Venere, Agoda, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Distrikt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Distrikt Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.