We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Distrikt Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Distrikt Hotel to your Saves list
Distrikt Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Up to 20% off!
Ranked #18 of 459 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

The Distrikt Hotel exceeded expectations. We have stayed in more
expensive hotels in NYC but this one is far superior. The room is
spacious and nicely appointed. Great water pressure & hot temp in the
shower. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The location is ideal for
great restaurants and the theatre.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Nothing could please us more than exceeding your expectations. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and thank you for your recommendation. We look forward to the next time we can welcome you to Distrikt Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,474
    800
    126
    16
    5
See reviews for
608
1,722
156
224
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (730)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Booked this hotel having checked previous trip advisor reviews and was not disappointed, in fact I can recommend this hotel for its location, service and quality in particular the reception staff who were awesome! this hotel played a big part in a fantastic overall experience of New York.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
With so many choices we are very grateful that you chose our hotel for your New York City stay. Thank you for your kind comments and review and for recommending us to fellow TripAdvisor readers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami,
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

I have been an guest of the Distrikt Hotel for almost four years. I have always had exceptional treatment and a wonderful room too!

Ms. Jennifer Rota is the best. So professional, helpful and kind. She is a pro at being the GM of the Distrikt Hotel.

My room (3001) was amazing and the housekeeping was perfect. Loved the appetizers in the restaurant in the evenings.

Her staff is first rate, Peter was superior in his help with several items including check in. Nesha, always great, friendly, Will, a shining star, David, super and kind and Kwame helped me with a cab!

I highly, highly recommend the Distrikt Hotel!!

LVH, Florida

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
I consider myself to be very lucky indeed, to be able to get to know to such lovely guests as yourself. It is experiences like yours that affirm everything we truly believe in. Thank you so very much for your lovely comments , your recognition of Peter and the team. We hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Came here for my 21st and had an amazing time in NewYork and all the staff at the hotel was very nice and all wished me a happy birthday and had a card and cake from the staff which i though was really nice. Would defiantly come again! Recommend to anyone who comes to NewYork.. Hotel was very clean and staff were great and really helpful!

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for including us in such a special celebration. We are also grateful for your review and your recommendation. We will pass on your kind comments to our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

My expectations were pretty low when I secured a $99 per night rate at this hotel, but, I figured, what the heck. Boy, I’m so glad I open my Travelzoo Weekly Top 20 emails because I would’ve missed out on this great boutique hotel discovery. Of course, $99 room rates are hard to come by during peak periods, but I would’ve been just as pleased spending $250 per night for my stay in room 1505. By NYC standards, the room was perfect for me and my fiancé. The bathroom was clean and spacious. I also really appreciated the “extras” - free WiFi, bedtime snacks, personal welcome letter from management, etc. The king-sized bed was comfortable and the room just large enough for a two or three-night stay. Will, a front desk attendant, was very friendly and attentive. I’m glad I spent my birthday weekend at the Distrikt Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
We are glad that you took a chance with us as well. Thank you for sharing your celebration and thank you for choosing our hotel. We appreciate your review and hope we can welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorks
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

My wife and daughter have just arrived back from visiting New York for the first time as part of my wife's BIG birthday celebrations.......they have had a fantastic time generally, even though "it's absolutely freezing!!!" comments were order of the day. They have nothing but great comments about the Distrikt Hotel, Perfect, Friendly and in a great position were the answers when I enquired how they had found it, "we'll be staying there when we go next time". So its a big thank you to Tripadvisor and the reviewers because without them my daughter would not have found this Gem. Friends that went at the same time hadn't checked the reviews and bragged about the slightly cheaper deal that they had got...oh dear met up whilst there and their hotel was a dump.
If you are thinking of staying here then just book it, you wont get better.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Hotel was somewhere between good and great for its price range. Staff very helpful. Neisha helped us find a Penguin bar. Bathroom was exceptionally well designed and lots of towels. We were there in cold, snow, and sleet for four nights so enjoyed the cocoa in the lobby. While I read the reviews, I didn't realize how small the hotel is. We almost walked past it. And that section of 40th isn't very attractive. But it is convenient. Many restaurants nearby are fun and reasonable
We had a sliver of a view and had planned to go next door to the sky room but didn't make it. Wished the distrikt had some kind relationship with that hotel to make it a little more convenient to visit. I didn't think I would miss a fitness room but I did. I like to take an early morning walk but the weather didn't cooperate. It would have been nice to have a small fitness room with just a couple of treadmills.

Room Tip: High up, toward 8th.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Distrikt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distrikt Hotel

Address: 342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Distrikt Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A one of a kind, upscale boutique hotel, located in the heart of Midtown West, Times Square area on 40th Street between 8th and 9th Avenues. The Distrikt Hotel towers 32 stories tall with unobstructed views of the cityscape and Hudson River. Offers a unique experience with the concept of staying in one of ten neighborhoods of Manhattan within the hotel. The sleek lobby space features a 14 ft. Green living wall representing Central Park and the check-in area welcomes guests to a hand carved wall of wood, detailing the streets of Manhattan. Airport grade 6/8 inch windows keep the sounds of Broadway where they belong. Additional complimentary amenities include: With dedication to detail with impeccable service, cutting edge technology, comfortable yet luxurious guestrooms, 4* amenities, and fresh cuisine with locally grown ingredients. Each of the 155 guestrooms are designed for the comfort and needs of the guest to include relaxing Simmons Beauty Rest mattresses, decadent Frette bed and bath linen, 37" LG flatscreen television, business desk with ergonomic chair, LATHER soaps and amenities, and wireless internet in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Distrikt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Distrikt Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.