We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant surprise... Midtown, new, clean, great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Distrikt Hotel

Save Saved
You added Distrikt Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Distrikt Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
UP TO 20% OFF ROOM RATE
Ranked #16 of 451 hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very pleasant surprise... Midtown, new, clean, great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

I needed three nights near 8th and 40th for a business trip and hated the idea of having to pay midtown Manhattan rates. So I found this "Distrikt" place, which I'd never heard of before. Showed up the day of the Manhattan Marathon, so the lobby crowd was a mite mixed and the staff had that "we're young trendy and live in Manhattan and you do not" kind of look...

... and then I approached one. Very friendly, efficient, helpful. It was like that the whole three days. Talked once to a guy named Hugo, who seemed to be there 24 hours a day, and he remembered my name, as did most of the staff. Turns out the hotel is new, built around 2010 where there was once a parking lot, so it's all new. Right by the subway (no surprise, it's midtown) and the Port Authority, which didn't help me but would be pretty useful for others. Definitely returning for my next trip and recommend it to others. Remember, it's New York City, so don't be surprised when that $240/night room becomes $400/night after taxes. -- Mark Minasi

Room Tip: I suspect they're all good. It's a new high-rise and it seemed there were only a handful of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Distrikt on TripAdvisor. We are very proud to have earned your accolades and also your promise to return to us in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,108 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,259
    716
    113
    15
    5
See reviews for
553
1568
146
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (655)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cumbria
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We stayed 5 nights(18/11/13 to 23/11/13) at the Distrikt We have stayed in New York quite a few times this Hotel was by far the Best.The staff from the desk ,bar ,cleaners ,concierge were all helpful friendly never forgot a face Peter ,Saharah ,the room was excellent and kept to a high standard of cleanliness a bonus is tea & coffee in the rooms, along with hot apple cider which is in the lobby as you enter the hotel. We couldn't find any negatives with the hotel we will be booking this hotel for our next visit and will be recommending it to our friends for a great place stay

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
We are very grateful for your lovely review of Distrikt on TripAdvisor. The team will be quite humbled by your compliments, thank you for recognizing their efforts. We are beyond thrilled that you will choose us for your next NYC visit, and look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Really happy with this hotel stayed for six nights it was our first time in NYC.
All staff were really friendly and helpful, room size was good we had a deluxe double room on floor 28 which had views of the Empire State Building and Hudson River.
The hotel location was ideal for Times Square and Broadway I didn't find the location unsafe even with the parole office just up the street I was quite surprised how safe I felt in NYC generally.
The hotel is close to Hell's Kitchen area where there are loads of eateries, we really enjoyed a French restaurant called marseille which was a few minutes walk and the food was fantastic.
The only criticism for the hotel room was that it could have been a tiny bit cleaner a few areas were a bit dusty, the room was cleaned daily though.
If I ever return to NYC I would definitely stay here again.
A tip for anyone sightseeing like we were is to buy a New York City pass which can save loads on entry into all the major attractions we paid £100 for a three day pass and used it for £300 worth of attractions.

Room Tip: High rooms for best views and less road noise. A room next to the lift like ours 2803 meant slight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to have earned your regard and recommendation. We are glad you were able to experience the great restaurants on 9th Avenue. We've dispatched our housekeeping inspectors to your room to see what we have missed, thank you for letting us know. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Distrikt again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottdale, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Stayed here after reading reviews. Honestly, this place is perfect for a stay in NYC. First of all the staff at the hotel was absolutely great. From the people at the desk ,to the concierge, to the housekeeping staff. They were always friendly and helpful. John was a great help. It was our first time to NYC and we had a ton of questions...The location was perfect for us. Near to Times Square, theatres, subways restaurants and shopping. If you don't mind walking a little further you can walk to Macy's, Bryant Park, St. Peters and Rockerfeller Center. The room is modern, big, quiet and clean. The cost was reasonable, especially for NYC. If we ever get a chance to return to NYC I' go back to the Distrikt.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. Our team is very grateful for the recognition. We are happy to hear that you might return, and hope to help you discover even more NYC when you do!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steinkjer
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Pleasant stay in New York. The hotel was just 5 min from Times Square, so very central. All services was nice and pleasant from the staff. New York is not more expensive than other big cities I`ve visited, so strange that hotels are double priced. That`s the only negative thing.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Distrikt. We are pleased that you enjoyed our amenities and service, and do hope you will return. Unfortunately October is one of the busiest and priciest in the city, maybe we can assist in your plans next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed 07 - 12 November and thoroughly enjoyed our stay with Distrikt. I emailed the hotel in advance to inform them of my partners 30th birthday and on our arrival we were upgraded to a Deluxe King Room which was a nice touch and we received a mini birthday cake!

The hotel is situated a few blocks from Times Square and very conveniently has the major bus terminal on the end of the street. This proved handy for when we wanted to get the bus to the designer outlet, Woodbury Common.

The staff in Distrikt are very nice and friendly and extremely helpful. I would definitely stay in Distrikt again! Good value, good location, clean rooms and free tea/coffee in rooms.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for including Distrikt in your special celebration! We appreciate you taking the time to review us and are proud to have earned your recommendation. We can't wait to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

I have just returned from my first ever visit to NYC with my wife for my 40th birthday. We stayed 3 nights in the Distrikt hotel on 40th street (340W) and what a fabulous little hotel this is. From arrival to departure all the staff within the hotel were courteous, very friendly and basically couldn't do or help you enough to make us feel welcome. My wife emailed the hotel prior to arrival requesting a possible upgrade - we got it!! (Grand King room) this had a wonderful view of the Hudson to the right and Empire State to the left. The rooms itself were clean, spacious and very well equipped - large TV on wall with 100s of channels, robes and toiletries in the bathroom, a lovely tea/coffee making machine, superb King size bed with the best mattress / pillows i have ever slept on and free unlimited Wi-Fi in every room. The hotel also offers a 2 hr happy hour where there are free snacks and cut priced drinks available in the spacious bar area to the rear of the lobby area. There is free wifi everywhere and they also have hot apple cider available free all day next to reception. We never tried the breakfast as we thought it would be nice to eat out at those traditional American diners but from what i could see it all looked very nice and plentiful. The location is within walking distance (2 blocks) from Times Sq/ 42nd St and 1 min away from the subway and bus terminal. I will 110% recommend this place to one and all and I certainly will come back again when we re-visit NYC in years to come.

Room Tip: Try and get an upgrade if you haven't booked a room with one of the views either overlooking the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
We thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. The team is always thrilled to join in on celebrations with our guests, and appreciate you choosing us for such an important visit. We are pleased you enjoyed the amenities and service, and cannot thank you enough for the recommendation. We look forward to helping you plan your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Distrikt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distrikt Hotel

Address: 342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 451 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Distrikt Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A one of a kind, upscale boutique hotel, located in the heart of Midtown West, Times Square area on 40th Street between 8th and 9th Avenues. The Distrikt Hotel towers 32 stories tall with unobstructed views of the cityscape and Hudson River. Offers a unique experience with the concept of staying in one of ten neighborhoods of Manhattan within the hotel. The sleek lobby space features a 14 ft. green living wall representing Central Park and the check-in area welcomes guests to a hand carved wall of wood, detailing the streets of Manhattan. Airport grade 6/8 inch windows keep the sounds of Broadway where they belong. Additional complimentary amenities include: With dedication to detail with impeccable service, cutting edge technology, comfortable yet luxurious guestrooms, 4* amenities, and fresh cuisine with locally grown ingredients. Each of the 155 guestrooms are designed for the comfort and needs of the guest to include relaxing Simmons Beauty Rest mattresses, decadent Frette bed and bath linen, 37" LG flatscreen television, business desk with ergonomic chair, Ecru New York soaps and amenities, and wireless internet in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Tingo, Orbitz, Travelocity, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Distrikt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Distrikt Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.