We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the friendliest hotels” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Distrikt Hotel

Save Saved
You added Distrikt Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Distrikt Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
UP TO 20% OFF ROOM RATE
Ranked #17 of 453 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Musselburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“One of the friendliest hotels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Just back from a 4 night trip here booked in January at a great but non refundable rate. Supposed to go with my partner but he was unwell so a pal came instead after asking if I could get an extra bed at no extra charge I was upgraded to a room with 2 double beds on 29th floor. Stunning views. Warm welcome on arrival with a glass of warm apple cider. Free tea and coffee In lobby along with access to 3 computers. Wifi available in rooms at no charge. Hotel was clean, modern and in a great central location. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Totally happy with 2902 on 29t floor funnily enough!!
See more room tips
Green Features: Uses green products which were lovely and were replenished as required
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. Thank you for your wonderful review and for your recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,340
    753
    120
    16
    5
See reviews for
580
1,630
148
220
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (681)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Anyone who has read my reviews knows that it's about cleanliness, quietness, and comfort of the bed. Distrikt was very clean and very quiet. Bed was fairly good. I wouldn't hesitate to stay again or recommend to anyone. The location is primo. The staff was wonderful! They are friendly and personable, ready to assist with anything. After a long flight, we arrived early and needed to wait in the bar/restaurant area for about an hour. They offered to store our luggage, but we really wanted to unpack and freshen up. The bar has fairly limited hours (opens late and closes early) for us, but it's great to have one on-site. I was very, very pleased with the accomodations.

Room Tip: We faced the street, which you might think is noisy...not so.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
We are extremely happy (and proud) to have earned your high rating on TripAdvisor. Thank you for taking the time to review us, and for mentioning the cleanliness, service and comfort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

When looking for a hotel for a recent trip to New York that included running the NYC Marathon we chose this hotel based on great reviews on this site. We were not disappointed, the reviews were acurate. Although it is situated on a relatively small, quiet street that at first appeared a little seedy, it felt safe and any anxieties were quickly dispelled. (On an early morning solo trip from the hotel, I felt secure as a lone female.) The hotel itself had very hospitable staff who made us feel very welcome. The room was very clean with contemporary decor. With only 4 rooms per floor, there was very little disturbance. Beds were extremely comfortable. The location could not have been better and with the exception of a subway ride to lower Manhattan, we were able to walk everywhere. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel - it had everything we needed and was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
We are so very happy to have met your expectations and even exceeded them in regards to our location. We are grateful that you took the time to share your experience and are pleased to have earned your recommendation. Thank you for your lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

When you've just arrived at your hotel after almost 12 hours traveling, you know you're in for a good time when you're welcomed with some - free - hot apple cider and mac and cheese!
We arrived at Distrikt in time for happy hour, which was Hallowe'en themed since it was October 31st. There's a happy hour every evening between 5-7pm with drinks and snacks.
This is the second time that I have stayed here and I was delighted to discover that it was just as good - if not better - than I remembered.
Staff are extremely friendly - Hugo on the door remembers everyone's name - and they can't do enough to make you feel welcome.
We had a lovely double double on a higher floor with more than enough room and possibly one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in.
I'll be returning to New York in 2014 and won't even think of staying anywhere but Distrikt. Great work, guys!

Room Tip: If you are booking online, drop the reception an email and they may be able to give you a room on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for allowing us to welcome you back to Distrikt! We are delighted to have exceeded your expectations this second time, and are thrilled you were able to celebrate Halloween with us. We appreciate the high marks and recommendation, and do hope to make it #3 soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Everything was great, starting with the fact that I had requested and got a quiet room at the back. I have been to NY a few times, and this is the best we have ever slept. Most hotels ignore room requests!
The rooms are a good size, very modern & clean, with heating & a/c (it was chilly, then got really hot when we were there.) Good size bathroom, and toiletries.
Tea & coffee making facilities were great, with good tea ( I did not have to us my tea bags which most of us Brits tend to do!)
The staff were great and had that USA "can do" spirit. They seem to genuinely enjoy their jobs, which was lovely to see.
We felt very safe there, as the hotel lobby is small, so there are not a lot of people milling around, as there is in other larger hotels. The street is unlovely, but at the hotel end, there are other hotels, and I think it may be a bit of an upcoming area.
We loved the hot cider in the lobby, and the free wifi and computers, so we could easily contact home.
This is our fave hotel, and we will be back. We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
It was our pleasure to have been able to fulfill your requests and exceed expectations. Thank you so much for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We could not ask for more than such high ratings and a promise to be back...we look forward to it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

The Distrikt Hotel is simply but beautifuly decorated, the rooms are a good size, the bathrooms are lush but it is the staff and the personal touches that made this hotel unique, from the exceptionally helpful, welcoming and friendly staff , to the weather postcards and the chocolates each night on returning to the hotel, to the gorgeous cheesecake we had left for us on our first night to welcome us.
The location has its good and bad points, its opposite port authority station side entrance which is great for the subway. It is about 2 blocks from the bottom of Times Square so pretty handy but without the noise. The only bad point about the location was the rest of the street was slightly salubrious, having said that, it didn't pose a problem to us.
I would wholeheartedly recommend this hotel to couple visiting New York. Loved it and miss the uber comfy beds still!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 29th floor, maybe could be better serviced with an extra lift, but space is such a...
See more room tips
Green Features: Good, seems in line with other hotels, I don't know what else that there is to say!
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for such a lovely review of TripAdvisor. We truly appreciate your mention of our amenities, special touches and service. We are honored to have earned your recommendation and hope you'll be back visiting those beds soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We picked this hotel based on reviews and location and were not disappointed. Whilst the street could have been nicer it's hardly the fault of the hotel. The location was great, 5 minutes from Times Square, no need for subway use apart from one day. We never saw any trouble and the Beer Authority pub at the end of the street was a great place to have a drink, they do food too. Room size as you'd expect for NY, clean, modern, storage space a little lacking for 3 though, but we managed. Breakfast in the hotel is great and very well priced, a good way to start the busy day in NY, included hot and cold drinks. Very good value for money and good service too. The lobby staff were very helpful and friendly, leaving our bags on the last day to go out and about was very organised, thanks to them. We couldn't fault the hotel overall and would happily recommend and use again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
We are very glad you found Distrikt through reviews and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience as well. Thank you for the mention of our breakfast, amenities and service, we are thrilled to have earned your recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Distrikt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distrikt Hotel

Address: 342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Distrikt Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A one of a kind, upscale boutique hotel, located in the heart of Midtown West, Times Square area on 40th Street between 8th and 9th Avenues. The Distrikt Hotel towers 32 stories tall with unobstructed views of the cityscape and Hudson River. Offers a unique experience with the concept of staying in one of ten neighborhoods of Manhattan within the hotel. The sleek lobby space features a 14 ft. green living wall representing Central Park and the check-in area welcomes guests to a hand carved wall of wood, detailing the streets of Manhattan. Airport grade 6/8 inch windows keep the sounds of Broadway where they belong. Additional complimentary amenities include: With dedication to detail with impeccable service, cutting edge technology, comfortable yet luxurious guestrooms, 4* amenities, and fresh cuisine with locally grown ingredients. Each of the 155 guestrooms are designed for the comfort and needs of the guest to include relaxing Simmons Beauty Rest mattresses, decadent Frette bed and bath linen, 37" LG flatscreen television, business desk with ergonomic chair, Ecru New York soaps and amenities, and wireless internet in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Distrikt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Distrikt Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.