We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyed our stay and would stay again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Distrikt Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Distrikt Hotel to your Saves list
Distrikt Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off all 2015!
Ranked #19 of 457 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed our stay and would stay again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The hotel is in a great location. The hotel is located right down the street from a subway stop and very close to good restaurants. We stayed at the hotel the weekend of Comic Con and there were so many people walking down our street so we always felt safe. The shower pressure in the hotel is amazing and the room for us was standard size. Hugo was the employee that stood out to us. He was very friendly and remembered our name. He was so glad to see us return and made us feel like we were coming home. If you are attending anything at the Javits Convention Center, this location is in perfect walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for finding Distrikt on your recent trip to New York City! We can't wait to share your lovely comments with our team and especially Hugo. We appreciate your recommendation and hope to see you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,550
    829
    133
    17
    6
See reviews for
634
1,780
158
231
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (758)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hannover, Germany
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed at Distrikt Hotel for a week and had a wonderful time. The hotel is ideally situated near Port Authority. You can easily walk to Times Square. We had a nice room which was clean. The room service as well as the restaurant within the hotel, where we had breakfast was good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Distrikt on TripAdvisor! We are most appreciative for your comments and recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This was our second stay at the Distrikt within the last year. Both times we stayed 5 nights. Check in was fast and easy. The hotel staff were courteous, professional and friendly. The rooms are a bit small, but it's NYC we weren't in the room much. The bed was very comfortable. The shower had great water pressure. We had a keurig coffee machine in the room which was great. In the morning, the lobby provided free coffee and switched to refreshing cucumber water and iced tea in the afternoon and evenings. The hotel location is good close to hell's kitchen, theatre district, Times Square, etc. The parole office by the hotel did not bother us a bit. We never once felt unsafe.

Our only negatives for the hotel are:

1. An employee was suppose to check into getting a credit back onto our credit card. She was
going to email me the information. Still waiting on that email. Now I need to put in a dispute with my credit card company.

2. During our recent stay, my husband was sitting at the bar and an off duty employee bummed
a cigarette off him. My husband was quite certain the person was a hotel employee because he walked behind the bar to chat with the bartender and went into the kitchen. Very unprofessional to bum something off a hotel guest.

3. Rooms need a refrigerator.

Room Tip: Request a higher floor. City noise is not as loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your review of Distrikt. We appreciate you taking the time and recommending us. We are, however, worried that we dropped the ball and that the charge in question has not been dealt with properly. Would you email me at jrota@distrikthotel.com so we can assist? Please accept my personal apology for our team member's breach of professionalism in asking for a cigarette. I was quite shocked and appalled and believe we know who made such an egregious error of judgment. It is one of the many benefits of this forum that we are able to hear both what we are doing right, and also wrong. We thank you for pointing these failings out to us. We do hope you will stay with us again, and we will make sure we deliver a mini-fridge to your room upon arrival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nr Edinburgh
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

From the minute we arrived we received a lovely friendly welcome. Hugo on Reception couldnt have been more helpful from advising how to find buses, specific shops, etc, to running to the bottom of the steet in the pouring rain to get us a taxi (needless to say he got soaked to the skin while all the time smiling). You would never get such service in the UK. The rooms were fantastic with a beautiful ensuite (great shower), the beds were turned down each night with chocolates on pillows and a card advising of the following days weather. It is central to everything and directly across the road from the bus station. We had a room at the back of the hotel on the 3rd floor and couldn't hear a thing from outside. The only downside I can think of is that your key only allows access to the floor where your room is and the lobby - we had friends on the 8th floor and had to use the stairs to visit them (obviously a security thing but after a few drinks the lift would have been easier lol).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely review and recognition of our team. We are most grateful that your time with us was made better by their efforts. Next time we will make sure to get you and your friends on the same floor! Much easier!!! Thank you again for your recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Couldn't fault the friendliness of the staff, or the cleanliness of the rooms. Very comfortable beds. Great location, easy to access all the touristy places. Car arranged through hotel for return to airport was great, lovely friendly driver. Would definitely recommend and return ourselves.

Room Tip: The higher the better. We started off on the 2nd floor but were disappointed with the lack of view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words and praise of Distrikt on TripAdvisor. We will share your comments with the car service, they will be very grateful for the recognition. Your recommendation means a great deal to us, but more your promise to return...we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

We just got back from a 5 night stay at the distrikt hotel. We booked our transport through the hotel from jfk - the distrikt, this was a surprise for my mum as it was her 60 th birthday , the surprise was on me due to no driver being there waiting for us, i gave it 20 mins then phoned the hotel who appologised and said they would send a driver, 2 hours after landing we finaly got the car to the hotel. When at the hotel staff were very nice and rooms lovely ,we were on the 28th floor , location not great. But never felt threatened at all even though it was just me and my mum. Would i stay there again yes.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. Your review set off a bit of an investigation regarding the car service we select for our guests...and well...we are switching to one that has more safeguards to ensure a situation like yours will not happen again. We apologize that the visit got off to a bad start, but do appreciate that we were able to turn the experience around once you arrived. Please let me know when you plan your next visit, so I can personally see to your details, jrota@distrikthotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

My family and I had high expectations of the Distrikt considering the great reviews. They did not disappoint! Reception staff promptly checked us and & arranged our bags to be taken to our room. Our room was beautifully presented, modern and clean. Whilst the rooms are not big( New York hotel rooms are normally small anyway), we didn't feel squashed with 2 adults & 2 young children.
The free internet in the lobby and the ability to print to the reception desk came in handy when wanting to book and print tickets for sight seeing. The reception staff always greeted our family upon leaving and returning to the hotel, the iced cold refreshments after a long hot day provided in the lobby were fantastic. Especially with my 4 yr old twins who now love making cucumber iced water back home in Australia!
We had breakfast one morning in the restaurant downstairs, it had everything you would want for a continental breakfast. The lady who served us was an absolute delight, I wish I could recall her name but she had black curly hair and I think her name started with L? Anyway she was so welcoming, helpful, friendly and certainly kept our boys entertained whilst my hubby and finished our breakfast. She even made them a special drink of juice with sliced strawberries, the boys adored her and she is an asset to the hotel.
The location of the hotel is great and only a 5 min walk to Time Square. Whilst it is next to the port authority and there are a few homeless people who hang around there, we NEVER felt unsafe or uneasy. Even walking back to the hotel late at night with our kids.
I would definitely stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
It was a true pleasure to read your review of Distrikt on TripAdvisor. We know expectations are high, but to read that we met and even exceeded them makes us beyond happy. We've heard that there are a few new converts to the cucumber in water idea, Your children may be our youngest though. The name you may be searching for is Ledash...she is truly a memorable team member and I know she will be thrilled to hear how her service made your day. Thank you so much for your review and endorsement...we do hope you will allow us to welcome you and your family back on your next trip to New York City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Distrikt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distrikt Hotel

Address: 342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 457 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Distrikt Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A one of a kind, upscale boutique hotel, located in the heart of Midtown West, Times Square area on 40th Street between 8th and 9th Avenues. The Distrikt Hotel towers 32 stories tall with unobstructed views of the cityscape and Hudson River. Offers a unique experience with the concept of staying in one of ten neighborhoods of Manhattan within the hotel. The sleek lobby space features a 14 ft. Green living wall representing Central Park and the check-in area welcomes guests to a hand carved wall of wood, detailing the streets of Manhattan. Airport grade 6/8 inch windows keep the sounds of Broadway where they belong. Additional complimentary amenities include: With dedication to detail with impeccable service, cutting edge technology, comfortable yet luxurious guestrooms and 4* amenities. Fresh cuisine with locally grown ingredients offered in the bistro as well as complimentary hors d'oeuvres in the bar for Happy Hour. Each of the 155 guestrooms are designed for the comfort and needs of the guest to include relaxing Simmons Beauty Rest mattresses, decadent Frette bed and bath linen, 37" LG flatscreen television, business desk with ergonomic chair, LATHER soaps and amenities, and wireless internet in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Distrikt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Distrikt Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.