We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect home base from which to explore NYC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Distrikt Hotel

Save Saved
You added Distrikt Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Distrikt Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
UP TO 20% OFF ROOM RATE
Ranked #16 of 451 hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Perfect home base from which to explore NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The Distrikt Hotel has an ideal location, fantastic staff, and the very best beds in the Big Apple. Tall and skinny as a Fashion District model, The Distrikt is intimate in scale and warm in spirit. With only a few rooms per floor, there's no long hallway to navigate to the elevator. The lobby is a bit tight, but bustling with guests in a good mood. As visitors during the insufferable depths of summer, we loved the refreshing iced tea and cucumber infused water (my new passion) served in the afternoon. The two of us give four thumbs up to this unassuming but delightful and high-value hotel.

Room Tip: Specify if you want a view. Our room looked out on a bleak wall of windows across the street, which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thanks so much for penning such a terrific review of Distrikt! We love your description...and may be forced to plagiarize! Your room tip is a great one, and we hope when you return to us we can block you in a Grand view room! Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,112 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,261
    718
    113
    15
    5
See reviews for
554
1570
146
211
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (656)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Our stay could not have been better. We stayed at Distrikt for the 1st week of our honeymoon. The customer service we received daily from the staff on the desk or door staff was so friendly & attentive. The one thing we had been warned about in NYC was small rooms, not in this case. Decent size, good spec, nice bathroom, spotless, we were delighted. We were the 29th floor so we could just about catch sight of the Empire State Building which was a pleasant surprise. The location was perfect, a few mins walk from Times Square, handy for bus & subway also. We did NYC by foot so being central was ideal. Overall, we were absolutely delighted by the Distrikt Hotel & can't thank them enough. If / when we get back to NYC we will def stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
It is so exciting to have guests celebrating special occasions, and the team gets especially happy when we get to welcome honeymooners! Thank you for your review and recognition of the team's efforts with service. We can't wait to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South England
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

The staff at this hotel were amazing. They gave us so much local knowledge including a great diner for breakfast (westway) and advice about the subway. The port authority bus terminal has an entrance directly opposite the hotel and has a subway and shopping mall inside (including pharmacy/drugstore and newsagent). Our hotel room overlooked the Hudson so we could watch the 4th July fireworks. The room was beautiful. Times square was just a couple of minutes walk away. We always felt safe in nyc

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

My husband, son and I just stayed 4 nights at the Distrikt Hotel. The staff was incredible!!! We would highly recommend this hotel. Each floor have only 5 rooms so it is intimate and cozy. The room was clean and furnishings were beautiful. You need to use the hotel room key to use the elevator which is an extra nice security feature. There was ALWAYS a doorman/bellman in the lobby also! The hotel is only 3 years old and is only a short walk from Times Square. I often read reviews on Tripadvisor but rarely think to leave one myself. This is definitely worth letting others know about. We would definitely stay here again. Only a few blocks from the Lincoln Tunnel if you are driving in. Huge PLUS!

Green Features: Hotel uses environmentally friendly practices which we appreciate!
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for your review and for adding your pictures to the gallery! We love how we look!!! We are thrilled we were able to be part of your family getaway, and thank you for your observations and endorsement of our service and amenities. We are so glad you took the time to review us on Trip Advisor...thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I cannot understand some of the comments being left here about the Distrikt !!! Slow remote control, I mean come on !!! Who goes to the fabulous NYC to watch TV ????????? There is absolutely NOTHING wrong with this lovely hotel. I have been going to NYC for 17 years (on holiday) and have stayed in the Waldorf, the Metro, the Comfort Inn Manhattan and Washington Square hotel and when I found the little gem that is the Distrikt I thought I had won the lottery !!!! The team are just fantastic never have I come across staff in a hotel like them (well apart from Scotland), they would do anything for you. They are a hive of information. I love that the hotel is small and you feel it is a secret little place in the vast city of Manhattan. The beds........ well said before, so comfortable, I felt as if I was sleeping on a cloud ! The rooms/bathroom have everything you need and having coffee in the room for the US is wonderful, as is the free refreshments in the reception. Where can you get this (at their prices) in NYC????? The cocktails are the best and the breakfast all you can eat for $12, that is not bad at all in my estimation. The location is right bang in the middle of Manhattan, I love that I can walk anywhere from here. Yes granted the street is not Park Avenue, but you are NOT paying Park Avenue prices. This is my 6th stay at the Distrikt and I would not dream of going anywhere else, and lots of my friends who have also stayed there feel exactly the same!!! I walk in the door having not seen them for maybe a year and the smiles of hello and saying my name is just like being a part of their family. Well done Distrikt team, I look forward to seeing your smiley faces next time I visit.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

My mom and I stayed at the Distrikt for 5 nights in early July. From the moment we walked in we were treated like long lost family. No matter who we dealt with from the hotel (front desk, room service, maintenance) they were all so bubbly and cheerful - to say that they are amazing at their jobs is an understatement.

The rooms were nicely appointed, thankfully the air conditioning was working perfectly, the location is a short walk to times square and alot of good restaurants.

Yes it is a bit busy being located right across the street from the port authority bus terminal but to be honest, it's New York, everywhere is busy!

I would recommend this hotel without hesitation and look forward to staying here again the next time I visit.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the higher floors to try and offset some of the road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
We are so happy that you both enjoyed your stay at Distrikt! Our team is going to be very pleased to read how they made your stay better, thank you for recognizing their efforts. Of course, the greatest compliment is that you will return, and we truly look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Just returned after a week in NYC. The title says it all about the hotel. I knew from previous reviews that the hotel was good but it was great to experience it first hand. From first arrival to leaving, the staff could not be more helpful and reassuring. They would happily help you by looking up restaurants and bars and then printing out maps and stuff for you.
The hotel itself is a very modern and modest looking for hotel that felt like a very safe environment to be staying in. The coming and going of people never felt like it crowded the hotel. It's location meant that times square was less than a two minute walk and 9th avenue was just round the corner with an endless selection of bars, restaurants and grocery/liquor stores. We tried and few and weren't disappointed. Try Thai select or Ember if you like thai. If you are a walker then this place is for you. The freedom tower was only an hour walk from the hotel so hopefully that gives you an idea everything is within walking distance if you wanted to. But don't worry there are subway stations just a street along.
The finishing touches were what made the hotel stand out for me with the fancy infused water in the lobby, free New York times every morning, chocolates and a weather update card the maid would leave everyday. The room service was great and kept the already spacious and luxurious room very tidy. My other half said it was the most comfortable bed she has ever slept in, which is what you need after a day in the city!
Cannot fault the place and if we ever went back we would definately be checking out the Distrikt hotel for accomodation before anywhere else!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
We like the spelling of that! Thanks so much for your review and for sharing your experience and great recommendations to fellow TripAdvisor readers! We love 9th Avenue...it's like a treasure trove of restaurants and pubs...definitely something for everyone...we are so glad you explored. We do hope we can welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Distrikt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distrikt Hotel

Address: 342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 451 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Distrikt Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A one of a kind, upscale boutique hotel, located in the heart of Midtown West, Times Square area on 40th Street between 8th and 9th Avenues. The Distrikt Hotel towers 32 stories tall with unobstructed views of the cityscape and Hudson River. Offers a unique experience with the concept of staying in one of ten neighborhoods of Manhattan within the hotel. The sleek lobby space features a 14 ft. green living wall representing Central Park and the check-in area welcomes guests to a hand carved wall of wood, detailing the streets of Manhattan. Airport grade 6/8 inch windows keep the sounds of Broadway where they belong. Additional complimentary amenities include: With dedication to detail with impeccable service, cutting edge technology, comfortable yet luxurious guestrooms, 4* amenities, and fresh cuisine with locally grown ingredients. Each of the 155 guestrooms are designed for the comfort and needs of the guest to include relaxing Simmons Beauty Rest mattresses, decadent Frette bed and bath linen, 37" LG flatscreen television, business desk with ergonomic chair, Ecru New York soaps and amenities, and wireless internet in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Distrikt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Distrikt Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.