We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Manhattan Option” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Distrikt Hotel

Save Saved
You added Distrikt Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Distrikt Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
UP TO 20% OFF ROOM RATE
Ranked #16 of 449 hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Woodinville, Washington
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“The Manhattan Option”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I hadn't been to NYC in 30 years and I was worried about the mid town location, but it couldn't have been more convenient, tidier, friendlier, or even more quiet! With A VIEW of both the Hudson and the lights do Times Square. Blocks to getting everywhere: bus tour, many subway stops and NYC airporter. And, being in Hells Kitchen, GREAT restaurants surrounded us. Know its a NYC sized room, but that said, Great Room! Great Staff! Great Price! Great Stay. Couldn't recommend it more.

Room Tip: North side was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
We are very grateful you chose Distrikt for your return to NYC and that you enjoyed our service and amenities. Thank you for your kind words and recommendation! We hope to welcome you back before another 30 years goes by!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,120 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,277
    713
    111
    15
    4
See reviews for
539
1544
146
208
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (644)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wondelgem, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Exelent location nearby Times Square and Broadway. Also close to the subway.
The staff was friendly and always helpfull. Free beverages in the lobby.
The restaurant was OK and the breackfast was morethan good.
Always fresh towels,minnibar and a safe. The service was exxelent.

Room Tip: The nose is lower on the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for reviewing Distrikt Hotel! We are very happy you enjoyed our services and amenities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights after the wake of hurricane Sandy and it was absolutely amazing. We did have to move to a different room (understandably with how bad things were in NY) but the staff were great explaining the situation to us and what impact it would have to our stay in NY.
We didn't have any but it was a nice touch having hot drinks on tap at the lobby, rooms were beautiful and the free Wifi was one of those things that you have to be delighted by! It was a great stay all round; the staff, room size, cleanliness and value. Definitely would stay again - great place + highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for staying with us in such a tumultuous time. It is a pleasure to read that your stay was not ruined by the hurricane and that one of our legendary team members helped make a difference in your experience. We do hope to welcome you back...in drier weather perhaps?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Located just a few blocks away from the bustling streets of Broadway, Times Square and just a few minutes walk to the nearest subway, this hotel was in a very convenient location and I would definately stay here again. A few times I walked back alone to the hotel around 1am and felt completely safe as there were still so many people out and about. All of the hotel staff were very welcoming, polite and funny and made my stay very enjoyable. The receptionists were incredibly helpful and can recommend great restaurants to eat at etc. The rooms were very modern and clean and there was free WiFi. The iced tea and fruit-infused water in the lobby was also a nice touch.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you very much for choosing Distrikt Hotel and for sharing your experiences on TripAdvisor! We are especially pleased that our team had an impact on your stay and will share your kind comments with them!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I have stayed here twice and I think this is a great place to stay in Manhattan, where decent hotels usually charge exorbitant prices. They have free beverages in the lobby which change with the seasons. Their hot apple cider was amazing during a VERY cold February :)

Prices are reasonable, service is impeccable and location is wonderful.

Three things I would change if I could:
1) No gym / fitness facilities: they give you free passes to a gym which is very closeby though
2) Food menu could be more extensive
3) Wifi is a little temperamental

I would stay here again for business or pleasure in a heartbeat

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for joining us in a very chilling time of year! We are glad our hot cider warmed you up though and regret that we were not able to truly earn a perfect review. We are happy to report that we have had a great improvement to our wifi with increased bandwidth and our restaurant menu has indeed gone through an overhaul of sorts. We love being able to provide our guests with access to a real gym, and are pleased you were able to take advantage of that! We look forward to welcoming you back to Distrikt!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

We have just left this hotel after 3 nights in New York. It's a little boutique hotel, very nice, the rooms are clean & tidy, bed really comfortable but what stands out is the service they all went out of their way to help us and we will be back. It's only a few blocks from Times Square but far enough away to get a good nights sleep. Make sure you visit the Skybar next door at the Four Points hotel it's fantastic & you get free entry & VIP entry just by staying at the Distrikt. Thanks Distrikt for a fabulous experience in NYC

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor and especially for promising to return to us! Our team is going to love reading your comments about their service and can't wait to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stayed here for five nights and what a great hotel. Stones throw away from times square and all the key attractions. Hells kitchen is just round the corner. Staff were so helpful and we had a really pleasant stay. Room was clean and the complimentary wifi was an added bonus. Well done and keep up the good work

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for your kind words, we will do our very best to keep earning such wonderful reviews. We appreciate you taking the time to share!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Distrikt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distrikt Hotel

Address: 342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 449 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Distrikt Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A one of a kind, upscale boutique hotel, located in the heart of Midtown West, Times Square area on 40th Street between 8th and 9th Avenues. The Distrikt Hotel towers 32 stories tall with unobstructed views of the cityscape and Hudson River. Offers a unique experience with the concept of staying in one of ten neighborhoods of Manhattan within the hotel. The sleek lobby space features a 14 ft. green living wall representing Central Park and the check-in area welcomes guests to a hand carved wall of wood, detailing the streets of Manhattan. Airport grade 6/8 inch windows keep the sounds of Broadway where they belong. Additional complimentary amenities include: With dedication to detail with impeccable service, cutting edge technology, comfortable yet luxurious guestrooms, 4* amenities, and fresh cuisine with locally grown ingredients. Each of the 155 guestrooms are designed for the comfort and needs of the guest to include relaxing Simmons Beauty Rest mattresses, decadent Frette bed and bath linen, 37" LG flatscreen television, business desk with ergonomic chair, Ecru New York soaps and amenities, and wireless internet in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Tingo, Agoda and Choice Hotels so you can book your Distrikt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Distrikt Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.