We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay & Great Location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Distrikt Hotel

Save Saved
You added Distrikt Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Distrikt Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
UP TO 20% OFF ROOM RATE
Ranked #17 of 452 hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Leeds, England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay & Great Location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

What a great hotel! From the moment we arrived the staff were super friendly & helpful offering advice on places to go and helping us book any tickets. The rooms were a good size with lovely fixtures and a very comfy bed & we couldn't hear any street noise at all.
The location is also great, so many bars & restaurants right on your doorstep and if you want to travel a little further afield the subway station is at the end of the street! I loved our stay at the Distrikt for our honeymoon & would definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
I know our team enjoys helping guests plan their time in our city the most out of everything else they do. Thank you for giving them a shout out and for allowing them to to assist in your activities during your time at Distrikt. We appreciate you choosing us for such a special occasion and think we would be perfect for anniversary #1, 2...50 :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,180 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,308
    735
    116
    16
    5
See reviews for
571
1599
148
217
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (670)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Returned from New York at the end of April, stayed at the Distrikt Hotel and would definitely return! The hotel was extremely well looked after, great location and the staff were amazing. I would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to New York, it's not overpriced and you actually get more than what you pay for. The beds are probably some of the most comfortable beds we have slept in whilst on holiday and this is definitely something you need after a hard days shopping. The staff are always happy to help, they suggested and booked restaurants for us to dine in each night. Please do not be put off by the fact that this hotel isn't 5 stars, as it is just as good. Also there is free Wifi in the hotel which is always a bonus, as many hotels charge for this service. I look forward to returning on my next visit to NYC

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you so very much for your review of Distrikt! We are humbled by your accolades and strive to be exactly as you described...a comfortable home away from home, with amazing service. and little touches of luxury. We truly appreciate your endorsement and look forward to the day we can welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Picking a hotel in NYC can be a daunting experience. Do you go for location (and if so, where?), price (never a good idea in this city) or service (good, but not everything)?
Let me start this review by saying that the service at this hotel is excellent. I was treated well from the time arrived to the time I left. I especially enjoyed the front desk staff. My room was clean and comfortable as well -- nothing spectacular, but well kept with a nice, large shower and comfortable bed. I was on the back side of the third floor and my view was of an air handler -- not an issue for me since I'd rather be on the quiet side of the building than have a good view.
But I really have to disagree with the reviewers here who think this hotel is in a good location. True, if you are an inexperienced NYC traveler, it is near Time Square and the subway. Frankly, I don't need the tourist throngs to get the Manhattan experience. The hotel is a few doors down from the New York Parole Board Office so you get a "special" group of folks who hang out on the sidewalk in front. Across the street is the mass of the Port Authority Bus Station -- hardly scenic.
Hell's Kitchen is around the corner and there are a couple of good restaurants (mixed with some pretty bad ones).
If you are picking your hotel based on service, this is a good choice. If you are picking it based on the quality of the room, this is an average choice. If you are picking it based on location, this is a bad choice. Even if you want to be in the Time Square area, there are much better options out there (I personally like The Michelangelo Hotel).

Room Tip: Even though the views are not as good, pick a room on the back side of the building and definitely a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
We are very grateful for your review and for sharing your experience with other Trip Advisor readers. We appreciate another view of our little slice of Manhattan, and agree that convenience, service and amenities are what keeps guests returning. Thank you for giving us a try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Great hotel in a great location.
Even though you were so close to the centre of NY you could hardly hear a thing in the rooms, which was essential as you do so much in a day and need beauty sleep.
Very friendly and helpful staff who always greeted you with a smile.
Would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
We are so very thankful that you chose Distrikt, and though we doubt you needed that much sleep, we are happy you enjoyed the quiet our rooms offer. We appreciate you recognizing our team and do look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed at the Distrikt Hotel for 5 nights from the 13 May 2013 and we will definitely return. From the moment we arrived tired from our journey the staff made us feel very welcome. The room was very comfortable and had everything you need including a power shower which was excellent and a very comfortable bed. The attention to detail in the hotel whether customer service or facilities are of an extremely high standard. The staff in particular go out of their way to ensure that you have everything you need. They are very polite and always take the time to ask about your day and offer any advice should you need it. We would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
It was such a pleasure to read your review of Distrikt, thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with other TripAdvisor travelers. We will definitely pass on your compliments to the team and thank you for recognizing their efforts. We do hope to welcome you back to Distrikt soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We just returned from our weekend trip to NYC. We had a great time, and would highly recommend Distrikt Hotel (and we are pretty picky)! Decent price compared to equivalent in NYC, we actually liked the location (not super crazy crowded but close to everything), the staff were great, we got a free upgrade, and the room was excellent. Nothing negative to say- thank you for an amazing stay!

Room Tip: Higher up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for recommending Distrikt on Trip Advisor! We love that we surpassed your standards and earned your endorsement! You are very welcome, we hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

we stayed at distrikt hotel for 10 days and we definitly will come back. The service is very good, The staff is very helpful and always concerned about your needs. The room was huge, with a lot of space for my wife and me. The bath was nice, but a exhaust fan was missed.
Other thing they can improve too is a better mattress.
A lot of people have sayed the location isn't good, but that's only because is not a "fancy" neighborhood, Metro station is one block away (blue line; red, yellow and orange are two blocks away) and i think that's the only thing you need to visit NY. But that's a personal opinion.

Summary
pros: nice room, great staff, well located, good quality/price ratio
cons: fan needed in bath, they can improve mattress

Room Tip: try to choose higher floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
We were thrilled to be your home away from home on your extended stay in NYC! Thank you for taking the time to review Distrikt for fellow Trip Advisor readers, and for recognizing the convenience of our location. If you could send us a personal note at your convenience, we are curious about what room you stayed in, as the exhaust fan should have worked in the bath. We are also a little worried that something was off with your bed, as we get amazing compliments on its comfort, so we want to check it out. Thank you again for choosing Distrikt, we hope you will return to us on your next trip to NYC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Distrikt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distrikt Hotel

Address: 342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 452 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Distrikt Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A one of a kind, upscale boutique hotel, located in the heart of Midtown West, Times Square area on 40th Street between 8th and 9th Avenues. The Distrikt Hotel towers 32 stories tall with unobstructed views of the cityscape and Hudson River. Offers a unique experience with the concept of staying in one of ten neighborhoods of Manhattan within the hotel. The sleek lobby space features a 14 ft. green living wall representing Central Park and the check-in area welcomes guests to a hand carved wall of wood, detailing the streets of Manhattan. Airport grade 6/8 inch windows keep the sounds of Broadway where they belong. Additional complimentary amenities include: With dedication to detail with impeccable service, cutting edge technology, comfortable yet luxurious guestrooms, 4* amenities, and fresh cuisine with locally grown ingredients. Each of the 155 guestrooms are designed for the comfort and needs of the guest to include relaxing Simmons Beauty Rest mattresses, decadent Frette bed and bath linen, 37" LG flatscreen television, business desk with ergonomic chair, Ecru New York soaps and amenities, and wireless internet in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Tingo, Otel, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Distrikt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Distrikt Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.