We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel near Times Square” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Distrikt Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Distrikt Hotel to your Saves list
Distrikt Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Up to 20% off!
Ranked #18 of 459 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Burnaby, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel near Times Square”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This hotel and staff were really great! Service was excellent and it was very clean and modern. Free wifi in the rooms and computers downstairs with printer access. Must stay, ver y affordable. I enjoyed the ice tea in the lobby everyday.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to recommend Distrikt! We hope you will return to us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,472
    800
    126
    16
    5
See reviews for
608
1,721
156
224
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (729)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Kansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

My husband and I went to NYC during our spring break. I must say, making reservations online with a hotel that I have never stayed at was very nerve racking. However, we really enjoyed staying at this hotel. We only got our room cleaned once during our five day stay. Reason being that we had done a lot of shopping and didn't want anything to be in the way. We had family living in Chelsea and we were able to walk back to the hotel within 20 mins. It was a nice walk that was not too far and we felt like we got exercise after dinner. The location of this hotel is great! The rooms are VERY small as this has been the smallest hotel room I have ever stayed in; I wish that the rooms were a tad bit larger. With that being said, the staff is very nice and they have hot Apple Cider in the lobby that taste delicious. I found that the evening staff is much nicer than the morning staff, however. Also, we were disappointed that we couldn't get a late checkout as our car was picking us up at 4 and it would have been nice to be able to check out at 3. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone that is looking for a place to stay that is near Times Square and all the shopping areas. It is truly located in the heart of the city and taxi rides are just a hand wave away. I will make sure to book the Distrikt hotel again the next time we are in NYC.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
We appreciate that there are many hospitality choices in NYC and are very grateful that you chose Distrikt. Though we take pride in the size of our guestrooms, our Standard Queens are the smallest and we often encourage guests who are worried about size to upgrade to one of our spacious kings. We do try to accommodate late checkout requests, but sometimes our popularity makes in impossible to do so. It was, however, fantastic to read that our service, location and amenities beat out that bump and that you are coming back to us in the future! This time, please contact us in advance so we may make sure you have one of those kings we brag about! Thank you again for your choice and your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Consett
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We've just stayed for five nights and couldn't fault it. Good room for NY, great location and service was spot on.
We came here for a birthday celebration and paid for an upgrade. View from 32nd Floor is great. Lovely brownies on arrival, cakes for the birthday celebrations and little chocolates for turn down every day.
Everyone we came in touch with was extremely polite and professional. Printing vouchers, boarding passes etc, all no problem. Complimentary WiFi was great too and very fast compared to some hotel ones.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
We are ecstatic that we were able to celebrate your birthday with you and our little touches made a positive impact on your experience! Our team will be thrilled to read about how their service made a difference, thank you so much for recognizing them!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

The Hotel is great and very comfortable
Excellent location. The rooms are very good to be a Hotel in NYC.
Service was A+.
The Staff is young&nice people, very educated.
Next trip to NYC I would stay there.
100% Recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
WOW! Thank you so very much for the high marks, it is so humbling when we not only earn praise for a past stay, but that you will return to us is the best of compliments. We can't wait to welcome you back, thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We were lucky enough to stay at this brilliant hotel for 10 nights over Christmas. We were impressed with everything that this hotel has from the clean room, to the staff that make you feel so welcome. The weather was cold and coming from Australia we did not know what cold was until the windchill ripped through our layers. Many people have stated about the neighborhood being dodgy but we never felt uncomfortable. Restaurants all around you and a great little laundromat which we used twice during our stay. New York is beautiful over Christmas but staying at the Distrikt made our stay even more special. Thank you so much

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
The holiday season in NYC is an amazing, magical time, and we are so very happy you were able to celebrate it with us. Thank you for your lovely review, and your appreciation of our service and amenities. Perhaps next time we can entice back you when it is a tad warmer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Love this hotel - great price, great location, AMAZING and HELPFUL staff cannot be beat in NYC and did I mention the best GM in the business! You cannot go wrong at The Distrikt - best deal in New York

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
As the alleged leader of the amazing Distrikt Team, I cannot thank you enough for your appreciation of their service and dedication. Their everyday efforts make it possible for me to accept accolades like yours. Something must be said, however, for the incredibly wonderful guests like you that we welcome to our humble little slice of Manhattan. Thank you for sharing and for returning to us again and again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Gan, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Great hotel in a great location midtown NYC. The hotel close to the subway, to the Port Authority bus station and minutes walk from many NYC's sites. Fantastic staff that make you feel at home, very helpful with every question we asked them (restaurants, shows, games, directions, drive to the airport.. Anything).
The hotel is excellent value for money, has fashion boutique and very clean rooms and we will absolutely be booking Distrikt Hotel our next visit in Manhattan.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
It is very gratifying to read your praise of Distrikt; thank you for taking the time to do so. We are extremely proud to have earned your favor and that you will return to us in the future. Please do not hesitate to call upon our team to be of assistance in any of your arrangements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Distrikt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distrikt Hotel

Address: 342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Distrikt Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A one of a kind, upscale boutique hotel, located in the heart of Midtown West, Times Square area on 40th Street between 8th and 9th Avenues. The Distrikt Hotel towers 32 stories tall with unobstructed views of the cityscape and Hudson River. Offers a unique experience with the concept of staying in one of ten neighborhoods of Manhattan within the hotel. The sleek lobby space features a 14 ft. Green living wall representing Central Park and the check-in area welcomes guests to a hand carved wall of wood, detailing the streets of Manhattan. Airport grade 6/8 inch windows keep the sounds of Broadway where they belong. Additional complimentary amenities include: With dedication to detail with impeccable service, cutting edge technology, comfortable yet luxurious guestrooms, 4* amenities, and fresh cuisine with locally grown ingredients. Each of the 155 guestrooms are designed for the comfort and needs of the guest to include relaxing Simmons Beauty Rest mattresses, decadent Frette bed and bath linen, 37" LG flatscreen television, business desk with ergonomic chair, LATHER soaps and amenities, and wireless internet in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Distrikt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Distrikt Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.