We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything about this hotel is fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Distrikt Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Distrikt Hotel to your Saves list
Distrikt Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% OFF YOUR NEXT STAY
Ranked #26 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Joinville, SC
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Everything about this hotel is fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

Location cannot be beat.
Subway station is one block away.
Rooms are BIG (at least ours was).
Bathrooms are BIG (at least ours was).
Shower is FANTASTIC.
Great views from high floors (but you have to pay to get them).
The beds are really comfortable.
Staff are very nice.
There is a really cool vegetative wall in the lobby.
The button for the lobby in the elevator is really big and has the word LOBBY written out.
Wireless is reliable and fast, although we did need to reconnect every time we opened the iPad.
The New York Times is delivered to your door every morning.
Turndown service with chocolates and weather report (which was rain-free all three days I might add (thanks Distrikt Hotel!).
Huge flat screen TVs with high def.
Shaving mirror in the bathroom (can't remember the last time that I saw one of those).
No strange smells, irritating noises, specks of dust, or things that don't work properly.

On the down side, our stay was only three days long.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for sharing your Distrikt experience with us! We're very glad to hear that everything was to your liking and that you loved your stay. We look forward to keeping in touch with you (Facebook/Twitter are great ways!) so we can offer you our best rates for your return. Take care until then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,851 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,745
    930
    150
    18
    8
See reviews for
698
1,949
173
248
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (822)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

I recently spent a night at The Distrikt with a friend to celebrate her birthday. It was a great experience. When we told the desk clerk that we were celebrating a birthday, she arranged ro have a card and some celebratory sweets sent to our room. That and the great breakfast made it a place I will visit again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for a short and (literally) sweet stay with us! We're very glad that we were able to make your birthday trip extra special. Please keep in touch with us via Facebook and Twitter so we can offer you our best rates for your mini vacation again in NYC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We spent several days at Distrikt. The rooms are cozy and comfortable, and well maintained.

The entire staff are courteous, attentive, and professional; in particular, Chris and Rachel at the front desk as well as Yahmir / Robert / Miguel of the waiter staff at Collage were very helpful and provided excellent service.

We highly recommend this hotel for domestic and international travelers. Extremely family-friendly as well.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
We're very happy to hear that you and your family had a comfortable and enjoyable stay. It's always wonderful to hear that you were able to get to know our staff and that they were able to assist you during your stay as well. We look forward to welcoming you again for your next visit to NYC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Stayed in a Grand View double room mid November travelling with my mum and brother for my mums 50th Birthday. The hotel staff were welcoming and friendly without being overpowering, and very approachable. Hotel was immaculately clean, rooms were made over and toiletries replaced daily and the hotel provided free coffee and hot apple cider which was a nice extra touch. Very close to Time Square, our room was looking out over Port Authority so there was traffic noise throughout the night, but after all we were in the city that never sleeps so it was expected by all of us! Location was perfect especially for those tired feet when stumbling back after a busy day exploring! The hotel Porter was also very helpful, offered to store our bags upon departure, labelled them up and arranged us a transfer back to the airport all in a matter of seconds! We returned to the hotel later on, our bags were brought to us and the taxi was outside waiting!

The only down I can possibly try and think of is that I did expect the room to be slightly larger given the premium we paid for a'grand view bigger room' (we did this deliberately as we knew 3 adults would be a squash!) but then again for a New York Hotel the room size was reasonable (I've stayed in much smaller!)

All in all a fantastic hotel which comes highly recommended and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for choosing Distrikt for your mother's special birthday trip! We're very glad that you and your family loved your stay. It's great to hear that you felt it was "a fantastic hotel" and that you would stay with us again. Thank you again and keep in touch!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

The Distrikt hotel certainly made our time in New York far more enjoyable. The room (22nd floor) was very warm and comfortable and we had a great view of the Hudson. However the staff at the Distrikt have to commended for their services. Always polite, smiling and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. If you wanted to know where to eat, they had the right answer. I've stayed in many a 5 star hotel and customer service doesn't get any better than this. Great work you guys!

Room Tip: choose a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
We're glad to hear that we were able to make your time in New York "far more enjoyable." We do pride ourselves on our efficient and friendly staff so it's fantastic to hear that they've truly enhanced your stay. Please keep in touch with us via Facebook/Twitter so we know what you're up to! Best wishes from the Distrikt Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dunfermline
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 4 nights mid November and was not disappointed. Room was clean, good size all we could ask for. What makes this hotel special are the staff, everyone we meet from Housekeeping to Reception were friendly, helpful and genuinly interested in our experiance in New York. Also must mention the free hot Cider served at Reception every afternoon, just what was needed after spending all day out in the New York chill. Thank you all for a wounderful stay also thanks for my birthday treat. Hope to visit again soon and will definately return to th Distrikt.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
We're very happy that you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to make your birthday even more special. Thank you for the kind words for our staff. We'll be sure to pass them on! Please stay in touch with us via Facebook or Twitter so we can provide you with our best rates for your return, and so we can keep you posted on NYC! Take care until next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stayed at Distrikt Hotel due to the prior good reviews on this website. It was our first time to New York and we found that the hotel was so close by to everything. The staff at the hotel are very friendly and very helpful. Our stay at the hotel was very comfortable and would definitely stay at Distrikt again if I ever get to come back to New York. The rooms were an average size but very clean and modern.

The hotel is right around the corner from Hell's Kitchen where we found heaps of good restaurants. I highly recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for choosing Distrikt Hotel based on reviews. We're very glad to hear that you enjoyed your first time in New York City! It's always great to hear that "the hotel was very comfortable and would definitely stay at Distrikt again" when you return to New York City. Please stay in touch with us via Facebook/Twitter! Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#24 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 355 reviews
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#31 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,965 reviews
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#21 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#8 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,617 reviews
Midtown
Cassa Hotel Times Square
Cassa Hotel Times Square
#49 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 335 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#13 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distrikt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distrikt Hotel

Address: 342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Distrikt Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A one of a kind, upscale boutique hotel, located in the heart of Midtown West, Times Square area on 40th Street between 8th and 9th Avenues. The Distrikt Hotel towers 32 stories tall with unobstructed views of the cityscape and Hudson River. Offers a unique experience with the concept of staying in one of ten neighborhoods of Manhattan within the hotel. The sleek lobby space features a 14 ft. Green living wall representing Central Park and the check-in area welcomes guests to a hand carved wall of wood, detailing the streets of Manhattan. Airport grade 6/8 inch windows keep the sounds of Broadway where they belong. Additional complimentary amenities include: With dedication to detail with impeccable service, cutting edge technology, comfortable yet luxurious guestrooms and 4* amenities. Fresh cuisine with locally grown ingredients offered in the bistro as well as complimentary hors d'oeuvres in the bar for Happy Hour. Each of the 155 guestrooms are designed for the comfort and needs of the guest to include relaxing Simmons Beauty Rest mattresses, decadent Frette bed and bath linen, 37" LG flatscreen television, business desk with ergonomic chair, LATHER soaps and amenities, and wireless internet in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Otel, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Distrikt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Distrikt Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.