We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in NYC Fact!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Distrikt Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Distrikt Hotel to your Saves list
Distrikt Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Up to 20% off!
Ranked #18 of 457 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
“Best hotel in NYC Fact!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Just back from an amazing 5 night stay in Distrikt. Been to NYC quite a few times before and this is by far the best hotel I've stayed in.
From the moment we arrived we were greeted by friendly, welcoming staff who go out of their way to make your stay wonderful.
The rooms are amazing for New York, a great size, huge bed, plasma TV & the bathroom is great too, lovely walk in shower and bathrobes too.
We had been having a joke on twitter with Distrikt hotel about wanting mangos when we checked in & 5 mins after we arrived at our room there was a knock at the door and a member of staff was at the door with 2 mangos and a lovely handwritten note. Such a personal touch.
The same night another member of staff arrived with an individual cheesecake for my friend as we had mentioned we were celebrating her birthday.
Everytime we were entering or leaving the hotel we were greeted with a friendly smile & told to have a great day.
We asked for restaurant recommendations at reception and they were happy to help. And I was well impressed with their choices.
Every morning free coffee is available in reception and in the afternoon hot cider.
I will be recommending this hotel to everyone and will definitely be choosing Distrikt for my next trip to big apple.
All in all was a 10/10 visit to Disrikt!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for keeping in touch with us on Twitter before your visit. It's always great to get to know our guests and finally be able to welcome them! We're very happy to hear that you had a "10/10 visit" and that you feel comfortable recommending Distrikt to your friends and family. Please stay in touch with us and we look forward to welcoming you again for your next NYC visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,464
    797
    126
    16
    5
See reviews for
607
1,715
156
224
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (726)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed a 5 night stay at Distrikt hotel for NYC vacation. Customer service from the hotel was outstanding from start to finish. The hotel staff provided timely advice regarding travel to the hotel and and condition of the area in the aftermath of hurricane Sandy, prior to our departure. After a long day of travelling we very much appreciated the warm welcome we received from the front desk and bell staff. Our luggage was immediately taken care of and we were offered a warm cup of apple cider. We were provided a map of the area and directions to nearby points of interest. I had notified the hotel in advance that my wife and I were celebrating our anniversary and on arrival to our room we found a special greeting card as well as a complimentary desert waiting for us. All of the hotel staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful throughout our stay.

Our room was on the 31st floor. The view out our window was mostly of the 31st floor of the building immediately adjacent to us, although we could see the empire state building which was cool. Street noise was fairly minimal. The room itself was very clean, well maintained and stylishly decorated. It was perhaps on the smaller side, but was as big or bigger than other big-city boutique hotel rooms I have stayed in.

The hotel was well situated as a 'homebase' for our new york adventures. Times Square was within easy walking distance and a number of broadway theatres were only a couple blocks away. We were able to walk easily to Bryant Park and the library as well as to the pier where Circle Line Cruises depart. There are numerous restaurants and bars in the "Hells Kitchen" area within walking distance. Shopping on 5th av was a longer hike from the hotel. There is a subway station on the same street as the hotel and many attractions are just a short ride away.

There isn't much in the way of amenities in the hotel itself, only a small bar/bistro past the loby. We enjoyed breakfast here once durring our stay since we received a $20 gift certificate as part of a promotion. There was no spa, exercise facility or shops within the hotel, but we certainly didn't miss any of these.

Overall it was the friendliness and warmth of the hotel staff that left the strongest impression on us and really enhanced our experience in new york city.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for choosing Distrikt for your special anniversary trip. We're very glad to have been able to welcome you after the hurricane and provide a comfortable and central home base for your sightseeing and exploration of the Big Apple. Thank you very much for your kind feedback regarding our staff, and that "the friendliness and warmth of the hotel staff" enhanced your stay. We look forward to welcoming you again for your next visit to New York City. Take care until then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Amazing hotel with friendly and helpful staff from the minute you walk up to the door. Immaculate and modern rooms, great views of the city from the 26th floor in our grand view king room. We We're greeted with two chocolate brownies on our bed. Bathrooms were spacious and great powerful showers and toiletries were replaced daily.

We were given a complimentary voucher for a free continental breakfast each when we checked in, this was ideal for us as it set us up for the mornings sightseeing and shopping ahead so used the restaurant a few times. Quick service

The staff at the front desk always seem to be smiling and happy to see you and are always willing to help, their help never let us down especially when looking for good unknown restaurants in the area. Another plus with this hotel is that you can be in contact with them via twitter and Facebook and theft are great with their replies. Posting great deals and events on around the city

I've seen a few negatives about the bus terminal opposite the hotel. For us this was a positive as we took a day trip to Woodbury commons shopping outlet. 2mins out the hotel and we were on the bus and we never had far to walk home with all our new purchases

Can honestly say this was the best city break hotel we have stayed in and would definitely be our top choice for a return to NYC. We never felt unsafe in or around the hotel area. Only a short walk from many of the main attractions....... Hope for another visit soon

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
We're very glad to hear that you had a wonderful stay. Thank you for using Twitter and Facebook with us prior to your arrival; we enjoy updating our past and future guests on local events, discounts on regular rates, and keeping in touch. It's great to hear that our knowledgeable staff was able to assist you in pointing you in the right directions while exploring the Big Apple. Please stay in touch with us via Twitter/Facebook! Take care until next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Connecticut
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

The location was my wife's only complaint, but she will not stay there again. Distrikt is in a building with three or four other new hotels, so there seems to be a demand for such a location. If you don't mind being on a side street next to a busy bus station, you probably couldn't do better than Distrikt. Friendly front desk people. Free NY Times in the AM. New and spiffy. Nice bedding, towels, and so on.

Room Tip: maybe there are rooms that do not face the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We're sorry to hear that your wife did not enjoy the location. We're often noted for being a few minutes away from the excitement of Times Square and the Theater District, but not directly in the center. We're happy to hear that you were able to enjoy our amenities such as the complimentary New York Times delivered to your door every weekday. We hope to welcome you again in the near future; please contact us directly next time so we can make your next stay even more enjoyable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I did a lot of research before choosing the Distrikt as it was our first time to NYC, and am glad we stayed here. It's just a block away from Time square and the Hells Kitchen precinct - the Distrikt is the place to stay. Clean, friendly helpful staff, attention to detail, location and will no doubt stay there again if ever in NYC.

We were celebrating my husband's 30th and our 1st year wedding anniversary and were given a complimentary room upgrade and a tasty brownie and cheesecake with congratulatory card on arrival - so thoughtful.

Room was always cleaned when we returned from our daily trips and staff at the Distrikt were only too willing to help if we needed directions or tips of places to eat or things to do.

The gym is a 2 minute walk away and you get free entry passes from the hotel. A great night spot if you dont want to walk too far from the hotel is located at the Skybar which is free entry for guests staying at the Distrikt (avoid the $40 entry fee) and is litterally a building away.

There is a heavy Police presence in NYC so felt very safe. Being across the road from the Port Authority was a bonus although we enjoyed beating the feet and exploring the city by foot. Be sure to try out the Pizzeria little Italian restaurant, down the road from the Distrikt cant recall the name but the pizza was the best i had in NYC.

I would highly recommend this hotel if you are looking for clean, conveniently located and good service. Free wifi was a bonus. Overall excellent stay!

Room Tip: high level rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
We're very happy to hear that after much research you have chosen us for your special birthday and anniversary trip, and that you had an excellent stay. We're glad that you found some local favorites of your own and our staff was able to assist also. Our complimentary daily pass to the gym is a popular amenity, so we're glad you were able to take advantage as well! Thank you and please stay in touch with us so we can offer you our best rates for your next visit to the Big Apple. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Don't even know where to begin.... we stayed here for four nights in mid October, just before the storm. Staff on reception are so friendly and the rooms are just gorgeous. So spacious comparable to New York standards. We stayed in a deluxe suite with a lovely view of NY. Rooms are really stylish and trendy with a huge shower and lovely quality shampoo/wash etc. A nice touch when we arrived, two chocolate brownies with a note from the staff and chocolates with a weather report on our pillows every night. Breakfast is really nice in a trendy little restaurant with plenty to choose from. One of the evenings we had a truck parked outside with complimentary dumplings for the guests of Distrikt, the same night there were flavoured vodka/ice shots which were again complimentary to the guests and certainly no limit or restrictions.. where would you get it??!!!! I cannot stress enough how friendly the staff were.. we purchased some camera equipment and were completely ripped off in a local camera shop, the staff were on hand to give us some advice on how to deal with the issue. The hotel is just a few minutes from Times Square and having read some comments on here about the street location, we had no problems whatsoever and were quite comfortable walking around at night and coming in and out of the hotel at all different hours. I was on Trip Advisor for weeks before I booked our trip, really struggled to find somewhere that ticked all the boxes.... but tell you what, look no further, THIS IS THE ONE! without doubt we will be back! Thanks to all for making this a trip of a lifetime for myself and my husband!

Room Tip: Pay extra for the deluxe suite, also if you have a chat with the staff on facebook, they will look a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for choosing us after much research and chatting with us on Facebook prior to your arrival - we're very glad to hear that we were able to provide a comfortable stay and that you were able to get to know our staff. Our food truck events are always a fun way to hang out with our guests, so thank you for joining us! Please keep in touch with us on Facebook/Twitter and we hope to welcome you for your return to New York City. Take care until then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My fiance and I spent the weekend at the Distrikt Hotel. Our room was small but extremely comfortable, modern and clean. The location is fantastic as well. The rooms are not entirely soundproof (you can hear some noise from the room next door) but we put the fan on and it was loud enough to block everything out. Overall, we had a great stay and we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
We're very glad to hear that you and your fiance had a great stay and that you "will definitely be returning." Please contact us directly next time so we can offer you our best rates and make your stay even more enjoyable next time. Best wishes from the Distrikt team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Distrikt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distrikt Hotel

Address: 342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 457 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Distrikt Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A one of a kind, upscale boutique hotel, located in the heart of Midtown West, Times Square area on 40th Street between 8th and 9th Avenues. The Distrikt Hotel towers 32 stories tall with unobstructed views of the cityscape and Hudson River. Offers a unique experience with the concept of staying in one of ten neighborhoods of Manhattan within the hotel. The sleek lobby space features a 14 ft. Green living wall representing Central Park and the check-in area welcomes guests to a hand carved wall of wood, detailing the streets of Manhattan. Airport grade 6/8 inch windows keep the sounds of Broadway where they belong. Additional complimentary amenities include: With dedication to detail with impeccable service, cutting edge technology, comfortable yet luxurious guestrooms, 4* amenities, and fresh cuisine with locally grown ingredients. Each of the 155 guestrooms are designed for the comfort and needs of the guest to include relaxing Simmons Beauty Rest mattresses, decadent Frette bed and bath linen, 37" LG flatscreen television, business desk with ergonomic chair, LATHER soaps and amenities, and wireless internet in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Distrikt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Distrikt Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.