We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in an awful location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Distrikt Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Distrikt Hotel to your Saves list
Distrikt Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
BOOK NOW! UP TO 15% OFF
Ranked #18 of 455 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
york, england
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good hotel in an awful location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights - in the quietest room we have ever had in New York. Our room was relatively spacious with a huge, extremely comfortable bed, the room well fitted out, clean and tidy. A bath would have been perfect for a soak after all the miles we walked. The downside is the location which is truly awful - with life at its grittiest all around. Apart from that its a great nights sleep.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We're very glad to hear that you enjoyed your comfortable room and bed, and that it provided you with "a great nights sleep." We are sorry to hear that you had a negative experience with the location. Our immediate street and area has improved drastically in recent years due to the revitalization of Port Authority, planting of more trees, and so forth. At the least we hope you enjoyed our central and convenient location, just minutes to main attractions such as Times Square and the Theater District. Thank you again and we hope to be able to welcome you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

3,289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,376
    769
    123
    16
    5
See reviews for
588
1,661
150
222
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (693)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

amazing staff, amazing location. Just a few blocks away from Macy's on 34th street and again a few blocks away from Times Square, this small hotel truly deserves its rating on Tripadvisor. We could not find fault with the hotel, the staff were exceptional, so friendly and the hotel truly delivers a very personal service. The food in the hotel restaurant is great value and the breakfast selection was great. I would definitely recommend a stay here and will stay again. Enjoy!

Room Tip: ask for a higher floor for views of hudson river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We're very happy to hear that we were able to provide service that made you feel "this small hotel truly deserves its rating on Trip Advisor." We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future! Please stay in touch with us until then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I'm still here! 4 night trip to New York, first time in this wonderful city. So many hotels to choose from, used trip advisor to help us decide, fab choice!
This hotel is small, 33 floors with just 5 rooms per floor I believe, new and just perfect. Brilliant location, 2 min walk from Times Square. Not too expensive. The staff are fantastic, always a cheery welcome back after you have been out for the day. Fresh coffee in the lobby in the morning and lovely hot apple cider in the evening (all free) , free wifi, and this place is so very clean. The beds and linen are like sleeping on clouds, never have I had such wonderful beds. Rooms are a good size,modern and very comfortable. being a small hotel means your room is made up early in the day ( we stayed at the Belagio in Vegas earlier this year,it was huge obviously, but that meant sometimes the maid had not got to your room even by 5pm, this is so much better)
Rooms have tea/coffee maker, hair dryer (proper one not those silly bathroom ones) iron and board and a decent room safe, ( a good tv too).
Something I've not seen before and a typical little extra from the staff here, each evening someone comes around with a weather forecast card for the next day, brilliant idea)
My husband and I are loving it here, I'm going to get details for my sons to come stay here too.
Quite simply, why go anywhere else? It's is a little gem!

Room Tip: We chose a city view double room, to be honest the view isn't that great so I can't imagine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for choosing Distrikt using Trip Advisor and providing us with feedback during you and your husband's stay! We're very glad to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay, from the little amenities (weather cards, proper hairdryer, free coffee and cider, etc.) to the central location. Please contact us directly next time so we can provide you or your sons with the best rates possible and so we can make your next stay even more enjoyable. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Just spent 7 nights at the Distrikt in the grandview room on the 20th floor! Staff very helpful, nice touches with the robes in the room, hot coffee and hot apple cider in the lobby in the afternoon. Would book here again on the next trip back to the city that never sleeps!

Room Tip: try to get a room on the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
We're very happy to hear that you "would book here again on the next trip back" to New York City! We're glad that you enjoyed our amenities and that our friendly staff was able to assist you. Please keep in touch with us via Facebook/Twitter so we can offer you the best rates for your return. Take care until then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We loved this hotel. We decided to treat ourselves to a beautiful hotel and the hotel met our needs. Reading some reviews we were a little nervous although they were mainly positive. The street it is on is fine and we didn’t feel in danger at all. You are in a big city that’s all- have your eyes and ears open! Even before our arrival we were in contact with staff who were great and sorted out us basketball tickets at Maddison Sq Garden. The room was a great size, as we were told rooms in the city are small. We were on 17th floor room 3. Bathroom was fab shower no bath (we didn’t need one) and a big mirror in front of the sink. TV had satalite and each night our bed was pulled back and tomorrow’s weather temp on your bed with some chocs. Location was perfect. 40th street between 8-9av. Port Authority Bus terminal was across the road which was great as we did a day trip to the designer outlet (Woodbury Common $46 return pp), the subway is on the corner of 8th av. And times sq was a 5 min walk. Breakfast was not included in our stay. If you can get this built in I would. As its great for handiness. I enjoyed it as a couple we spent $27 per morning. Newspaper delivered each am. Staff were great, they gave us maps, directions and anything we needed. The ealier the better for breakfast between 8-10 it gets busy. Be aware of jet lag! We flew out from the UK and didn't think it would affect us...but the time difference did! Luckily we were in NYC for 5 nights/6days.
Ps. Love the staff uniforms.
Restaurants: DO NOT GO TO STAGE DELI (off times sq), 9th av is good, between 43rd-46th street. Also try restaurant row 46th street. I would recommend googling where to eat as our first few nights we found it difficult to find a nice place to eat.

Room Tip: 17th floor room 03. We found it fine sound wise. No view but we didnt expect one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for choosing Distrikt after reading our reviews, and staying in touch with us before your trip. We're glad you enjoyed your room and the location and had a pleasant stay overall. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in October on the 23rd floor in a Grandview Double room which is 235 sq. ft. It was small but had a decent size bathroom with plenty of counter space, good bedside reading lamps, work table, flat screen TV and small freestanding closet. Most importantly, the beds and pillows were very comfortable. The room looks exactly how it is shown on this hotel's website. We did not eat breakfast in the hotel as there is a deli on 9th Ave where a carryout egg on bagel and coffee came to $3.00.
The hotel faces the west side of the Port Authority Bus Terminal. There are 3 hotels in a row next to the Distrikt so the end of 40th closest to 9th Ave has a safe feeling.
We saw three Broadway shows and found wonderful restaurants all within walking distance of the hotel. Convenient subway connections are only a block or two away.
The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. I used the Apple computer in the lobby to print out my boarding pass. Our iPad internet free connection worked perfectly in the room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
We're glad to hear you enjoyed your room and room amenities, and found the bed and pillows comfortable! It's great that you were able to explore the neighborhood pre-/post-shows and found favorites of your own as well. We look forward to welcoming you again for your return to New York City. Please stay in touch and see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Hotel has a perfect location for a trip around New York. Rooms are rather small like most hotels in the City but nice and clean. I would absolutely book this hotel again for a future trip to NY.

Staff was very kind and helpful at all times.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
We're very glad that you "would absolutely book this hotel again for a future trip to NY." Thank you for choosing Distrikt and please contact us directly next time so we can make your next trip even more enjoyable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Distrikt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distrikt Hotel

Address: 342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 455 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Distrikt Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A one of a kind, upscale boutique hotel, located in the heart of Midtown West, Times Square area on 40th Street between 8th and 9th Avenues. The Distrikt Hotel towers 32 stories tall with unobstructed views of the cityscape and Hudson River. Offers a unique experience with the concept of staying in one of ten neighborhoods of Manhattan within the hotel. The sleek lobby space features a 14 ft. green living wall representing Central Park and the check-in area welcomes guests to a hand carved wall of wood, detailing the streets of Manhattan. Airport grade 6/8 inch windows keep the sounds of Broadway where they belong. Additional complimentary amenities include: With dedication to detail with impeccable service, cutting edge technology, comfortable yet luxurious guestrooms, 4* amenities, and fresh cuisine with locally grown ingredients. Each of the 155 guestrooms are designed for the comfort and needs of the guest to include relaxing Simmons Beauty Rest mattresses, decadent Frette bed and bath linen, 37" LG flatscreen television, business desk with ergonomic chair, Ecru New York soaps and amenities, and wireless internet in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Distrikt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Distrikt Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.