We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect - Can't fault it !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Distrikt Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Distrikt Hotel to your Saves list
Distrikt Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Up to 20% off!
Ranked #18 of 459 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Solihull, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfect - Can't fault it !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

From checking in to leaving the hotel staff were friendly, helpful and knowledgeable! We checked in for a 40th birthday and got a room upgrade, birthday cake and hand made card!! The views from the hotel were great and the good location made getting about easy - everything was within walking distance. A good number of restaurants were recommended by the staff when asked and all were great. Rooms were spotless and large and would recommend to anyone for a great stay. We will be returning - we loved it.............Thanks for a great stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on one of the higher floors for a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Happy birthday again and thank so much for choosing us for such a special trip. We're glad we were able to make it even more special, and that our staff was able to make great local suggestions. Please stay in touch with us! We very much look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,475
    801
    126
    16
    5
See reviews for
609
1,723
156
224
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (732)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

I don't normally write reviews but I felt I had too, This hotel is not the poshest hotel you will find in New York but it is the best. The location is perfect for the theatre district, there are lots and lots of restaurants on your door step five napkin burger was very good, burgers for about 15 dollars ,then there is carmines Italian the dishes are that big you share but you will have to wait 30mins for a table but it is worth it. Back to the hotel it's very clean, the room is very clean with tea and coffee making facility's iron and ironing board, safe tv etc . What makes this hotel special is the staff, nothing is to much, peter at the reception and Joseph the concierge were very helpfully . If your coming to New York this is the place to stay.

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
We're very glad to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay, and that you were able to explore the neighborhood. Thank you for your wonderful feedback regarding out staff; we'll be sure to pass on the kind words to Peter and Joseph. Please stay in touch with us via Facebook/Twitter so we can offer you the best rates for your return. We look forward to welcoming you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We love this area - having stayed next door at the Staybridge Suites last year - but I am so glad we moved to the Distrikt. The staff are wonderfully friendly welcoming you each time you come back - often by name. The lifts were not nearly as busy as those next door - and we did not have to resort to the stairs once. Fantastically clean, great coffee in the room and enough space for two of us and a teenager and all our shopping and luggage.
Really easy to access using the Newark to Port Authority bus, and we were only half an hour in a car on the way back to the airport. Subway at the end of the street means everywhere is really easy to get to, and so close to the theatres etc that you get back to the hotel easily after a show.
We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We're very glad to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and we were able to provide a comfortable home base in your preferred Manhattan neighborhood. Please keep in touch with us on Facebook/Twitter so we can provide you with the best rates for your return! We very much look forward to welcoming you and your family again. Take care until then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We had the most amazing stay in New York and the Distrikt Hotel was just perfect, intimate, warm, clean, modern, friendly and conveniently located to transportation, food and attractions. We particularly loved the daily weather forecast report thoughtfully placed on our beds each day and the super comfy bed and manchester. I really appreciate these small touches. Make sure you ask for Sahara at front desk she checked-us in with ease and a delightful weclomed smile, especially after our trip to get ther and a crazy taxi ride to the hotel. But then again everywhere member we came across was just so kind. Also when booking a town car, make sure you check the flat rate fee before you leave for the airport. The town car company decided to switch to an SUV when loading our luggage, and was going to charge us almost double, when we only booked a standard. Miss you guys at Distrikt!!! xx

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
We're very happy to hear that we were able to provide a clean, comfortable and friendly stay. We'll be sure to pass on the kind words to Sahara and our staff, thank you! We look forward to welcoming you again for your next visit to New York City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Loved this hotel, stayed for 3 nights at the start of my honeymoon. Location is perfect, got the bus from Newark airport to Port Authority which was just 1 street over from hotel. Very close to times square. Staff were fantastic. I had requested a room on a High floor and we were given a room on the top floor with a great view of the Empire State Building and the Hudson river. The room was perfect, small but has everything you need. Bed was very comfy, loved the bathroom, it had a really powerful shower. The room was very clean and modern. There was brownies and chocolates and then they gave us lovely cheesecakes as a congratulations. We ate breakfast every morning in the hotel, exactly what we wanted, cereals, fruit, yogurts, breads etc Very nice an reasonably priced, $10 for continental breakfast. I would recommend this hotel to everyone

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
We're very happy to hear that we were able to help in making your honeymoon even more special. It's wonderful to hear that you were able to enjoy breakfast every morning just downstairs at Collage Bar & Bistro, and that you found the room clean and comfortable. We very much look forward to welcoming you again for your next trip to New York City. Please stay in touch with us via Facebook/Twitter so we can offer you the best rates for your return. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Was visiting New York as part of our 25th Wedding anniversary celebrations and as such requested a room on higher level for a quieter time. Hotel staff were great, room was good and bed was comfy. The hotel was really clean. Was surprised when staff came to the room with a hand made anniversary card and note welcoming us along with 2 exquisite cheese cakes, a very nice touch. Staff directed us to Hells Kitchen on the first night for somewhere to eat. We stumbled across a Thai place called 'Pure' on 9th Ave, which we really enjoyed... The hotel and staff made our visit..

Room Tip: Higher room worked for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
We're very glad to have been able to celebrate your special anniversary celebration with you. Thank you for the suggestion regarding "Pure"! It's always great to see our guests explore and discover new things in the neighborhood. We very much look forward to welcoming you again for your next visit to the Big Apple. Please stay in touch with us via Facebook/Twitter so we can offer you the best rates for your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

My daughter and I spent 6 nights at The Distrikt last month. We agree with all the positive reviews - the hotel staff are so friendly and helpful, the rooms are extremely clean and well maintained.

The hotel location is very central and an easy walk in any direction to interesting areas of midtown. At the 8th Avenue corner there are a couple of seedy type establishments that may concern some, but it did not bother us at all.

The only reason for not giving a 5 star rating is that rather oddly, the toilet did not have a lid. I've never seen that before! Given the bathrooms are smallish, with limited vanity space, a toilet lid not only extends that area, but is more hygienic. It would not prevent me from choosing the Distrikt again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We're very happy to hear you and your daughter enjoyed your stay! As we have several different room types, some are configured with slightly more vanity space, a toilet lid, where some are not. Thank you for your feedback, and for the benefit of our Trip Advisor community, guests are welcome and encouraged to contact the front desk at any time with any thoughts, concerns, or questions. There is an agent available 24 hours a day. Please keep in touch with us on Facebook and Twitter! We look forward to welcoming you again for your next trip to the Big Apple.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Distrikt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distrikt Hotel

Address: 342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Distrikt Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A one of a kind, upscale boutique hotel, located in the heart of Midtown West, Times Square area on 40th Street between 8th and 9th Avenues. The Distrikt Hotel towers 32 stories tall with unobstructed views of the cityscape and Hudson River. Offers a unique experience with the concept of staying in one of ten neighborhoods of Manhattan within the hotel. The sleek lobby space features a 14 ft. Green living wall representing Central Park and the check-in area welcomes guests to a hand carved wall of wood, detailing the streets of Manhattan. Airport grade 6/8 inch windows keep the sounds of Broadway where they belong. Additional complimentary amenities include: With dedication to detail with impeccable service, cutting edge technology, comfortable yet luxurious guestrooms, 4* amenities, and fresh cuisine with locally grown ingredients. Each of the 155 guestrooms are designed for the comfort and needs of the guest to include relaxing Simmons Beauty Rest mattresses, decadent Frette bed and bath linen, 37" LG flatscreen television, business desk with ergonomic chair, LATHER soaps and amenities, and wireless internet in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Distrikt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Distrikt Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.