We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short stay in New York” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Distrikt Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Distrikt Hotel to your Saves list
Distrikt Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Up to 20% off!
Ranked #18 of 458 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Write a Review

3,413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,468
    798
    126
    16
    5
See reviews for
607
1,716
156
224
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (727)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This hotel had an absolutely perfect location for us. Minutes from Times Sq there is also a key Metro station at the end of the block where the line pretty much runs the length of Manhattan from the Bronx down the west side and through to the Lower East Side then out towards Williamsburg & Brooklyn so wherever you need to be it is easy to get there.

The staff are very friendly, the rooms are great - good aircon, good facilities inc tea / coffee maker, good sized shower, safe, modern decor, free iced tea in reception, free quick Wi-Fi throughout the hotel and use of Macs in reception area and a huge comfy bed which is just what you need after a hard day trekking around Manhattan!

All round an excellent hotel and the first place I will look when I return to NY. My only slight criticism is that the mini-bar & fridge are quite expensive and the prices a little odd - a pack of nuts cost more than a beer for example.

(one thing to note: TripAdvisor has asked me to rate the Swimming Pool & Fitness centre but this hotel as neither of these)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
We're glad to hear you were able to take enjoyed the many subway lines just a quick stroll away! It's always wonderful to hear that we were able to provide a comfortable home base while exploring this City and that you felt we were "all around an excellent hotel." Since listening to our guests' feedback we truly wish we had implemented fridges in the rooms but unfortunately we are contractually obligated to the mini bars since the hotel's pre-opening. But thank you for sharing your experience, as it will help us improve for our future guests. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future! Take care until then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

My colleague and I stayed at the Distrikt for 3 nights whilst on a business trip to New York. It’s relatively well situated for Mid Town, if a few blocks too far West. If you’re visiting NYC for pleasure this is a fantastic location to explore Times Sq / Central Park / The High Line all on foot. The hotel offered some excellent touches such as free Wi-Fi, free iced tea in the lobby and pretty fairly priced breakfast (often not the case). The rooms are fairly small by US standards and the air conditioning extremely noisy (but effective), not sure if it was the jet lag but I was woken in the night by the A/C kicking in. Otherwise the staff are extremely friendly and helpful, I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a low floor to avoid waiting for the lift during busy periods!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for choosing Distrikt Hotel for your business trip to New York. We're very glad to hear you were able to take advantage of our amenities. We're sorry to hear about the AC noise; please do feel free to contact the front desk at your convenience next time so we can have an engineer check the unit right away. We very much look forward to welcoming you again for your next trip to New York City. Please contact us directly next time so we can make your next stay even more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
257 reviews 257 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
222 helpful votes 222 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Really happy with our stay at the Distrikt. It is very clean, modern and comfortable. It’s a small boutique hotel, with only 5 rooms per floor, generally quiet. We booked a view room and ended up on the top floor, with a great view of the west side, Hudson river and lights near Times Square a few blocks away.

The room itself is adequately sized, not spacious but not cramped, with an extremely comfortable bed and good lighting. Amenities include an iron and board, Keurig coffee maker with two coffee and two tea pods complimentary per day, and free wifi. The bathroom was nicely appointed and a decent size, with lots of counter space for your stuff, great water pressure in the shower and a good hairdryer. On arrival we found two (packaged) brownies as a welcome, and each evening the turndown service includes a couple chocolate squares and a card indicating the next day’s weather, a nice touch.

The property doesn’t have a lot of facilities, other than a bar/restaurant on the main floor. We only had one breakfast there, it was good and not overpriced for a city hotel – you can get the continental for $10 which includes fruit, cereal, yogurt, pastries, and hard boiled eggs, or they also have other items to order off the menu. They offer free coffee in the lobby in the morning, and two flavors of iced tea in the afternoons. There are also three computers available along the front of the lobby.

Service was friendly and helpful; we got a great dinner recommendation one night. We didn’t ask a lot but they were great about helping with the questions we did have. And they regularly offer some extra fun surprises for their guests, such as having a food truck out front giving out free food at “happy hour” – the day we arrived, they were doing made-to-order ice cream sandwiches from 4 to 6. Yum! On the other hand, they lack a few of the basics one generally can count on in larger hotels – no postage stamps for sale at the front desk, and it was hit or miss whether we could get change for a $20 bill.

The midtown location is very convenient for tourist activities. A few blocks from Times Square and the theater district, and very near the starting point for the hop-on, hop-off busses. Being right across the street from the Port Authority bus terminal, it’s very easy to use the subway. That also means you have all the crowds of people going in & out, but they’re around the corner, not on the side facing the hotel. And yes, there is a parole office on this block, which sometimes had a line of people outside, but it never felt uncomfortable or unsafe walking back to our hotel at any time of day or night. There are three other hotels immediately adjacent to the Distrikt, all tall skinny properties lined up in a row. And just up 9th Avenue begins the Hells Kitchen restaurant row, several blocks with a variety of good restaurants.

All in all, I highly recommend the Distrikt – it’s a great base for exploring the city, appropriately priced and very comfortable, with a fun and welcoming atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We, too, are happy to hear you were "really happy" with your Distrikt stay. It's great to hear you were able to take full advantage of our Midtown location, including great restaurants in Hell's Kitchen. We look forward to welcoming you again for your next trip to New York City. Please stay in touch with us and contact us directly next time! Best wishes from the Distrikt Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed at Distrikt from 17Sept for 8 nights. Check in and check out was quick & easy. Staff were always smiling and super helpful with directions, reservations, and restaurant recommendations. The room itself was lovely - clean and modern. Nice touches with brownies on arrival and weather card, news paper iced tea at reception, in room coffee machine and chocolates daily. Great view from the 28th floor. Easy walk to subway, times square and thearters.
The bistro serves inexpensive meals (we loved the breakfasts) and the staff in the bistro are great too!(Miguel).
The only smal negative is that there isn't a usable inroom fridge, but that would in no way stop me from staying at the distrikt next visit, in fact, I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: High up and you will have a view, but all the rooms are new and nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
We're glad to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and that you were able to get to know our staff. Had we known our guests' preferences prior to opening we absolutely would have implemented fridges in the rooms as well. Unfortunately we are currently contractually obligated to the mini bars instead, but thank you very much for your feedback as they are invaluable in improving for our future guests. Please stay in touch with us via Facebook or Twitter so we can offer you our best rates for your next visit! Take care until then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Area at first arrival thought dubious but proved perfect all backed up by a superb hotel and excellent staff who could not do enough to help us. Our first time in New York was last April and was made spectacular by these people. In fact my second in command, Sheila, was on first name terms with most of them by the end of the first day!
OK don't expect all the facilities but all you really need for a city stay is here!
Could not be faulted in our eyes and we shall return

Room Tip: Generally only two types of room - go far the largest!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
We're so glad you and Sheila enjoyed your first time in New York City, and we were able to be a part of it. Thank you for the wonderful feedback for our staff; we'll be sure to pass it along. We look forward to welcoming you again for your next trip to New York City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I stayed at Distrikt, Sept 22-24. Overall the experience was great.I requested a early check-in and when i arrived my room was ready. Soon as I entered my room there was a knock on the door and to my surprise I was welcomed with a gift of chocolate brownies. The room was average size for NYC. Not too big not too small. Enough space for two adults. The hotel halls were also nice. On my floor there were 2 other rooms, so didnt hear much noise. The bathroom was very clean. The overall apperance was modern and clean. I also like the fact that 24hours a day you had to use your room key to ride the elevator. So if you are not staying there you can only go as far as the lobby. Also, each night I was welcomed with chocolate and a card showing me the weather for the following day.
The location of the hotel was excellent. Not far from Time Square and other attractions. Overall, this hotel is a good choice. The price was right, the location is great, and the hotel was wonderful. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
We're very happy to have been able to welcome you and provide you with a pleasant stay. We look forward to welcoming you for your next trip to New York City. Please stay in touch with us so we can offer you our best rates in the future. Take care until then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Distrikt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distrikt Hotel

Address: 342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Distrikt Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A one of a kind, upscale boutique hotel, located in the heart of Midtown West, Times Square area on 40th Street between 8th and 9th Avenues. The Distrikt Hotel towers 32 stories tall with unobstructed views of the cityscape and Hudson River. Offers a unique experience with the concept of staying in one of ten neighborhoods of Manhattan within the hotel. The sleek lobby space features a 14 ft. Green living wall representing Central Park and the check-in area welcomes guests to a hand carved wall of wood, detailing the streets of Manhattan. Airport grade 6/8 inch windows keep the sounds of Broadway where they belong. Additional complimentary amenities include: With dedication to detail with impeccable service, cutting edge technology, comfortable yet luxurious guestrooms, 4* amenities, and fresh cuisine with locally grown ingredients. Each of the 155 guestrooms are designed for the comfort and needs of the guest to include relaxing Simmons Beauty Rest mattresses, decadent Frette bed and bath linen, 37" LG flatscreen television, business desk with ergonomic chair, LATHER soaps and amenities, and wireless internet in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Distrikt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Distrikt Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.